Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for N-lightning Software Development Catechumen CD-ROM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

N-lightning Software Development Catechumen CD-ROM

You're a first-century Christian, a catechumen pitted against an evil Roman government that's bent on destroying God's people. This advanced CD-ROM game---a powerful program with stunning 3-D graphics---is your arena for battle. Let the fight for your faith begin! Bible based and gore free. 32MB RAM; 16MB or higher video memory; 3-D accelerator card; Pentium 233 or higher; Windows 95/98. Rated more for teens. From N'Lightning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Catechumen CD-ROM
Review 1 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this product is great to help learn the scriptures

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dan Yates
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my son totally loves this game,,,he has gone over a number of times and does not tire of it and he is 13...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not great

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marja B
Location:Shawnigan Lake, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately my kids have been exposed to a number of much better put together secular games and played with it only briefly. because of what I paid for it, it was ok. The right up makes it sound like more game than it is.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action combined with Christian history

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluehobbit
Location:duncan ok
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great action, problem solving, and Christian history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grant Long
Ok I found out how to fix the glitch. you will outsave when you reach the angels so if the don't give you a weapon just reload the autosave. Great game as I said before. still have not beat it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grant Long
I would have given this game a five star rating except for one major flaw, On one part the angel will not give me the sword so its really hard to get past that area. but I have to say it is the best shooter style game I have ever played! Its so nice not to have to worry about language or blood or worse! Its the best out there.and I just go it TODAY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brad Mcintosh
My son was not impressed with this game. Also, it will only play on our oldest computer. Despite trying all the "fixes" listed on the creator's website it will not play on Windows XP or Vista. Also, the company has never responded to my attempts to contact them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Toni Stacy
My kids love this game!!! I am so glad I bought this, made a great Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mikale Erhart
Great game! I loved it so much that I bought the second game by N'Lightning, Ominous Horizons.Can't wait for their next game to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Harvey
I took the game to my CCD class, religious education for 5th and 6th graders. They loved it! The graphics are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Conrad
Wouldn't work, threw it away. (I use Windows VISTA if that makes any difference.)I got it on sale for 99 cents, so didn't figure it was a big loss :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
james
This game is fun I am a 11 year old boy i got this game for easter i play it so much. It is tricky rember to save. Watch out for Saten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Baca
Fun game, the graphics are a bit dated but the game overall is fun to play and my 11 year old loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erik Pineda
I love this game it was scary at some parts of the game it leaves you guessing whats next. I love fighting Satan himself at the end and when he's defeated I love the way he gets the final blow. Overall I give this game a 5 stars because its a really fun Christian game.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
For older teens to adults, definitely play this one all the way through. It will take some effort but the ending is particularly satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Antonio Mndez
Though this game is one the most intense shooters I've ever played, it has some flaws. For example, the graphics aren't exactly the best thing in this game. Yes, I know it's old, but Half-Life 2 is also an old game, and it looks great today. Also, the gameplay couldhave been a little better. Whenever I would try to kill a demon, the camera would jump all over the place. It took a few hours to master this crazy control. Finally, I wish it didn't have the stupid game over. Once, I got a game over, and although it was completely my fault, i accidentally savad my game on the game over screen. I had to start the game from my last checkpoint, which was about thirty minutes ago. But other than these few flaws, this game is one intense shooter. Every step you take, every corner you come to, the only thing you can hear is your heart pounding in your chest. The enemy's are frightning, and the weapons are awsome. The only thing that they could have added could be some Godly powers or something like that. Similar to the ones in Bioshock. This is a game everyone should play, even if you aren't a FPS fan. Worth your time and money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
bibi
this game rocks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2001
Customer Avatar
Tyger (gaming-name. Hey?! It's a game isn't it?)
I just tried the demo, but this game is great! Graphics are one of the top! Great gameplay! Beyond Funness! Christian Creativity, You shoot a roman soldier, he kneels down and prays! N'lightning is making Catechumen's sequel, and it looks it has M.A.D. Skill! (Major Action Development, I'll change it later if a better one comes around)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Catechumen CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2000
Customer Avatar
Mandie
This game rocks! I've never seen a game in this category be this good! The graphics are wonderful, the environment is captivating, and the plot is challenging. It's definitely tops in my book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.