Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory

Baker Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory

For centuries, millions have cherished this evangelical masterpiece. Written in prison, it's an insightful allegory of the conflict between religion and society, featuring Bunyan's own spiritual struggle as he found salvation in Christ and began preaching. Journey with Christian as he travels toward the Celestial City! Priced just right for your book discussion group. 320 pages, softcover from Baker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Review 1 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Books
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the book. The print is not very easy to read and some of the writings, especially when Christian makes his "praises" after an event, is so tiny that I could not read all of it. Overall, I was not too happy with the quality and unfortunately, I bought these books to share them with friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Allegory!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This allegory tells the tell of Christian, a man who sets out from his home in the City of Destruction to find eternal life in the Celestial City. After reading a certain book, Christian realizes that his some town is going to be destroyed by fire from Heaven, but he can't figure out how to save himself or his family or friends. This puts a heavy burden on Christian's back, that he can't get off. He soon meets a man named Evangelist who tells Christian where he must go to be freed of his burden and points him on the road to the Celestial City. Along the way, Christian meets several characters. Some help him on his journey, while others hinder him. Some try to kill him! He also comes to some interesting places, including the Valley of the Shadow of Death.
This is a timeless classic that still touches the lives of many today, though it was written in the 1600's. Every Christian will recognize the places and people along the main character's journey. This book should be read by everyone, especially those who have been disillusioned into thinking that the Bible promises an easy road to Christians. The imagery of the burden on Christian's back is beautiful. The presentation of fellowship along the journey is beautiful as well. The symbolism of the law through Moses is wonderful. I could go on and on. Truly a must read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study resource

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ray Willis
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pilgrim's Progress taught by somebody who truly understands the meaning ought to be taught in every church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Classical Reading

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
skypilot
Location:Hamilton Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This classic is as relevent today as it was when first published. Great encouragement in our lives for Christ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Twila Meadows
I didn't realize it was written in old English. I have yet to be able to get into the book. I hope some day there is a rewrite in more modern language.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaretta Arifin
This book teaches the Christian instructions that will be helpful to the diligent Christian reader.The only thing that is lamentable is that I did not know the small size of the book and some of the texts are written in really small print. I wish they could specify the actual characteristic in the book ad, eg: book size, print size, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cedric Gifford
I indentify with John Bunyons allegory in my personal walk of sactification. It is also the perfect gift for a saved person starting the walk toward regeneration and sanctification. The journey is one of experience and guidance by the Holy Spirit: not an intellectual effort. At this very reasonable price, the book costs little more than many tracts. I find it an aid in sharing with growing Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judith Allen
I wanted to read this book since I was a young girl. My grandfather taiked about this book and sang about the pilgrims. I couldnt put this book down. I will read it again and again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pat Alexander
Great classic. Read it 50 years ago and now want to share it with my grandson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Holly Baldwin
I always enjoy reading this book and allegory, originally written in the 1600's. I was especially amazed after reading about the author etc. This particular version of "Pilgrim's Progress" is the 12th edition from the original edition and most recently copyrighted, I believe, in 1965. I bought more than one copy for the spectacular price!!! One copy was given to a preacher friend who was absolutely amazed by such a warm gift and had read it before also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vicky Watts
I am reading the book at present time. I realy am enjoying the story greatly. May it bless everyone who reads it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellen Underwood
Small print of course, but the price is excellent. I bought several copies to give out to the prison ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly Simpson
This is a really great classic which I will use as a textbook in my postgraduate class this spring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daisy Parks
Pilgrim's Progress is truly an amazing book I would recommend to all believers. The journey of Christian is similar to our "Christian" lives today. We have been delivered and yet instead of following directions from God's word, we listen to our friends and family and we take a step or two backwards. I thank God daily for His unfailing love and mercy and open welcoming arms bidding us to get on the path again and come to him.This is a " must-read" book for all Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Halverson
Were giving these books away as christain tracts. This is an awsome book. I find the books,movies,and music I know that stays trueto Gods word.CBD has great prices that fits our budget.Praise God :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eimi
My first reading of this great Christian allegory was from the modern edition. However, I agree it is, as above, a slightly slower read-due to the added comments, and the old English. However, this writing, so near to the original, is expressly deeper, more richly intelligent, with law knowing, discernment. The remembrance of Bunyan's characters paralleled reflections of my own experiences and thoughts during my first year of salvation. This encountering gave me cause for encouragement and strength.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Catherine Lindsay
This is a wonderful book, it does take some thought but well worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pilgrim's Progress: One Man's Search for Eternal Life -A Christian Allegory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Victor Mendez
A wonderful story that every Christian should read...It speaks of a journey of life that believers must make in todays social mores, and how we conclude the journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.