Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CLC Publications God's Chosen Fast

CLC Publications God's Chosen Fast

Having proved over many years the great value and blessing of fasting, the author has written this book to share with others what the Bible has to say about this important and neglected subject. His aim has been to furnish a handbook which deals not only with all the main passages in Scripture that touch on the matter, but also with the practical issues involved. This is a balanced study which seeks to give to the subject that weight that Scripture gives it and avoids exaggeration and over-emphasis. The book includes a biblical index, and a appendix dealing with the textual problems surrounding four references to fasting in the New Testament.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Chosen Fast
Review 1 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for your Spiritual Warfare arsenal

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
HisSoldier
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the novice, this book gives the reader a basic knowledge of the three fasts and what the purpose is and how to utilize them to achieve the goals needed for spiritual growth and overcoming spiritual barriers, a must have for the serious believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
volume
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good information, and I found the book encouraging. I have lent it to a friend and given one away to another friend who has been asking about the purpose of fasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book to Read; Called or Not

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missi
Location:Prescott, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me when God called me to a 40-day fast over 40 years ago. I did this when I was in my early 20's. I just ordered two books because my pastor has asked me to write an article on the time I fasted for our church newsletter. I have broken the article up into two segments: 1. The Physical Benefits and 2. The Spiritual Benefits. I ordered two books so that I would have my own copy again and a second copy just in case someone would like to borrow one to read. I will also keep a record of whom I loan it to so that I will be able to circulate it through the congregation.
I recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going on a fast, to anyone who thinks they are being called by God to go on a fast and to anyone who wants to know about a Spiritual Fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought-provoking book on fasting

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mandy Mom
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was not really what I expected, but I was pleasantly surprised by what it had to offer- a mixture of practical application and spiritual as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I was expecting something more practical.

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was interested in finding a book on fasting that would explain in a more practical way. I find this book hard to read and it doesn't keep my attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gary Thomas
This is one of the few books that I have ever come across on fasting that presents the biblical view on this lost means of grace. In the USA we have such an abundance of food that most don't even know what it is to be hungry. And the idea of self denial has been buried with the Puritans. Christians need to awake from their slumber and petition God through prayer and fasting. We need to hunger after Gods righteousness and truth not second helpings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat Crosswhite
Highly recommended. Short and to the point, this is a practical and scriptural look at why and how to fast. Reviews a variety of reasons for fasting, some of which I hadn't really considered before. Also cautions against fasting for the wrong reasons (asceticism). He includes excerpts from the diary of a fast, which I found especially helpful and inspiring. Before, I flirted with fasting. Now, I want to pursue it seriously, at God's direction, with more urgency, more joy, and more understanding.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Chosen Fast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
antiquerobby
An excellent commentary on fasting that I have used in the past and will continue to use as a reference and teaching tool! Absolutely the best to date.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.