Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ZonderKidz NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover

ZonderKidz NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover

This Bible uses the complete text of the New International Reader's Version (NIrV-the NIV for kids!) written at a third grade reading level. The easy-to-read, single-column format makes this a perfect first study Bible for young readers. A new interior design, updated study helps, and twenty-four-color illustrations will keep kids ages six to ten engaged in a time of personal Bible study. Recommended for ages 6 to 9.

Features includes:

  • Check it Out: Line art sketches and descriptions of what life was like in Bible times
  • Brain Game: Questions that help kids remember Bible themes
  • Soak it Up: Key verses are highlighted for kids to memorize
  • Book Introductions: Brief overview of each book with an outline of key events
  • Single-column format
  • Multi-color interior
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Review 1 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
grannybo
Location:Gilmer, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandchildren were excited about a Bible like Granny's. They can now read and learn almost on their own. Their Sunday School teachers were impressed with all the information about Bible people and places. They had never seen a study bible on a child's level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for kids bible study

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got for grandchilds bible study he seems to like the way the stories are told in it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

seems a bit hard for beginners

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathysue
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a bit advanced for the age group listed. Perhaps more pictures and color would help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible to grow with

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 year old working at a 2nd grade level. The toddler bible wasn't cutting it anymore and the teen bible was too mature. We needed something in between. This bible was the perfect solution. It is written simply, yet accurately, and I can see it will be a bible he'll be using for years to come.
He was very excited to play "spot the kid drawing" with the mixed illustration styling in this book and the extra tidbits of info sprinkled throughout are attractive and interesting enough to have him taking the initiative in reading them on top of whatever scripture he'd originally open the bible to read.
I am very pleased with this purchase and would unhesitatingly recommend it to friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great version!

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granbabe
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I teach 2nd grade Sunday School, and this is my favorite version of the Bible for kids - and me! It is so easy to understand, fewer words to explain, and the kids love the drawings and such.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
loveJesus
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent price and the bible came so quick. My son loves it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chan2bet
Location:Bryan, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my five year old and she feel in love with it. Lucky for me she shares it with me when teahing our Sunday school class
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
St. Paul Lutheran Church Olean Sunday
These are awesome Bibles. The kids are really enjoying reading them during Sunday School. They are very reader friendly for the K-6th graders in the class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Delia Vancil
my kids (7,7, and 9) and i use this very nice bible to do our evening bible studies each night. we love this version. each of my kids have their own bible with their names imprinted on them. they like to read from their own bibles too. mrs vancil
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle King
great bible! I gave it to a teen that had not had much exposure to the bible and she was entertained with the facts and the illustrations!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Duncan
We are totally pleased with the NIrV Kids' Study Bible. Our daughter is in grade two and was thrilled that she could read it with minimal assistance. I especially like the single column format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roberta Furlong
This was fantastic, it is the same version that our SS class had and it was a great gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tabitha Hendrix
This bible is great for smaller kids. The pictures and captions get them interested in the stories and they want to learn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Courtney Smith
This Bible has a wonderful hardcover which makes it great for my 4 children. My 7-year-old (2nd grade) is excited to read to us from this Bible and he does not struggle with it. Great purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
denise bryant
I purchased this bible for my daughter who's almost 6 yrs old and i love it! the concern that the previous review has is understandable...the way the verse is written is 1 Sam. 1:19 isn't the way I would unnecessarily word it to my daughter, but we know that what took place here was within the union of marriage, which is God's design. I don't think we should overly freak out. There's a right time for everything and I'd rather explain this way of putting it to my daughter and looking at other translations together so she can understand it's not a bad thing (in marriage) all other NIRVs are worded this way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angelica Johnson
I purchased this Bible for 6 yr old daughter in March 2007. Within 2 weeks the Bible came apart due to poor craftsmanship of the cover. We continued to use this Bible at home. During our Bible lesson yesterday, we read 1 Sam. 1:1 - 2:11. When we reached v. 19, I was horrified!! This versions says, "Elkanah made love to his wife Hannah." Under no circumstances do I believe that that is appropriate language for the target age range for this Bible, which is 6-10. I pulled out 6 other translations that I have, and that phrase is not mentioned in any of those "adult" Bibles. I plan on contacting Zonderkids about this issue.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIrV Kids' Study Bible Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brenda Haynesworth
This is an excellent Bible for kids and new Christians. As a Bible Teacher and Pastor I use this book for all new converts in establishing their relationship with God. It has helped me and my students get a perspective on God that is clear and understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.