Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lionsgate Home Entertainment The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD

Lionsgate Home Entertainment The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD

Meet a sick 12-year-old girl named Tamar who becomes a follower of the charismatic Jesus! You'll be with her as she encounters Christ---and his healing powers---through different stages of his life. Featuring an accurate retelling of Christ's ministry and final sacrifice, this clay animation film is perfect for introducing Jesus to little ones. Dove approved. (G.) 86 minutes. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Review 1 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the Gospel story through the eyes of a child

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
cookecutter
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie made a lasting impression on me when I first saw it on TV several years ago. It portrays the ministry of Jesus from the viewpoint of a child who had an extraordinary encounter with Him that changed her life forever. What a great tool to help children get started on a life-long relationship with the Savior!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique look at the Christ's ministry on earth.

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
OneNationUnderGod
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clay-mation film was surprisingly interesting with interesting characters and voices that made Jesus very approachable. The actor who voiced Rameses in Prince of Egypt voices Jesus in this film. My children enjoyed it immensely.
Because it is clay-mation, the more difficult scenes of his crucifixion were not too scary for my little ones, but they clearly understood what happened.
There were a couple minor variations from strict Scriptural telling of the story, but I have yet to encounter one movie version that doesn't. It has a unique take on the part of Judas Iscariot, essentially explaining his betrayal as being the result of fear of being punished with Jesus' followers in addition to disappointment upon realizing that Jesus did not come to conquer and save the Jews from the Romans. It also does an interesting job capturing the reaction of the Jewish leaders to Jesus and how they rationalized their actions.
This is not a simplistic retelling, but tries to capture the complicated facets of his ministry in a kid-friendly way. Worth having for you family, and a great introduction to the ministry of Jesus for all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully animated and accurate accounts

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn A
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easily one of the best versions of Christ's life depicted for the whole family. It was appropriate, accurate, well voiced, and beautifully animated. Both my children (ages 9 and 17) enjoyed this version, as did I! It was a perfect Christmas gift and reminder of the true reason for the season! I HIGHLY recommend this movie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my four grandchildren ages 4 - 12. We were extremely disappointed. The characters look very weird and a little scary. Not at all appealing to a child. We did not even finish watching it because it was so hard to look at. The story was hard to follow also. We thought it would get right into the miracles of Jesus.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
CitizenofHeaven
Location:North Vancouver, British Columbia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an Excellent presentation of The Gospel of Jesus Christ !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love everything about it is the best

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
norma
Location:las vegas,nv
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish delivery was quicker but other than than it is great :) I love shopping at the christian book store.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Georgie
Gender:female
DVD takes the children on a journey of who Jesus is and why the Father sent Him. Children and adults are able to follow this DVD based on scripture. A teaching tool for the
young children and they enjoy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD especially speaks to 12 yr old girls.

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ducky
Location:Medway, OHIO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 1/2 year old granddaughter loves this DVD and relates to the girl in the story. I believe you cannot start teaching Bible truth any too early...then you must continually reinforce these truths during the formative years. Thank you, Christian Book, for having these great DVDs in stock for Christian grandparents to give away and discuss with the little ones
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ministry tool

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marta
Location:Riverside, California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many movies portraying the life and ministry of our Saviour, but this one surpasses all. It is biblical, and conveys its message simply and to the point. My three year old daughter watches it every day; it gives her great joy, and likes to discuss the events in it. I do recommend it to every parent as it could be considered a great ministry in passing the word of God to our children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren and I enjoy watching this together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I HAVEN'T HAD TIME TO REVIEW IT YET

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pammie Pooh
Location:New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it for my nephew; I love everything at Christian Books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great DVD

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ms H
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and content of this DVD. I teach a multi-aged Sunday School class (K-8) and this captured the attention of children in each age group. I usually showed 2 or 3 scenes each week to reinforce our lesson, and it worked out perfectly taking us post Christmas to Easter. This DVD is true to the Bible and is not "watered down" for children. I was concerned that having the character Tamar throughout the story would be a distraction, but it actually helped with the continuity for the kids from week to week. I learned something watching the movie as well!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Movie with Age consideration

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcmusic
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This movie was well written and presented. We enjoyed watching it as a family. However, it was too advanced for a young child and would not recommend it for children who are in Grades 2-3 and younger.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome animated cartoon

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Natalie
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy watching this animated cartoon and recommend it for families.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
senti
Location:NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The video is very well put together, and we have a VHS fromat for home viewing and a DVD for when we are travelling. They make lovely gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good portrayal of Christ's life for all ages.

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
forgiven
Location:florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dvd is amazing for its close adherence to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
Because it was produced several years ago, it was done without all the hijinks (computer assist)of today's animated cartoons. Aside from admiring the high quality, dedication and work that went into its production--most importantly, some major themes of the Gospel are effectively portrayed.
This dvd can be appreciated by both children & adults.
(The scene which features Mary Magdalen's condition [demonic bondage] might be a little scary for youngsters).
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great teaching tool about Jesus for kids

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborah Brunner
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this in tape form years ago which broke, then have bought, lost and rebought this DVD again since it is such a great teaching tool for my first grade religious education class. Love it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Miracle Maker: The Story of Jesus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Done very well. Very easy to watch (not boring)

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's stop motion and animation done in Moscow Russia (and that's cool, Russian Christians) and England. The story has some fiction and/or guess work to get the little girl to pop up here and there but the spirit of the word is there. She is the girl Jesus raised from the dead. She is shown earlier when she was sick, then died, and then comes to hear him when she can. But it is mainly about Jesus, like a gospel. I bought this years ago and my wife and I have watched it several times and still like it. It has some cute humor and the music is relaxing, fits, and puts you in the culture. Gave a copy to my pastor and he really liked the scene where Jesus picks Thomas. I like the road to Emmaus part.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.