Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2

Bethany House Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2

The Ebersols are raising their four daughters on a firm foundation of Plain traditions and carry that heritage into the future, safe and secure in their cloistered community. But Sadie, the oldest, has found little appeal in her Amish life compared to the lure of the world outside. When Sadie's traditional rumschpringe before embracing baptism goes terribly awry, sister Leah's life may also be forever altered by a secret pact.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Review 1 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL!

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
marepotsy
Location:Roseville, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend told me about this series. I read the first book and was totally hooked! Leah is the most wonderful person and so unselfish. I am now on the 4th book and they just get better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beverly Lewis is an excellent writer!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
craftymom
Location:Logansport, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! I have read several of this writer's books, and would recommend them highly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
This was such a heart-wrenching read! Yet I still want to read the rest of the books in the series. Beverly Lewis's books are incredibly readable and I finished this in two days. I was engrossed in the descriptions of the land and the food of Lancaster County and truly would like to visit it some day. As for the characters, I was taken in, yet again, by Abram's daughters. Sadie's grief and Leah's desire to settle down with her betrothed were just as engaging as in the last book and I was pleased to see that Hannah and Mary Ruth's characters were developed further. I'm looking forward to discovering whether Mary Ruth joins the Amish or leaves to become a teacher. As other reviewers have pointed out, many issues in this book could have been prevented if only the characters had communicated. But wouldn't this have been the situation a hundred or two years ago? In a sense, Amish novels are like historical novels. You have to suspend disblelief a little and accept that crisis often develop out of small problems that snowball out of control. As much as I felt sorry for Leah at the end of the book, I can only hope that Lewis has something better planned for her life that will appear in the final three books in this series. I have to say that this book was probably better than the first in the series as I felt that I got to know the characters more, so this is definitely a 5*.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Kondos
First time with this series. I love most everything Amish. It is hard for me to be negative towards these books. I like Wanda Brunstetter, Beverly Lewis. Tracie Peterson, Karen Kingsbury. and others a lot better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Arusiewicz
It was as if I was right there wittnessing everything going on in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pat Myers
I always love the amish books. This one is very good. It has a suspense from start to finish. I like this in a book. My problem is I don't put them down, I keep on reading to find out what is happening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Atwell
This book is GREAT. The suspense won't let you put it down. So well written, which I have found all of Beverly Lewis's books to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
JK
Beverly Lewis has written another winner! I love her books on the Amish!I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jenn Spell
It seems every time I read a Beverly Lewis book I think, "she can't get any better!" But I am always wrong. This is a wonderful book. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Linda
I hate to be negative, when everyone seems to love these books, and they are very hard to put down, but I sure would like something good to happen to at least one of the sisters. Two lives are ruined--what next?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Karen Horn
I just finished both of the books in the Abram's Daughters series in less than 36 hours. I couldn't put them down! They have hooked me and I can't wait to see what happens to their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2003
Customer Avatar
Meg
I loved this book and couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the next one! I highly recommend this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Emily
I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down! I suspected Sadie or Leah as being Lizzie's daughter, but am still wanting to see what happens to Sadie's baby. What about Jonas? Will he and Leah find each other again? I cannot wait for the next one to come out in May! Definitely recommend, don't forget to read The Covenant first! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Not classic Beverly Lewis, but still a very good book and a very good series. I look forward to reading THE SACRIFICE in spring---and I hope Leah doesn't end up with Jonas!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2003
Customer Avatar
Karen
I loved this book - and could not put it down either. I think the first title of Betrayal might have been more appropriate for this book, though. I never would have thought the sisters would have acted as they did. It shows that we must keep the communication lines open. Can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2003
Customer Avatar
Krystyna
Enjoyed this book as much as the first one, very informative and realistic characters as well. Just wish that Beverly Lewis would have the next book out sooner rather than waiting till May. But wait I must and wait I will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
Michelle
This book was great. I couldn't put it down. The way it ended has me very impatient for the next one. I just can't wait!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Grace
I just finished the first 2 books of Abram's Daughters. They were wonderful!!! I could not put them down. I just wish I did not have to wait for the next book to come out. But well worth the wait!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
kyra
I really liked this book; but then I like all of Beverly Lewis' books! All through book 1, I wondered if Sadie or Leah was Lizzie's daughter. Now Im wondering if Dr. Henry Schwartz won't be revealed as her father! I can't wait for the next book to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Betrayal, The - eBook Abram's Daughters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2003
Customer Avatar
LOIS
Another great book by Beverly Lewis. I enjoyed this one as much as the first, am eager to read the next one, and the next one...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.