Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4

Avon Inspire Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4

For years, Judith Graber has labored in her family's store. Now she feels overworked and underappreciated. Fresh from his rumspringa, "bad boy" Ben Knox is working by her side and stealing her heart---which is the last thing she wants! Will this Christmas bring new love to the unlikeliest pair in Sugarcreek? 256 pages, hardcover from Avon Inspire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Review 1 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christmas In Sugarcreek

Date:October 15, 2013
Judith Graber always did the right thing. She couldn’t be described as anything less than dutiful. When she was attracted to Ben Knox she couldn’t believe it herself.
Before Ben Knox left Sugarcreek, he did everything for shock value. He had a reputation for always getting into trouble. He had returned to sell his parent’s home. He was a little older and not fully living up to his reputation. He was also very attracted to Judith.
Lilly and Robert Miller were newly converted Mennonites as well as newlyweds. Lilly was afraid that Robert thought he made a mistake in marrying her.
Caleb, Judith’s younger brother, was smitten with Becca Yoder. But Becca was holding herself back for some reason.
As each couple’s story unfolds, we get to see their hang-ups. Their problems are all realistic and relatable. All the characters wanted to belong to someone, somewhere, or something. For example, Judith wanted a love in her life. Lilly wanted to be the best wife she could be. Robert wanted his family to accept his conversion. Some questioned if they could show their true feelings or true self and still be accepted.
When writing this story Shelley Shepard Gray used the Bible verse John 8:12 “When Jesus spoke again to the people, He said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.’” Everyone can either be a light for someone else or get light from someone else. The light is Jesus. We can either tell others about the saving grace of Jesus or see Jesus and the hope and goodness He has to offer in others. We will then no longer walk in the darkness of sin if we accept Him. Ben had walked in darkness much of his life. It wasn’t until Ben returned to Sugarcreek that he began to see a break in the clouds and some light shining through.
I enjoyed this story. Slowly each character began to grow as their story unfolded. It wasn’t difficult to keep track of the characters and their situations. The romance is interesting because there is puppy love, married love, and a resisting of love all going on. This is a short holiday story that you’ll be glad you picked up.
I received a free copy of this book From The Christian Manifesto and Avon Inspire in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas in Sugarcreek

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book, one that is hard to put down!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
the mama
Location:crestview florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i loved this book it was clean and i would let my 7 and 9 year old grandkids read it. the book kept you in it so you dont want to put it down great job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful return to Sugarcreek

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of author Shelley Shepherd Gray. I very much enjoyed returning to Sugarcreek and seeing it through the new eyes of Ben Knox. Judith was overdue for love in her life and I'm so glad to see this series wrap up with such a warm, loving Christmas story. You've just gotta love those meddling parents who know what their child needs before the child knows themself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written book

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roberta Shaw
Location:New York N.Y.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. I couldn't wait to find out what happens in he end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to spend Christmas!

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Returning to the setting of the Seasons of Sugarcreek books and being able to catch up with all the characters we have come to love and adore, is where Christmas in Sugarcreek by Shelly Shepard Gray begins. When she finished writing Autumn's Promise, Shelly felt the need to tell Judith Graber's story since she felt it was a character she neglected. Judith needed a man who would love her enough to make her smile and that is what she finds in Ben Knox.
Ben Knox has the reputation of being the bad Amish boy, one who spent his rumspringa finding and capturing the hearts of girls and leaving them behind battered and broken. Even though Judith has always liked him, she isn't about to let her feelings get in the way of common sense. Yet that is all Judith's life has been about, being the girl who is reliable, dependable, one with a great head on her shoulders and very smart. She's the one her parents rely on to help with the household chores, the children and running the family store. Just for once, Judith dreams of doing something just for herself or finding just the right person who will take care of her.
Just when Judith doesn't think things can get any worse, they do. When her brother Caleb is called away from helping Judith with the store to care for her wife who is pregnant with twins, she feels overwhelmed. Her father offers to hire someone to help her out and Ben Knox is just the right person for the job. Will Judith be able to keep her heart and feelings locked deep inside or will Ben be the key to unlock the love she has kept inside? Could this Christmas season bring love and a new life for the unlikeliest pair in Sugarcreek?
I received Christmas in Sugarcreek compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and after falling in love with the characters from Sugarcreek in Shelly's series, I couldn't wait to share Christmas with the Graber family once again. A wonderful story of finding a bit of light and hope inside each of us, if we are but brave enough to seek it. Another award winning book that rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just begun reading the book. It's a little slow at first, but getting better with each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas in Sugarcreek, Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great!

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas in Sugarcreek is sure to please Shelley Shepard Gray fans near and far. What a wonderfully written book. She writes each character with such ease that I don’t think one would have to have read her series Seasons of Sugarcreek to follow this book. This book follows Judith Graber, self-described goody-two shoes on her journey to find love and to carve out her own identity among her large family. She feels like she is overworked and taken a little advantage of because she is still single and basically she feels obligated. She desperately wants a husband and a life of her own. The tides begin to turn when “Bad Boy” Ben Knox returns and her world turns upside down with mixed emotions of how she feels for him. Meanwhile, Lilly and Robert Miller are adjusting to being newlyweds and becoming Mennonites. There’s little twist of the story “The Gift of the Magi” involving them. Fans will love to hear more of their love story. Caleb Grabers story also gets told. He is in love with Rebecca Yoder, who he thinks is keeping something from him. He doesn’t want to give too much of his heart away only to have Rebecca not feel the same. This book is such a touching story about love, acceptance and having the faith to follow ones heart. Readers will not be disappointed. I recommend this book to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.