Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set

Random House, Inc Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set

Follow the heartwarming and high-spirited adventures of the world's favorite redhead! From hot-tempered orphan girl to contented mother of six, this captivating collection chronicles Anne's life: Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Poplars, Anne's House of Dreams, Anne of Ingleside, Rainbow Valley, and Rilla of Ingleside. Eight slipcased softcovers. Recommended for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Review 1 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy Bogie
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My eight year old granddaughter enjoy watching the DVDs so I thought it a good idea for her to be reading the books. Haven't heard anything as yet~~~~maybe she can have the time in the summer to do the reading.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great classic set

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy Stewart
Location:Houston TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Anne series is a delightful read for families and especially for girls. Anne is an orphan taken in by an aging brother and sister. Far from being a sort of farm hand, Anne turns their ordered world topsy-turvy with her chattering tongue and vivid imagination, and of course captures their hearts. The series follows her from age 11 to the engagement of her youngest daughter, and gives us a glimpse of life in small Canadian towns about 120 years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Set

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reader in Canada
Location:Prince Edward Island, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved this series since my teenage years. I now live in Prince Edward Island (Anne's home) and feel if you are going to visit or have ever visited PEI, you would especially enjoy this set. Many people think the "Anne" series is only three books long. I like this set because it includes the complete eight books of the Anne series. Although these are usually classed as children's books, I don't believe most children would be interested in books 2 - 6. As a teenager and as an adult I loved the whole set. When my son was about 10 years old, I read him "Anne of Green Gables" and he loved it. He wasn't so interested in "Anne of Avonlea" so we jumped ahead to "Rainbow Valley". I knew he would enjoy the children in "Rainbow Valley". He loved it and the final book "Rilla of Ingleside". I often recommend this set to friends and family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Thompson
This is an enchanting story for young and older ladies to read and enjoy. Very delightful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Harvey
My grandchildren are in first and second grade are are still in the process of learning to read. These books have become a great tool for them to learn with. They read some each night and are excited to get back to it because they are such terrific stories. I have actually not seen the entire set here in Canada so it is great to have them all together. Thank-you Christian Book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Rains
JUST AS PROMISED. MY 9 YEAR OLD WILL GET LOTS OF GREAT READING TIME WITH THESE GREAT WHOLESOME BOOKS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
L.C.
I am enjoying these books very much. I got them for my birthday, just 2 weeks ago, and I'm already almost through with book #3. I'm reading them on every spare minute that I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Felisha Luciano
This is an amazing collection of detailed adventures. You slip away immediately in to the story. You are there with this wonderful little girl on each adventure. The stories are captivating and really open up the imagination. I love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karlien
Number one books in the world! I love it and can't stop reading! I'm thirteen and think any one from 12 up can read the Anne novels! I recommend it to the whole world! I hope you love reading it as much as I did. I think that the DVDs are a bit disappointing but still nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
luissa canor
I love these books! I'm sixteen, and these are my favorite!!!!!!! I wouldn't recommend them to younger girls, though; they're too romantic!! And some are too sad! Anyway, though, older teens will enjoy these. They're wholesome classics. You don't see many books like these today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Briana Ramos
I love Anne of Green Gables. I personaly think I'm in the story when I read it. They're so well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Hannah Daulton
"The Anne series" are my absolute favorite books in the entire world! I started reading them when I was nine, and have re-read the whole series about three times. Each one of them is filled with drama of Anne and her children. I highly recommend these books to girls at the ages 8 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2004
Customer Avatar
Louisa Dearcolld
I LOVE Anne of Green Gables. They are the perfect books for older girls who love to read but don't care for some types of the more modern books that are out there! I recommend these wonderful novels to you. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2004
Customer Avatar
Bri
The Anne of Green Gables series contains eight timeless classics that are wonderful stories for all ages. I read them for the first time when I was eight, and now I'm sixteen and I still read them over and over. I also recommend the movies- they're great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Emilie
This has been my favorite series of books since I was 10 years old. I hope the Anne elegy never dies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
~Annonymous
I have grown up reading these books, they seem to be a part of me almost!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2001
Customer Avatar
Florence
I grew up reading the Anne books, and I still reread them periodically. I can turn to almost any passage almost as easily as I can use a dictionary. The video doen't even begin to let you know who Anne is. Every young girl needs to read about Anne.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2001
Customer Avatar
Lauren
I have read all of the books in the ANNE OF GREEN GABLES seris at least 5 times! They are so wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Anne of Green Gables Series 8-Volume Boxed Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2000
Customer Avatar
Rissa
I thoroughly enjoyed the Anne books and have read them over and over! They are my favorite books on earth (with the exception of the Bible, of course) and I highly recommend them to anyone and everyone! LMM gives a refreshing new way of looking at life- a fun, dreamy, yet still practical outlook that everyone can enjoy! And, though they may not necessarily all be completely Christian books, they teach high morals and strong stands for what one believes- something that today's secular books would be hard-pressed to reveal. Again, I very highly recommend all eight books to anyone any age, anywhere!Have fun reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.