Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook

Bethany House Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook

As America rises to meet the challenge of World War II, the call for defense workers unites four women at Seneca Shipyards in Michigan: Virginia longs to find a purpose beyond her role as a housewife; Helen's lonely, single existence drives her to accept a demanding job despite her advancing years; Rosa is desperate to flee her in- laws' rules; and Jean yearns to rise above her circumstances and attend college. As their lives intersect, this unlikely gathering of women will encourage, shape, and influence one another as they learn valuable lessons about themselves and about life, love, and faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first picked up this book, I wasn't at all excited about reading it because it was set in WWII era of which I'm not a huge fan of. However, the phrase "never judge a book by it's cover" kept rearing its head at me as I found myself drawn into this amazing story of four women from different walks of life that come together at a local shipyard and become Rosie Riveters.
These woman come to this shipyard of different reasons, and from different backgrounds and cultures, yet working together day in and day out they find that they are not so different after all.
This is a story of friendship and love, of finding God and re-finding faith.
It was truly an remarkable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good read!

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fantastic book. Loved how the four characters lives became entwined and how they looked out for each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Teens, too!

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Downes
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As homeschoolers, we often look for books that complement our lesson plans in science, history, music, art, etc. One place I look for books for teens is the Christian bookstore. Here, you’ll find all sorts of wonderful books written for adults, but that are perfectly wonderful for teens. They are great stories, written in all genres (mystery, fantasy, historical fiction, etc.), and clean!
Lynn Austin is one of my favorite authors in the Christian book world. Austin has written a number of books set during the 20th century, a time period that, until recently, hasn’t been written about very much.
"A Woman's Place" is the first book of hers I read. This is the story of four women during the 1940s, a time when the role of women began to change from stay-at-home mom to
"get out and work for a cause" - World War II.
Each of these four women is struggling to find herself in this new world. Virginia, who suspects her husband is having an affair, wants to find purpose for her life. She feels unappreciated and “stupid.” Helen has all the money she needs, but is lonely and has lost her faith in God. Rosa is trying to find a life that doesn’t involve being accosted by her drunken mother’s latest boyfriends but does involve a knight in shining armor. And Jean, frustrated that she is born female, is intent on going to college and making something of herself during a time when few women went to work. All four of these women end up working at Stockton Shipyard where they work as “Rosie the Riveters” producing landing crafts for the war.
This is a wonderful story of friendship, self-worth, and Christian faith. Although the topics are adult in theme, there is no bad language or objectionable scenes. Instead, it’s a look at life for women during the 1940s. A history lesson told in prose, and it's not preachy. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable look at a period of change & uncertainty

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Woman's Place" is a Christian historical fiction set in December 1941 through October 1944. It follows four women from very different backgrounds who start work in a war factory to help with the WWII war effort.
The characters were varied and had realistic struggles. The book was a quick read, and the suspense was created mainly by relationship tensions and concern about those serving in the war. Vivid details about the time period and setting were woven into the story. However, at times, I felt like the author was trying to cover too many of the issues relating to the time period. This was especially true at the end, which was wrapped up so quickly that issues involving important secondary characters were left hanging.
There were several characters with a strong Christian faith, one who never learned about God before now, and one who rejected God because He let her loved ones die due to illness, accident, and war. There were ongoing themes about forgiveness and trusting God. There were also scenes of Rosa asking funny questions about God because she knew so little and of Jean trying to teach her what God's grace means.
There was no explicit sex. There was a minor amount of "fake" bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this enjoyable historical to those interested in learning about the struggles faced by women in America in the early 1940s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nickname
I liked this book and I kinda wished it would have gone on a little longer
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
A thoroughly wonderful and enjoyable book. It shows the strength of women when the going gets tough. The characters in the story are truly remarkable. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maryann Mason
This is a really good book. I have encourage my mom to read this as she was a young women at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I loved reading about these women in different stages of their lives all coming together at one place in time for a mutual cause.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
kirsty
I LOVED this book!! It was so interesting, and I found it to be completely believable. My favourite character was Jean, then Rosa, then Ginny, and then Helen. I was so relieved when Jean ended up with Earl instead of Russ. And i loved how all the girls rallied around each other, when ever one of them had a problem, eg: When Rosa had to go and see Dirk before he was shipped off, and how they kept encouraging Earl that he was a million times better then Russ. I loved how even Helen warmed up, and i was so relived that Lynn didn't make it that Ginny died. I loved the ending. I would highly recommend this book. It's perfect for all ages. Good Job, Lynn!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruth Rice
Have read about a third of this book, and it is hard to put down. It is about women, as thing USED to be. It talks mostly of one woman at a time at different stages of their lives. Good, wholesome reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Martinez
I've read many of Lynn Austins'books and have enjoyed them all.I have to say that this was the best book I've read this year.I was totally entertained and was sad when I finished it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terri S.
This book was AMAZING by far one of the best books I have read all year. I strongly recommend this book. Great surprises in the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Johnette
Loved this book. I have read several of Lynn Austins other books. And I think so far this is my favorite. def worth the 12.99. I would highly recommend this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Morgan
This book was amazing!! I usually go for the 1800's based books but I really enjoyed Lynn Austin's Refiners Fire series so I decided to give this one a try. I learned so much and it was one of those types of books if you got in trouble, mom would ground you from it. I enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
DT
Oh, yes, this is a good book! I loved it, it was extremely enjoyable. I had a hard time putting it down! I only wish it was longer! I'd like to see more that goes on with each woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Prolific author, Lynn Austin, well know for her biblical and American Civil War novels brings to life the early 1940's to tell the story of four woman whose lives are forever changed by the Second World War.Four women, brought together by America's call for women to aid the war effort, take jobs at the Stockton Shipworks and train in electronics. Newly married Rosa wants to escape the disapproval of her parents-in-law while her husband Dirk fights overseas, Jean, the youngest, dreams of going to college, Helen is all alone after the death of her elderly parents and the wealth left to her is simply not enough and Virginia is desperately afraid she has become nothing more than a "servant" to her husband and sons. Working as a team the women discover that their differences are not enough to stand in the way of friendship. They discover abilities previously untapped and challenges never before experienced. When tragedy strikes and prejudice threatens to separate them these women find strength and hope in eachother and discover that faith and friendship is truly enough to overcome all things.Lynn Austin has written a beautiful novel that held my interest throughout all of its 446 pages. Each chapter is written from the perspective of one of the characters but this is not a distraction or hard to follow. Despite finding Virginia's timidity irritating in the early chapters she soon developed into a character I understood more as her personality and circumstances were revealed. The remaining three characters were fascinating and believable and while from another era, their hopes, fears and challenges were easy to relate to. The author transports you to the 1940's with relevant detail and obviously impeccable research. The prejudices these women face entering a man's world are explored as well as other issues as relevant today as they were then like racisim, prejudice, bitterness and forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2007
This book was a feast for the mind and the soul. Lynn Austin portrays four women--Jean, Rosa, Helen, & Ginny--from very different places in life who come together to work in a shipyard during World War II. Each woman is so true to life--struggling to live, work, love, build friendships and believe God. They also have to deal with the turmoil of war and discrimination.I didn't always agree with the characters choices, such as Ginny refusing to submit to her husband. But the author made each character complete in her relationships with family, friends, and God. Rosa was my favorite character. I loved how her husband explained his faith and how she learned about various "bad" women in the Bible.Lynn Austin is superb at writing historical fiction which loudly proclaims the love and grace of God. Don't miss this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Woman's Place, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Woman's Place.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karen Deikun
I really enjoyed this book. The characters are very true to life and easy to identify with - and the time and place in history are fascinating. Many of the issues of that time period are interwoven into the story so that the characters must deal with them on a personal level. It's very interesting to see how the political, social, and ethical events affect the lives of people in that generation and how their beliefs impact their response.My only disappointment was the way in which one major character, Jean, finally made a choice in her relationships. I would have preferred her to be able to analyze the character of the person over the course of time and without a suddenly obvious prejudice in someone else causing a sudden clarity of vision. However that is an opinion and its always easier to criticize than be the writer.Other than that, this book is high on my list, and Lynn Austin is a new favorite. I hope to read many, many more of her excellent historical books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.