Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wesscott Marketing The Climb, DVD

Wesscott Marketing The Climb, DVD

Two hotshot solo climbers forge an uneasy friendship in order to reach their ultimate summit. A daring rescue just earned flamboyant Derrick Williams (Jason George, Sunset Beach) the climb of a lifetime, but his dream comes with an unwanted partner. "Safety man" Michael Harris (Ned Vaughn, The Beach Boys) doesn’t hot dog, doesn't blaze trails and rarely takes life to the edge. Training takes a back seat to their fire-and-ice relationship. But no amount of training can prepare this turbulent team for the harsh reality of the Chilean Andes. The Climb escalates into a test of wills, character and sacrifice that pushes both men beyond limits.

Features compelling performances by Dabney Coleman (Stuart Little), Clifton Davis (Any Given Sunday), Todd Bridges (Diff'rent Strokes), and newcomer Kyli Santiago. Shot in the spectacular Wasatch Mountains, the stunning visuals, rich orchestral soundtrack and stellar cast propel this independent movie into an unforgettable adventure experience. 101 minutes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Climb, DVD
Review 1 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
hughesfamily
Location:United Kingdom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good inspirational film.
We're from the UK and can play this on our region-2 player, so guess it's actually a multi-region DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Character

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
marji
Location:Framingham, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Climb is one of the most loved movies in our collection. It is a moving and beautiful movie of God's amazing love. It will convict you and move you. The portrayal of Christ love for us is dynamic. If you want to help someone understand God's love this is the movie to watch with them. I could not recommend a movie more highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian movie. It's all about salvation!!

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa W
Location:The Ozarks, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this movie. This is a christian movie ..no doubt about it. The salvation message is clear. It does not just hit on salvation but how it is easy to get off the "right" path. This movie has some action and a drama also. This would be a great tool to give to someone who is kind of on the fence about salvation.
At the end of the movie there is a "a father's love letter". I could not help but shed a tear...it just felt so real. If you watch this movie ...dont forget to watch that.
This was money well spent. I would recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good movie

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doc777
Location:Myrtle Beach S.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed it quite a bit. Plenty of action. Beautiful Scenery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is amazing!

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:Stafford, Va.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great movie! This film will keep believers and non-believers entertained. Great salvation message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great values.

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
WILLIAM1
Location:Spring Valley, Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched the movie "The Climb" just a few days ago and I thought it was very good. The movie showed to me how the human race prevails or tries to prevail in the hardest of times and against all odds. It also showed to me how I have been living my life for others for forty years (20 years as a U.S. Navy sailor and 20 years as a Federal Police Officer). It is so inbreeded into to me to give my life up to save others even total strangers as well as family members. I am not to foolishly give up my life, but with a purpose for GOD and me. And now that I am retired two times from the U.S. Government and really enjoying life. I still have the sailor and police qualities of saving lives if I am asked by GOD to do so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotional Journey

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Miller
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film takes you on an emotional journey. It's filled with plenty of action, tense moments, Christian truths, and will probably make you shed a few tears. One of the best films I've seen. It also shows how even when we think no one is listening to us, they are. Our actions speak louder than words. A must see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Luciani
Great movie about integrity, friendship evangelism, and sacrifice. A great film with some spectacular shots that will draw the attention of many audiences and give them some thought provoking ideas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
J Rivera
Great Family Movie,,Very heartwarming,a story of tremendous courage and friendship , picturesque scenery, a movie that you will watch again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doris Slater
This is one of the best movies I have seen in awhile. I really enjoyed it once, lost it to a friend who forgot to return it, and ordered it on DVD--the first was VHS. I am really happy to own it and thought the acting was very good and the moral of the story very important.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Sampson
Excellent, youth of all ages will love this movie. The youths in my group said this is my favorite movie! We would like to view more movies by this producer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Becky Gomez
Just wondering if Mr. Hubbard watched the whole movie...the entire film is focused on the integrity of the characters, what it means to be a Christian, forgiveness, and the value of human life and family relationships. This is an excellent tool for evangelism as well as to encourage believers to take our faith to a deeper level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lori Tenhaken
Very good message of hope for anyone searching, and very glad we purchased it.A definite winner in our book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy Kyleson
Hey Guys,I saw this movie a few years at teen camp. Its a really great movie.I strongly disagree with Chuck Hubbard.Christian girl pregnant with her boyfriend's baby. Everyone makes mistakes! The girlfriend new she messed up BIG time, and when her boyfrined asked her to stay the night w/ him she told him from now on I'm taking the Highroad. Which is the main Point! Taking the Highroad. I would highly remommend to every teen!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Richard Curry
This is an excellent family friendly movie. Great story, all the events were very well connected to the general theme. You will enjoy watching it again and again. I have watched it once, but I can assure you, it will not be the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michael
I absolutely agree with Sarah from Texas. This is at the top of some of my favorite films...(If not at times my very most favorite). :) The gospel is very clearly presented and sacrificial Love of Jesus Christ for our sins is demonstrated in an eye opening way. "The Climb" also touches on forgiveness, letting go of past hurt, and doing the right thing when it comes to family and taking responsibility. There are several cameo appearances you will definitely recognize. Enjoy this film, share it, and love it. I also recommend the movie: "Time Changer," for it's excellent evangelism and humor too. God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sarah
WHAT AN AWESOME MOVIE!!!! Forgive my enthusiasm, lol, but if you love a good movie like I do, then you can see why I can't wait to tell you about this film! The movie centers around two men who are as opposite as night and day: Derrick: A young man who's living in bitterness because his father walked out on him while he was young. He is very self-centered, and he doesn't believe in God. Michael: A quiet, humble young man who is a Christian, loves God and Jesus, and is very wise and likes to think things through. Those these men are different, they each have one dream: To climb the mountain "Chicanagua" in Chile. When they save the life of a rich man's son, their dream becomes a reality! Grateful for saving his son's life, Mac (a rich business man) sponsers them to climb the mountain of their dreams. While Michael is "safety man" and plans and organizes their training, Derrick foolishly wants to "take it to the edge" and risk their lives on the mountain. Will they ever make it on top of the mountain? Will Derrick ever learn about God's love for him? Hey, I'm not the one to tell you this, lol!! :-) Watch it and be surprised!! I hope you like this movie, and it's a real treat to watch. Also, I have to add this, the scenery is absolutely breathtaking! If you like to see snow-covered mountains and the beauty of God's creations, then I recommend this! It's a really great movie... one of my favorites!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Susan
We showed this to English speaking black youth. They could identify with the movie and it was great for followup discussion. Especially good for discussion were the consequences of playing with fire. Not all stories have such a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Pam
This movie really moved kind of slow. I expected more action and the acting could have been better. But it's a good story and very unique. I definitely recommend it because it has a good Christian message and the cast is diverse. A great movie for adults and singles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Climb, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chuck Hubbard
The Climb tells of a supposed Christian girl pregnant with her boyfriend's baby. It is built around a story of two climbers - one a Christian and the other not. I didn't find this interesting and is not demonstrative of integrity in living the Christian life.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>