Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1

Bethany House Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1

After being educated in the east, Deborah Vandermark returns to Perkinsville, Texas, where her family is part of the thriving logging industry. She brings along an unexpected companion-her best friend, who is fleeing a wedding and groom she has no interest in. A determined matchmaker, Deborah sets her sights on uniting her brother and friend in what she hopes will be a true love match.

Then Deborah meets Christopher Clayton, the town's new doctor-and quickly realizes she has a much greater interest in medicine and science than the bookkeeping she studied at college. Soon Deborah is caught between her fascination for doctoring and her obligation to her family. And in the midst of her warring emotions is the doctor himself. Are her tumultuous feelings for the man, or for what he can teach her?

Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Review 1 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Love Takes Commitment

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book reminds me that if the reason to get into a committed relationship is wrong, it's better not to get into it. For once we are in a relationship, it's harder to try to change and it's almost impossible to get out for God do not permit divorces!! And if we are not married, there's a part of us that has been given to the other person. And with us knowing it or not, the damage has already been done.
Secondly, it's always important to be truthful with each other before considering a committed relationship. For a relationshio that's build on falsehood is bound to fail. Family is always more important than spouse, for when we bring another person into a messed up family, it only gets worst. It's better to sort the family issues before proceeding until you know you are able to handle the situation.
Thirdly, God made us each a masterpiece. It's ok if you are different than others. The more important question is, are you doing God's will? Are you pleasing Him? Are you being yourself, the one God created you as? I believe when we can honestly say yes, that's when we will have the joy and peace flow out from the bottom of our hearts.
Last but not least, the west always bring a lot of mental pictures to me. The difficulty and hardship all year through but the satisfaction at the end of the year to see what you have achieved and that you can be a blessing to the people around. It's my dream to raise godly offsprings and leave a legacy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
grammy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. It kept my attention and was very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy all of Tracie Peterson books.

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the story starts out, a bride bent on marrying into a loveless relationship to prove herself to her mother is quite a different perspective for this era. Most girls dreamed of love but never expected to find it due to arranged marriage within her "social" circle. Then here is Deborah encouraging her friend to walk away from this horrible idea of a marriage and one day hope to find true love. What great stories are made of!
Now, Deborah is a girl after my own heart. Mistakely obligated to care for her family's business when no one expected it of her but herself....lol :) Oh how we get certain ideas stuck in our heads and allow them to control us! God is so good & gracious as we blunder along. Praise the Lord for that!
I look forward to the following book to see how Tracie Peterson revels a change in perspective for Deborah that I am sure is to come. Will she find true love for herself at last? I am sure we will find out!!!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Lacey, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I went to the library and got the other 2 books in this series. It also promted me to look into other books by Tracie Peterson. I am know starting to read another series by her. Good, christian stories about love, family and trials of daily life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun reading.

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. It was a quick read. I will pass the book on to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was o.k. but definitely not great

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Londonderry, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was not the best Tracie Peterson book that I have read. Her Song of Alaska series is better. It was o.k., but I thought that the development of the characters was too rushed. For instance, Lizzy barely gets to Texas and very quickly is in love with G.W. The only thing we know about G.W. is the guilt he felt over his Dad's accident and Lizzy helping him with that. It was just not very good character development with those two. The rest of the story was o.k. with Deborah and her mother's stories, and Lizzy's ex-fiance and mother. Not great, but o.k. I also thought that it was much too fast at the beginning and there was no background given about Stuart, Deborah, Lizzy, and her parents when Lizzy immediately left him at the altar at the beginning of the book-I knew absolutely nothing about them and could not relate to this. Well, I bought the box set of the series, so I will read the other 2 books-I would like to see what happens with these characters-whether Deborah becomes a doctor, falls in love with the doctor, etc. So I did give it 3 stars. I read Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson right before this and I was spoiled I think-the character development in that one was great and I felt like I knew the people and that I there with them. I recommend all of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read!!

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
blessedlady
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
True to her style, Tracie Peterson produced another great book. I enjoyed the characters, story line, the setting..but I especially enjoyed the faith in our Father that this book portrays. I look forward to many more of her books to come!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is wonderful to read

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo Ellen McDonald
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie Peterson is one of my favorite authors. Everything she writes is full of great morals and family values. Her stories are always page turners. If you like Christian fiction then she is one of the best. I like the fact that the book is interesting and the towns are so real. The characters are also very believable and down to earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Enjoyed This Book Very Much

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:McAlester, Ok
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Book Has Lessons In Faith , Over coming Hard ships In Life A Tender Love Story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very easy to get into!

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is not one book of Traci Peterson that I have not liked and once again she has not failed. With each of her books you seem to learn something about life in different areas. It was a nice change of pace to read about logging in Texas. Keep up the good work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Geri Ford
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Tracie Peterson's books that I have read. When I buy a new one I have reading friends that I share and they in turn share with me, Keep them coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very good & worth sharing.

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barb Collver
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy Tracie's books and was not disappointed with this one. My book club has had her as a favorite choice for many times. Even though this was predictable, it ends in a way that is anxious for another to follow. I hope it won't be too long before the second is introduced. It truly strikes a match in our imagination! I like the spiritual aspect of this story also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book from a terrific author

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean Bright
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another great love story from a great author. I love all her books and highly recommend them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Emma? Not really.

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I began Embers of Love, I felt like the beginning was rushed, almost as if I was starting a sequel. It seemed the characters had already been introduced, but I'd been left out of the introductions.
There were a few moments that I thought I might be reading about modern-day Emma. Well-intentioned matchmaker. But, then it wasn't. But, then it was.
I had a hard time figuring out many of the characters. Sometimes Euphanel spoke with a soft drawl and other times she seemed to speak primly and properly. Same with G.W. It was difficult for me to connect with any one character.
Really, Embers of Love wasn't bad. I've just read better books by Tracie. I am quite interested to see what happens with the second book in Tracie's Striking A Match series, Hearts Aglow (February 2011). I would love to see if Deborah will be able to pursue a medical career.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
sixgrande
Location:Billings, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put the book down. That is how I am with most of Tracie Petersons books. I can hardly wait for the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She never fails to keep your interest

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, we learn a lot about life in a logging community
plus learn valuable lessons from life. We see how people
often try to out fox God and it never works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful characters.

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dangers of the west are approached from a different venue than Tracie ususally takes. I loved Deborah's mom and her brother Rob. Rich characters and the hints of trouble to come in the sequel with Stuart and Lizzie's mom were great. Also, the tidbits of the women's suffrage movement were an interesting twist. Not to mention Traci's well-crafted story telling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Dye
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a good book .it was funny at times .i could not put it down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Embers of Love - eBook Striking a Match #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a historical book

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ember Of Love by Tracie Peterson takes place in Philadelphia, June 1885 where Elizabeth Decker, known as Lizzy is about to be married to a man she does not love. Stuart Albright is a well known man and his father is friends with President Cleveland and her mother is very involved in women's rights, so much so that she is divorced from her husband and was never there for Lizzy as she grew up. But now that Lizzy is a grown woman her mothers was wanting her to join her in the fight for women's rights so she decided she would marry the first man that ask her just to prove that she didn't have to do as her Mother tried to make her.
She had went to college and her friend Deborah was fixing to go home to Texas as soon as the wedding was over. Deborah talked Lizzy into not marring Stuart and catching the train to Texas with her, as her brother was waiting at the depot to take her home. Lizzy decided to leave instead of getting married so she went to Texas and met Deborah's bother G.W. This did not go over well with Stuart or her mother, but she really liked Texas and learned how to cook and do household chores.
Soon Stuart and Lizzy's mother showed up and was determined to take Lizzy back to Philadelphia with them so much so they pretended that Lizzy and Stuart were married because of the papers they had signed before the wedding was to take place. This had Lizzy worried so she contacted her father and he found out she was not married.
Does Lizzy stay in Texas or does her mother talk her into going back and have a marriage with no love.
This book was a really good read, full of history, love and the right for women to vote. Thanks so much to Bethany House for sending me this copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.