Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women

New Hope Publishers Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women

This book is full of practical tools to guide women toward God's heart in their search for the right guy. Author Elsa Kok explores with the reader whether she is spiritually ready for a relationship, whether the man she's dating is spiritually ready, and whether God is at the center of their relationship. Each chapter includes simple quizzes to help a reader find her motivation for dating and discover whether or not her relationship is God-centered.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Review 1 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keyona Glenn
I think it is a great book for single people. It brought a different perspective of things. Somethings you never really put together to come with solutions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
I am middle aged, single, and not interested in a relationship. This book helped me see some things I wish I'd known 40 years ago. I think it will be a help to me in dealing with friends who may be in a bad relationship. It is good and practical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ami
I had bought this book for a friend. Who I had been praying for long time. But I got the book. I really love it and got one for myself as well. Author does not paint this Christian dream world that I think a lot do. Just read it to find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Shell
This is a very good book. I especially like the check list at the end of each chapter that get the reader to truly think about herself, the man in her life, and the relationship. In addition the last 2 chapters deal with how to break off a relationship when the relationship is not God's best for you, and when to keep the relationship going when the relationship is God's will. This will definitely be a keeper book on my shelf until I find the one man that IS God's best for me! This book will help keep me from making the same mistake twice with a dating and marriage relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Corrie
This really was a check-up for me that helped me gauge present relationships and bring some mental and emotional closure and resolution to past ones. I admire Elsa's boldness to be honest and vulnerable. It encourages me to get honest with myself, with God, and with those who care about me enough to keep me accountable. I especially appreciated her encouragement to stay connected within a community of faith and a group of women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rashel
I was so inspired by "Settling for Less Than God's Best", that I led a group of 20 women from church through the book. I make a point to give it to any single friend I can. It doesn't come from the perspective of "I have it all together", rather it's a real jouney, an authentic story, and relational and tangible advise for any woman seeking God's best in her choice of mate. This book has left a permenant mark in my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Meredith
I loved this book. I was privilaged to be at a retreat where Elsa spoke. It was the first time I had gone to something like that and I had purchased a few of her books because of it. This book has helped me out alot and I have actually gone back and reread it a few times. I also have several friends that are either single parents or just single without children and plan on giving this book as presents this year to them. I want them to know that they are loved by God and that they deserve the best in life and from God. This book has really brought my life into focus for me. Thank you Elsa!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Debbie
After reading this book I have recommended it to many others. I love Ms. Kok's style and her insight. Every single woman should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Settling for Less Than God's Best?: A Relationship Check-Up for Single Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Steph
Great book! The surveys at the end of each chapter really are an eye-opener. Great for women who are looking to approach the next relationship the right way. I would not hesitate to buy any book written by elsa kok. She's a leader in getting information across in a "usable" manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.