Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook

Bethany House Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
Review 1 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Curl Up In The Recliner Reading

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read all 4 of the Gresham Green novels and have thoroughly enjoyed each one. I appreciate the gentle, nonviolent, modest style of Ms. Blackwell's writing. I felt as if I'd become a resident of Gresham and these were my friends. Thank you, Ms. Blackwell for not detailing the intimate scenes; it enhances the purity of the love relationship. The novels were very soul-satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

•°o•:*¨¨*:•.NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST THREE .•:*¨¨*

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ALL FOUR BOOKS IN THIS SERIES ARE REVIEWED HERE FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE
THE WIDOW OF LARKSPUR INN, The Gresham Chronicles Book #1
Lawana Blackwell
•°o•:*¨¨*:•. THESE PEOPLE BECAME FAMILY .•:*¨¨*:• o°•
Book one of The Gresham Chronicles is set in England/1860s. Julia Hollis has 3 children, servants and a grand home, and everything she needs until her husband suddenly passes away. She finds herself very suddenly deep in debt. She has days before the bank will throw her out and take everything. The only thing they allow her to keep is an old coaching inn in a village she has never heard of.
Initially, this book was hard for me because it focused on Julia’s husband having a secret life of gambling. A life of sin he chose over his family. However, as the story progressed, I was able to relate to so much of what Julia was going through and the growth in Christ that she experienced. God used this book to grow me as well, and minister to my heart to continue to trust Him to see me and my kids through.
There are SO MANY WONDERFUL characters. You get to meet them and become a part of this village life and wish you were there. I am now about to start my 4th book in the series. I know I will be sad when it ends.
I so appreciate how this book is written with faith and God well-written throughout. It is very much the way I live life everyday. God is a part of my everyday life and a natural subject of conversation. But this book doesn’t feel preachy, above-your-head. Just simple and flowing like a gentle river of God’s love. One thing I love, is how the books switch back and forth from different characters perspective. You really get inside each one’s head. It feels like you are watching a miniseries! Each time I read from the books, I feel better and uplifted like I have been around good friends at church. I highly recommend these books.
Book1 - 432 pages
Also, please view her website. It is under her full name and very sweet. www.LawanaBlackwell.com
The Courtship of the Vicar's Daughter, Gresham Chronicles Series #2
•°o•:*¨¨*:•. LAUGH OUT LOUD, CRY, GENUINELY ENJOY .•:*¨¨*:• o°•
Book TWO of The Gresham Chronicles continues in the lovely and now cherished village of Gresham. The details of these books are so rich. The fact that The Larkspur Inn is a boarding house allows for characters to move in and out and change so we can easily expect new ones to grace us with their presence. I love that there are several elderly characters, not just one or two and the author does not shy away from giving detailed descriptions of their emotions and lives. In this second book, you also get to know some of the children better, such as when young Philip goes off to boarding school. I absolutely love Mrs. Kingston. She is so cheeky. I laugh at her antics and enjoyed her thoroughly. Seth and Mercy are my favorite in this book. The way the Lord worked in their lives was amazing, and I found myself really rooting for them. However, the writer takes her time and does not rush the situation so you really get to go on a nice ride as their characters develop in an unexpected way.
The author also makes reference to books or authors that her characters are reading, such as Little Women, An Old Fashioned Girl, Jane Austen, etc. It is fun to see books/authors listed that I recognize.
I highly recommend these books.
Book2 - 416 pages
The Dowry of Miss Lydia Clark, Gresham Chronicles Series #3
•°o•:*¨¨*:•. I WANT TO MOVE HERE! .•:*¨¨*:• o°•
Book THREE of The Gresham Chronicles delivers you right back where you want to be. My only regret is that where Mercy and Seth had such a major role in book two, but they have only minor parts in this book. However, there are plenty of new relationships to follow. Mercy’s brother Harold, actually grows into a very pleasant character in this book. Ooooh, those Sanders men were hard to like in Book two! There is love, faith, jealousy, introspection, the growing pains of youth and more in all of these books. There is also a great deal of humor that is injected at the most unusual moments so that you are caught of guard laughing out loud (and wondering if anyone else heard you!). In fact, Lydia’s dad really reminds me of my own dad who has dry humor that is all to happy to share with strangers and causes Lydia to role her eyes, and sarcastically commented that she’s adopted. Ha ha! Once again, I felt warm and happy and wanting to live in Gresham, surrounded by the love of good friends, and God’s love and simple times. I generally finish these books in a few days to week, allowing one full day off just to devote to reading. I did not plan it that way, but each one was so good, that’s just what happened. I could not put them down!!!
I am so looking forward to reading book #4
Book3 - 398 pages
The Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4
•°o•:*¨¨*:•.NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST THREE .•:*¨¨*:• o°•
Book FOUR of The Gresham Chronicles picks up in April 1884, 15 years after book three ends. It is very sad and depressing in many instances. Several of the old characters are gone, but some are still around. The sad times seem to outweigh the good times so I just did not enjoy this book as much. When it ended, I was finally ok with that, which is really a bummer after love, love, loving the first three.
Book4 - 415 pages
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gresham Series is Wonderful!

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
lizyou
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the first 3 books of this series and am anxious to start this last book. I have more than enjoyed the characters and intermingling stories of this quaint village and its characters. I'm more than sure this book will be as good as the others--I'm just sorry that this is the last book and I'll have to say good bye to Gresham.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
As a huge fan of the the Gresham Chronicles and Lawana Blackwell's works, I was thrilled to hear that there was going to be a fourth book in the series. I had devoured the three books in the series several times and was looking forward to seeing what was going on with the village and its inhabitants. It was pleasant to return to the peaceful village where everyone knows each other. We're introduced to new characters and are reunited and caught up to date with old friends. I will admit it was a bit jarring to see the children now grown up with their old families but the Hollis and Phelps family are still the same as ever. I liked Jewel and her daughter and was sadden at their plight. The treatment of a single mother in England during that time period was very rough and justice was not served properly to those who needed it. While I enjoyed this book, I felt that it wasn't on the same level as the author's previous books in the series. I never really felt connected with the new characters in this book and I felt like the old characters were just thrown in for good measure. The other books in the Gresham series had a certain charm and comfort feeling. This book however, gives sort of a standoffish feeling. I felt as if I was looking at the story from a distance. The romance in this story seemed to happen very fast and almost as an afterthought. After the quirky and accidental romances in the past 3 books, the one in this one fell flat and was not very believable.That being said, this is an enjoyable book. Fans of Jane Austen and other regency era type books will find this book a pleasure to read. If you've never read any of the other books in the Gresham series, you won't be lost reading this one as it can be read as a stand alone. However if you're a fan of the original series, this book is a nice way to catch up on everyone and is a good addition to the series. Hopefully this won't be the last we will see of Gresham and it's inhabitants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise
I enjoyed this. It came so long after I read the rest of the series, I really should have read them again. It was a good look at relationships. I would recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Cribbs
Lawana Blackwell's book draws you into an amazing story that encourages you to see how God can transform lives that are dedicated to him. Jewel's life gradually changes as she continues to trust God despite the bleakness of her situation. Lawana Blackwell is an excellent author who is able to write stories that serve to entertain you and draw your heart closer to God at the same time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Norma Jean Nunamaker
I found the book to be very entertaining and was glad to have more of what had happened to her other people. Once I started reading it I couldn't hardly put it down. The people in the story are so real to life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Groseclose
I finished the first three books in this series a few years ago. I was thrilled to find out that a new book was coming. I waited for it with great anticipation and was not disappointed when I read it. Lawana has continued the superb writing she exhibited in the first three books. The characters were very real and the action flowed smoothly with several involved plots. I was entertained, but I also felt God speaking to me through the story as it unfolded to show how He can work when we trust Him, regardless of our circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Lawana's characters from her previous Gresham Chronicles come back to life as a newcomer, Jewel Libby flees from Birmingham with her small daughter with danger of an evil man stalking them upon their heels. But Vicar Andrew Phelps and his wife, Julia are immersed in troubles of their own. Their son Philip's marriage is in shambles, daughter Aleda secludes herself away from her parents to concentrate on her writing career while Andrew himself is on the verge of surgery. Jewel then finds herself the source of strength and encouragement as she ministers to the dying squire and to the vicar's family. The intricately woven plot is ingenious. I don't know how Lawana keeps all the subplots together. It's absolutely fantastic! I really hope to see a lot more of her stories in the near future! Keep up the good work, Lawana!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa Dahlstrom
Lawana Blackwell brings you right back to Gresham and to the wonderful characters of that quaint town.Ms. Blackwell makes all of the characters come alive, you feel as if you know these people. I hope that there will be more stories from Gresham!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
I have finished this book and it was a lovely, historical romance with a lush setting in Gresham, deep characters, risky conflicts (especially for the time period) and an all around great final product. I own the Gresham Chronicles by Lawana Blackwell and had been waiting for a downtime in my TBR pile so I could dive into them... that hasn't happened yet so I dove straight into this book instead. It took me just a couple chapters to orient myself to the characters that Lawana has developed over the course of three other books and then settled myself back for an interesting romp through Gresham. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I connected with the characters and how well Lawana was able to keep different plot lines and stories going along so smoothly. She also brings up to very edgy conflicts that she never names but innuendos well enough that it is clear and yet not crass. It made it easier for me to identify with some of the characters because they are modern topics that you don't always think of as being issues back then but in reality were probably even more prevalent. (There is a teaser for you!) So come to Gresham and see what you have been missing and I truly hope that Lawana takes all of us back to Gresham soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Contrary to many reviewers, I have not read the other books by Lawana Blackwell about Gresham. But after reading this charming book I will certainly go back and start the series from the beginning! It only took me a few moments to get the characters squared away in my head and then it was off on an amazing jaunt in Gresham with many fun characters. Lawana has a fascinating style and toward the end I simply could not put this book down! If you like historical fiction and enjoy books built around strong characters then I would consider this book a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Hendricks
After reading the 3 other Gresham books sometime ago, it was wonderful to visit with these characters again. I reread Book 3 to get reacquainted before I read the new book. I enjoyed the nw book tremendously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
SGillingham
I have loved the Gresham Chronicles series, and The Jewel of Gresham Green is as excellent as the previous books. I rarely find a series where each book is as good as the last, but this is one of those series. It was great to find out where the characters were ten years later. The book ties up everything wonderfully, while introducing interesting new characters. I would recommend reading the first three, although this book is good on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
I have read this whole series. It was one of the best series I have read. Lawana Blackwell's writing makes you feel you are really a part of the lives in these books. Really good reading. Thanks Mrs. Blackwell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Prior to reading this, I had not visited Gresham in many years--but this novel made me realize how much I've missed it. This is a wonderful read on many levels. First, I must commend Lawana's bravery and wisdom in realistically, but gently, dealing with the character of a pedophile in the book, as well as her treatment of divorce, something that was considered scandalous in Victorian England. In both cases, the rescue of Jewel and Becky, as well as the rescue of Philip and Loretta's marriage, are wonderful examples of Christ's love and intervention for His children. I also thoroughly enjoyed catching up with the other characters from previous books, especially Gabriel and Aleda. In fact, my identification with Aleda, as a writer who enjoys her solitude and independence, was almost complete, and I rejoiced with her when her novel was finally published. Lawana also did a great job of keeping me guessing as to who, if anyone, would marry whom. Great job--I will definitely be coming back to Gresham in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jewel of Gresham Green, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Jewel of Gresham Green, Gresham Chronicles Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna Rodway
Its well writen and i love reading it and the series. I love reading Lawana Blackwell and recomened them to everyone!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.