Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harpercollins Publishing The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition

Harpercollins Publishing The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition

Once your children have followed Lucy through the back of a magic wardrobe - and met Aslan, the Christlike lion - they'll never be the same! Kids adore these classics for their imaginative story lines and adults appreciate the rich Christian symbolism. This high-quality, softcover set would make either a memorable gift or noteworthy addition to your library.

This commemorative set of softcover books features the original cover artwork and full-color illustrations of Pauline Baynes, the first illustrator of this beloved series. The individual books measure 5.25" by 8" and the set includes an attractive slipcase in which the books can be safely stored and attractively displayed.

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Review 1 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful color edition

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
kolsilence
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This color edition of the Chronicles of Narnia is absolutely beautiful! The color makes the pictures really come alive, and the paper is really good quality as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Krissy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have few copies of thr Chronicles of Narnia. I have been looking for the colouredcollectors edition. As my chidren are all grown up I will save this edition for my future grandchildren and i will have great delight in reading them to them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mama Greensky
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased to give this as a gift!!
The set is beautifully done and priced very well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NOT IN ORDER

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jarcat
Location:Monroe, North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is unfortunate that someone erroneously decided that the Chronicles should be published in chronological order instead of the original order. When read out of order they lose continuity. Please return to the original order as Mr. Lewis wrote them.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Watkins
This is absolutely the best fiction series I have ever read. The characters jump off the pages and the sybolism is exquisite. This is a "must read," not only for kids, but adults too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve McLeroy
After more than 30 years of reading everything from Piers Anthony through some of the modern fantasy adventure books on the market there is no comparision to these books that Lewis wrote. Indeed, Lewis and Tolkein are the grandfathers of these fantasy adventures. They are written for the mature reader and the child and indeed bring out the child in the matuer reader. The desire to escape into the wonderful world of Narnina where we do not need battles to be described in the details of blood and gore. There is no comparison among modern writers to the Narnia series and never will be for that matter. I grew up during the ideas that "Frodo Lives" from the Lord of the Rings and then with the Narnia adventures. There is no comparison!!! 5 stars plus some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
All the books in this set are beautiful with the full color illustations and glossy paper. But after reading some of the wonderful new fantasy books on the market, these were a bit of a letdown. The descriptions of the fight scenes are not well described, the characters have no depth and are as two dimensional as the paper they're written on, and Lewis seems more focused on things of less importance. The stories also become quite dark witht the exception of book two.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hannah
C.S. Lewis brings the land of Narnia from his imagination to paper...Now ,years later,I would love to comment on these books.With skillful writing,and appeal to readers of all ages,C.S. Lewis' series is a must-read -they are among my favorite books! One of my favorite parts about these books is the allegorys tied into them.I read Prince Caspian recently (my second time trough) and was pleased to see how C.S. Lewis made Lucy love Aslan so much...She was so excited to see him. I love the chapter with her talking to Aslan in the woods!Then Susan and Peter and their doubting of Aslan really being there! Alot of us may think "Why would Susan and Peter doubt Aslan when they know who he is? Why wouldn't they believe he is there?" Many of us Christians are even worse! We could be asking questions about ourselves! "Why would I doubt God when I know what kind of God he is? Why wouldn't I believe he was there???" Because we are human,and we doubt! I Love these books AND what they portray!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
JTC
Great book in an excellent colored edition. Printed on high-quality paper. Easy to carry in 7 individual volumes. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kirsti
We are reading this as a family. Even my 2 year old pays attention! My 8 year old asks every night to read more chapters! The pictures make the story more interesting for them, especially because they are in color. The pages are thick and it is good quality. The case keeps them all in order and they are a beautiful addition to our home library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
CS Lewis Fan!!
This is an amazingly fun and hopeful set of books! I still love them even at my age - don't ask I'm not telling but my well worn and much loved childhood box set still sets in my library! ;)My half star ding is for the publisher and the book order. If this is your or your child's first exposure to these books I recommend they be read in published order not chronological order, at least where the two books "The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe" (published 1st) and "The Magician's Nephew" (published 6th) are concerned. The reason is simple, secrets that are revealed in "The Magician's Nephew" lose their coolness factor if you discover them before you read the story of "The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe". There is a big difference between the joy (and fun) of discovering new details about old friends (those you thought were so familiar) and learning about people and things you have never met and don't care about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Chronicles of Narnia, 7 Volumes: Full-Color Collector's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Timothy
If you love Lewis's "Chronicles," spend the extra money and buy this set. Everything from the quality of the paper to the elegant typesetting, not to mention the hand-colored illustrations, makes this set a wonderful addition to your home library. One warning: if you buy these, you won't want to loan them to others!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.