Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5

Bethany House Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5

Fleeing King Manasseh's tyranny, Joshua leads the faithful remnant to their new home in Egypt. But as years pass, Joshua's desire for vengeance becomes an obsession. Blinded by hatred, he makes rash decisions, placing his loved ones in jeopardy. What will it take for him to grasp the great love his Heavenly Father has for him and for the chosen people of Judah?
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Review 1 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happyreader
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn Austin's attention to the details in her research is so evident by the quality of her writing. Even though a reader may know the 'story' from the Bible, Austin has a unique talent to keep the reader mesmerized by the written word on the page. "Among the Gods" is an excellent "read" and a great reminder of God's unwavering love. Hope she will continue with this series, Chronicles of the Kings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the whole series

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bron
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the whole series and recommended it to many of my family and friends. Brought the Old Testament story alive, and encouraged me to read the story from the Bible as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it.

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyofReading
Location:Longview TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent series. It pulls you back in time to the days of the Kings of Judah and Israel and brings the scriptures to life. I recomment all five of these books highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful series and author!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terrybg
Location:Battle Ground, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author and series based on the Bible and very entertaining!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lewie
Location:Hastings, Minn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the fifth in the Chronicles of the King series. The series is the best I have ever read and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
pjgc
It brings to life the history and lives of the kings and people from the bible. it tells in a easy to read and visual the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Creech
I loved this series of king Hezekiah thru Manasseh and Joshua. There were 5 books written by Lynn Austin. My friend got me started with the first 3 and then after she had read the 4th one she gave it to me and I had to order the 5th to finish. It is a very good read on biblical characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
nickname
this has really gotten me into the Word, to make sure that what she is writing coincides with scripture it has been great, I had to get rid of some other books to make room for more of her books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Keenan
The series 'Chronicles of the King' should be made into a movie! I could not read this book quickly enough. This was exciting stuff. I almost went into a time of mourning when I realised this was the last book of the series!!Once again from the historical point of view the book (and the whole series) was fascinating and so accurate. The text and the characters were easy to engage with and were both thought provoking and challenging. I certainly read these parts of the Old Testament with new eyes! Thank you Lynn Austin. Please write some more...soon!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa Roche
If there was more than 5 stars for this book I would give it more! I stumbled across this series by accident and it is probably one of the best books and series (5 books in total) that I have read. It is informative, interesting, and is hard to put down. It is a little graphic at times but it is necessary for the writer to depict the era correctly. It gave me a new interest and respect for the Old Testament and how awesome and merciful God is. I have even encouraged my church to put the series in our church bookstore. Read the whole series and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sara Loganbill
Great book!! Inspiring as the rest of the series. I was sorry it was the last one. After reading the series all other books look bland. Filled with such faith. Really brought the Bible alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ella Davis
I thoroughly enjoyed this fifth book in the series. Lynn Austin really makes books of Chronicles and Kings come to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Among the Gods - eBook Chronicles of the Kings #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2006
Based on the life of King Mannasseh, chronicled in the Old Testament, as well as current archeological finds of an exact replica of Solomons temple on Elephantine Island located in the Nile near Egypt, Lynn Austin has masterfully intertwined history with both Biblical and fictional characters.Book five of the Chronicles of the Kings series, Among the Gods follows the physical, emotional, and spiritual struggles of Joshua as he impatiently waits on Yahweh to purge Judah of its evil king, Mannasseh. As the temple is defiled by false Gods, babies are being burned in sacrificial fires, and every type of depravity scourges the land, Joshua and Prince Amariah (the kings brother) followed by a host of Levites carrying the sacred Ark of the Covenant flee to Egypt for asylum.Joshua thinks that waiting on God to act is torturous, but understanding His ways results in being more difficult a task. Even with the enduring support and encouragement of the woman who loves him, Joshua spiritually fails God again and again. His relationship with his Heavenly Father isnt the only one that is daunting. The one hes attempting to build stone by weary stone with his rebellious, hate-filled adopted son, Nathan, is as well.When will Yahweh once again call his people out of Egypt to inhabit the sweet hills of Judah? Can Joshuas insatiable need to control be broken, and will he withstand the test of fatherly love despite all, so that Nathan might see Gods love through him?Lynn Austin has given lifefaults and allto her characters in a way rarely seen. I invite you to pick up Among the Gods and take a ride into Judah at one of its worst times. Feel the utter wickedness of the kingdom, experience the robe-tearing sadness of Gods people, and see Yahwehs justice and forgiveness as He sets the nation aright.I deem this work a superbly written piece of historical fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.