Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker God's Psychiatry

Baker God's Psychiatry

Discover how ancient teachings of the Bible offer timeless wisdom for a happier and healthier life today! In God's Psychiatry, Charles L. Allen explains how four of the best-known passages of the Bible can be used as "prescriptions" to fight against discouragement, doubt, fear, and worry. They can also be used to help you acquire confidence, courage, and a new outlook on life. The four passages are The 23rd Psalm, The 10 Commandments, The Lord's Prayer, and The Beatitudes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Psychiatry
Review 1 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for those in need of encouragement!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christy
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of the best self-help book for a hurting heart.
Have used the book close to 40 yrs through all the ups
& downs of life. Usually buy several to give as gifts when-ever the Spirit leads me to share it .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Psychiatry

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Denise Dawson
Location:Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure what to expect, but I love it. I love it because I love the word of God and that's what this book presents as "medicine" for a sick soul. I have only read the first section which has insights I have never heard before on Psalm 23 and sheep. It is encouraging to realize how much humans mirror sheep and how they are so dependent on the Shepherd for their very lives. It is an encouraging book. Small and simple, but holds some powerful "medicine".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charles Allen's teachings are timeless.

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
searcher
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charles Allen's teachings are timeless. His style is personable.
A quiet talk with your pastor couldn't be warmer. I've given this book to many friends and have used it as a basis for group studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an awesome book!

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is a very powerful book, which I feel everyone, who is seeking a closer walk with the Saviour should read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Most Read Book In My Library

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Salem, New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years I must have purchased dozens of copies for family and friends. The wisdom and insights of Charles Allen are timeless. This book heals and educates the soul. It approaches the Bible itself in it's power to comfort and soothe. I have read it cover to cover several times, gaining ground and spiritual growth each time through. It never gets old.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cecilia Flood
This book is a must read for every Christian!! Charles L. Allen has a simple way of describing and explaining throughout the book! Easy read with lots of information! Great book for a small group or discussion!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Wiggins
This book is excellent. Really, I never understood the 23 Psalm until I read this book. I read this book bout 35 years ago. I used to give it along with the Jesus Pocket Promises Book as witnessing tools. I feel the need to read it again and will begin to give out copies again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kay Franzen
This book is so simple and down to earth and get to the heart/root of the matter. It shows how through God we have the answers we need!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
E. L. Daniell
Just read the book in March,2009. This book is POWERFUL for any Christian. Recommended highly!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ernest Hill Jr
This is my third book by Charles Allen. I thoroughly enjoy his fresh approach to the scriptures because parts of it are radically different from contemporary thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sixto Garcia
Good Book to remind us that God is in control and how to realize it, how to treat other by the way God shows us, how He treats us
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robin Fletcher
I have used this book for Bible Studies, quotes for messages and as a gift when someone I know is facing difficulties. It has always proven to leave a positive faith filled impact. I love to share this book with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
lynn
i was given an old hardback 50 years ago as a gift (I collect books) although at the time it was a newer addition I thought it would be boring at the very least. I Was Wrong!!! I still re-read it every year just to be refreshed by the beautiful deep interpretation of scripture. I recommend it second only to the Holy Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
anita delre
I'm enjoying this book for the first time (1953 edition)... Mr. Allen's delightful voice interprets, storytells, communicates the love of God, the true source and spirit behind the positive thinking/affirmation speaking etc. movements without meaning to... A must read for anyone whose view of God, morality, and reality, lacks God, misunderstands God, is subjective, denies existence of truth...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Psychiatry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2000
Customer Avatar
Cindy Tedsen
I was traveling with my husband and we stopped at a Flying J Truck stop and I picked this book up and before our round trip was over I could already see my attitude changing and so could my husband! I have just ordered 4 more to give as stocking stuffers for Christmas!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.