Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984

Zondervan NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984

For many women, being a grandmother is God's finest gift—they have achieved great depth of experience and breadth of love, and they have grandchildren with whom to share these qualities. The Grandmother's Bible is the first Bible published for this active, engaged, Bible-reading audience. Over 60 well-known Christian women—including Ruth Graham, Elisa Morgan, Elizabeth George, Thelma Wells, Karen Kingsbury, and Carol Cymbala—share their thoughts, stories, and encouragement in this Bible's articles and daily devotionals. With a focus on daily prayer, this uniquely personal Bible offers guidance, inspiration, and practical tools as grandmothers share their love and God's Word with their grandchildren.

Features
  • 365 devotions —readings draw grandmothers closer to their Lord and to their grandchildren
  • Grandchild in Focus —a simple plan to help grandmothers pray regularly for their grandchildren
  • Praying the Scriptures for Your Grandchild —Bible verses in a prayer format
  • Stories to Share —over 150 key Bible stories ideal for sharing specific life lessons
  • Talking Points —a practical guide for using Scripture to discuss over 40 relevant topics, such as salvation, knowing God's will, friendship, etc.
  • Perspectives —original, thought-provoking articles addressing personal aspirations and the joys and challenges of being a grandmother
  • Special sleeve to hold grandchild's photo
  • Custom presentation pages
  • Pages to record grandchildren, prayers, God's faithfulness
  • Two-color design in an easy-to-read type
  • Book introductions
  • Topical index
  • Complete New International Version
  • 11-point text
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 10.25" x 8.00" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.776 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
74 out of 7599%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
Review 1 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product with tons of ideas and inspiration

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deb M
Location:Northwest Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful resource and gift for grandmothers. The only thing I need to mention is that the ink color and size might be a little difficult for people with any sight problems. Otherwise I do give it five stars for thoughtful format and writing. I've already given one to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Bible Ever

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nonna
Location:Boynton Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! The stories, the talking points, the prayers for our grandchildren, it's all such a blessing! I have bought 4 of them so far! One for me and I loved it so much I bought 3 more! Two for friends and an extra one to have in case The Lord puts another grandmother on my heart to give it to! I hope it never goes out of print!!! And I love the fine leather quality!!! Every grandmother should have one! If I had enough money, I'd buy one for all grandmothers everywhere!! And I plan to leave mine to my oldest granddaughter! I have written bible study notes in it and have dated each prayer I've prayed and have written my grand child's name with each prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suggestions and prayer helps.

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Caribou
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything...the pockets for pictures, special ideas on how to pray for your grandchildren...practical advice to think about...I've bought several more to give my friends who are being blessed with grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has many great features to help focus

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Arctic Meg
Location:Aklavik, Northwest Territories, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent Bible for grandmothers who wish to share their faith with their grandchildren and grow spiritually themselves. The 14 different themes, focus prayers, stories to share, and talking points all help to centre thoughts on the particular grandchild and provide ways for sharing and applying God's Word to one's own life. This Bible is unique in its form and devotional content and is an encouragement for grandmothers to deepen their relationship with God and their grandchildren.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Product

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
June
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am more than happy with my Grandmother's Bible! I especially enjoy the Grandchild in Focus Prayer segments. My only grandson is in a faraway state, so I cannot share the learning times with him as yet, but many of the prayers have helped give me the assurance that even tho I can't be close to him, God is holding him in His hands. I highly recommend this Bible to any and all Grandmothers. Thank you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

was disappointed

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
oasisanna
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From what I have seen so far, it is okay for features to advise young children but when I went looking for advice for teens and above .... not good. Maybe it's just me, but I not anly have grandchildren but great ones also. When my adult grandchildren ask for help I can only fall back on my experience which isn't always biblical. Very disappointed!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
wendy
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friend because I use mine every day and enjoy it so much. Love the way you zone in on one grandchild for two weeks and pray specifically for that one. I also enjoy the many "praying the scripture" enteries. Informative, challenging, humorous and full of wisdom!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a really great Bible for grandmothers.

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snoopy
Location:Peterborough, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Bible. It is very good just to read and then to pray for your grandchildren. It has sections to help you show the Bible to your grandchildren and teach them about what is in the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the specific topics on the devotions.

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy N
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the specific topics on the devotions. My granddaughter's best friend lost her dad recently. We read and re--read some of the comforting scriptures and devotions to help her process and understand the loss.
the prayers for the grandchildren also help me focus on specific areas of their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blessed Grandma
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a new grandma I'm looking forward to sharing God's many gifts with my grandson as I did with his dad. This Bible is a good start in relating topics and stories with grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great gift!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
momoftwocuties
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible as a gift to my mother in law from my kids. We had her name ingraved and she loved it. She said she reads it everyday and loves that she can relate to many of the stories in it. Money well spent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just wonderful!

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamaw
Location:Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So very excited about purchase. Will be a Christmas gift for my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
coloursofgrace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love the large print, and the devotions are very uplifting to me. I not only get the Word of God but the wisdom of other well known Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Nana LOVES her Grandmother's Bible!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved mine so much I just received two I bought for friends. This will make a special Christmas gift for them both. Great Bible at a great price!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
SANDY
Location:Holland, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, it helps me concentrate on each grandchild. It has devotions in it and it is easy to read and to explain to grandhildren of all ages.
When I had them sign there names they thought that was cool.
Would be a great item to pass on down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Bible is too big and heavy. My grands are mostly grown up so it might have ben more apt when they were younger, I felt uncomfortable with some of the prayers, not the way i would pray. I didn't like the way they were spaced through out , did not sem to fit the passages they were near.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL BIBLE!

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura P.
Location:Detroit
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this Bible a few years back. My husband purchased it for me and I absolutely love it! It has lots of devotionals and notes geared towards grandparenting and praying for and helping in the spiritual growth of our grandchildren. I can't seem to get enough of this kind of thing!! The price was SO outstanding last month, I ordered one for a friend and can't wait to give it to her!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible is great

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
GraGra
Location:Prattville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased when I opened this bible. It is perfect for all grandmothers. I will have my granddaughter for a week in October and I can't wait for us to read it together. She is five years old and reading is one of her favorite things to do. It is a Must have for all grandmothers and I love the Large Print!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read and wonderful devotionals

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peg Heinold
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a blessing for me. I am really enjoying the devotionals and prayers for my 15 grandchildren! I love the large print. This has been a wonderful find and I would highly recommend this Bible to any grandmother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Grandmother's Bible, Large-Print Edition--bonded leather, violet 1984
This review is fromNIV Grandmother's Bible, Largeprint, Hardcover 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great purchase!

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie D. Russell
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed with this Bible purchase. The size was larged than expected . The large print perfect for my 91 yr . old Grandmother and mother ( who's also a grandmother). Print in Purple added plus as purple is my grandmother's favorite color and mine. The added prayers and points of interest made me fall in love with this Bible more. I love the picture pocket too ( excellent idea). I only wish the authors made a Godmother's Bible ( as I have no children but 8 God children) or a Single's Woman's Bible ( hint, hint) . If you buy it you won't be disappointed, it's fabulous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.