Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set

Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set

No more hours of boring, endless repetition - your kids will actually thank you for this interactive math curriculum! Each level has two student workbooks, but the teacher handbook is the main component of the program. All instruction is provided through one-on-one teacher instruction, which is the biggest difference between Horizons and the self-guided Lifepacs.

Another big focus in Horizons is hands-on learning using a variety of manipulatives, which can mostly be found around the house: pencils, pipe cleaners, play or real money, thread, a timer, clock, yardstick, etc.

Novice home-educators should not be intimidated by the amount of teacher involvement as it is carefully layed out in the beginning of each year's teacher handbook. The teacher handbook also provides a variety of teaching suggestions and supplemental activities for additional practice.

The concepts covered in Horizons 1 include:

  • Counting by 2's, 5's, 10's
  • Ordinal and Cardinal Numbers
  • Addition Facts
  • Place Value

This means that a solid foundation in number recognition and other kindergarten concepts is imperative.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Review 1 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorful, bite-size lessons

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
TXmommy
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using Horizons Math for two years now and my son told me he wanted to use it again next year! The lessons are short, colorful, and interesting. The workbook goes through new material in such a way that there's lots of practice to allow the child time to grasp a concept, but does it without being too repetative. (Lessons are mostly two pages long.) The teacher handbook is useful for tips on teaching and ideas for more hands-on learning. It's a bit lengthy and bulky for me, but others might like the thoroughness of it. Also, the extra practice sheets that can be copied and used are good, but might be best used only if extra practice is needed. All in all, Horizons math has been great and we will continue using it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great program

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
gnzmom
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is a very visual learner. The graphics in these books do a wonderful job keeping her attention. It also offers a good progression through the different mathmatical ideas. Slow but steady.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but could be better.

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:Whidbey Island, Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderfully bright and interactive workbook. My daughter appreciated the pictures and colors. Math is her least favorite subject and these dress-ups helped encourage her. However, I have some issues with this curriculum. For one thing, if you are to simply walk your child through the workbooks, which I did, he or she will not get enough concrete practice with addition/subtraction facts/families. My daughter is doing great in every other area, but the workbooks are very weak in developing this necessary knowledge. When they finally get around to asking her what 16-7 is she has no idea and cannot do this without counters to help. Be prepared as a teacher to incorporate a lot of drill on your own. The teacher's editions do tell you to review the fact families with the children, but do not provide you with the resources to do it. I love the range of material presented in these books and the built in daily review, but supplementary materials will be necessary to teach effectively, in my opinion.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use and prepare for

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof6
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gives plenty of extra hands on activites and easy ways to explain how to do the work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter loves this product.

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs Rooster
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves to do her work with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi T.
Location:NC
We used the Lifepac math from this publisher for my son in elementary school, however my daughter has ADHD and needed the extra illustrations, color, and repetition in Horizons. She loves it, which says a lot! Just enough work to do in one day - not too much, not too little. I did not have any issues with the teacher's edition (although that might be because I love math myself and don't rely heavily on it). Wonderful math program!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana
I totally agree that some improvement needs to be done with the Teacher's manual. I wished it explained the concepts more so that us teachers at home can explain "why" to our students. Also, I think the manipulatives should be offered as a add-on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Nabors
I love the Horizons Math program. This is my first year of homeschooling and I have two children in first grade. I like that they give you an evaluation guideline so that you know exactly where the kids should be before they even begin. I like that it has hands on learning. So far I am really enjoying using this curriculum!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Horizons Math, Grade 1, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Lee
The teachers manual is not as helpful as Saxon, however Horizon doesn't waste time with the calendar activity (which they do in both K and 1st. Why oh why? I skipped it both times) If Hozizons would have a teacher script like Saxon it would be great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.