Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Why Revival Tarries - eBook

Bethany House Why Revival Tarries - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
Review 1 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nothing more needs to be said

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Preacher
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes there are things you wished the speaker would have included in his message: but the reverse is true here. He spoke the truth concerning pastors and Christians in general. He said things we needed to hear not what we wanted to hear. God used him to blister my hide and as one preacher put it many years ago... if that doesn't set your heart on fire, your wood is wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Convicting

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes you need an author that will jolt you out of your spiritual lethargy. Leonard Ravenhill will never fail you at such a time. I'm thinking now of 2 of my favorite Ravenhill titles: "Why Revival Tarries" and "Sodom Had No Bible".
In "Why Revival Tarries" there are 20 chapters with a page of fantastic quotes at the beginning of each chapter. Imagine being a preacher as I am and being hit with:
"One does not need to be spiritual to preach, that is, to make and deliver sermons of homiletical perfection and exegetical exactitude...Preaching of the type mentioned affects men: prayer affects God. Preaching affects time; prayer affects eternity."
That is paragraph two of chapter one--See what I mean! Or how about this:
"No man is greater than his prayer life. The pastor who is not praying is playing; the people who are not praying are straying."
Yes he is eminently quotable, likes a rhyme, yet is never corny. I could provide many other great quotes, but I am far too slow a typist to reproduce the entire book here. The answer to the question of why revival tarries has much, I came to see, to do with me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wijnand de Ridder
Location:Ermelo, Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of the books that are good, because every time I read a chapter, it drives me to my knees to pray! It drives me to seek God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miranda
Location:Upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic book. Leonard pulls no punches and gets to the heart of the matter where the church has failed and what we should be doing far more of.....praying! Church is not a building, it's not where we go, it's who we are and what we are for God. Please read, it will affect you! God bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An easy read for lovers of spiritual meat

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terry Gaulding
Location:Arlington, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can lead a horse to water but you can not make him drink. You can also remove a horse from a burning barn only to find that same horse run back to the place from which he was removed. Mr. Ravenhill's book,"Why Revival Tarries" serves as a directional device for the christian that will honestly admit that he or she has not surrendered all yet with humility is willing to learn. The answer to the question,"Why Revival Tarries" is answered throughout these pages. Fellow christian you will soon realize that you have been lead to water....enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It was boring

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ninja4Him1
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Honestly it was the most boring Christian book I've ever read. I haven't read that many books, but it WAS boring. I thought that it was going to ignite a flame in me when I bought it but the only thing it did was make me sleepy. The reason this is, is because Ravenhill does not have the gift of teaching. The gift of evangelism or mercy, yes, I can definitely see. But he didn't teach in this book, he preached. He didn't quote or comment and many Bible verses. Ravenhill preached alot about our passion for God and that we need to have more passion for Him and for lost souls. But he never tells you how to attain that passion. He just tells you that you need to have it. If you really want a passion for God, this is how to get it: read and meditate on God's Word, pray, and trust Him when He allows you to go through the furnace of affliction to test you. Hardships come that you might become more holy as He is holy; and if you really believe this you will love God for it. If you would like to read a good book on prayer then read Charles Spurgeon, "The Power of Prayer in a Believer's Life."
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read, but gripping message!

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Macon, Ga
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a "today" word! It's a quick and enjoyable read. This book is great for anyone who is looking for something to stir up their Spirit, or to fuel their fire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Genie Smith
Wonderful book. But warning! If you don't want change, don't read because God will use this book to change your life! But definitely for the better, for now and eternity! Just think about when Mr. Ravenhill wrote this book and substitute the word "Islam" or "Muslim" every time you see "Communism" and you will find that it is very relevant and up-to-date. Even more so than then!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Boyer
This book, if you allow it to convict you and soften your heart, will change your life. If you have a true thirst for revival, Ravenhill will be a kindred brother to you. If you want to read accounts of revival, see also the John Weir book - the Ulster Awakening.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
BANJO ISAIAH O.
The book by Leonard Ravenhill - Why Revival Tarries is a book that its a must read for every believers, pastors, evangelist, soul-winners and every other Godly fearing person who have deep passion for souls.The book is to give the evangelist knowlegde to have a deep passion for lost souls, making the churches a fire brand and not cold.Above All, i recommend it for every one who wants to wear crowns on that day of glory.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael V. Baxter
My prayer life slowly dwindling into obscurity, regulated to 5 minute sessions here and there, I knew I had to do something to revive my prayer life. I searched various authors and decided to give this one a chance. Thank you God! Within 15 minutes, I was on my knees pleading with God to forgive me for my self-centeredness, my wife wondering what was wrong with me. If it doesn't do the same for you, you are either an Elijah in prayer or your heart is calloused. Either way, you still need to be pray. Very brief yet potent! The author truly has a gift writing physiologically. Thank you, Mr. Ravenhill. My hope is that this work will not return to you void.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Bauer
a simply outstanding read, clearly a life changing read, a classic amidst a time when we have taken the word of God and complicated the simple call of God with religion, omitting the simple call to prayer in the secret place and to wait upon the Lord for revival. All Christian leaders and ministers MUST read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robinson Anandakathir
Tis very nice book. Every believer should read this. Definitely it will change your Christian walk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bryan Purtle
A classic heart-breathing from a true man of God. His words thunder from "the great cloud of witnesses". Must reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paula Crawford
Still reading this book, but it is so piercing, very clarifying, hard truths, but can't be denied. We need more men like Leonard Ravenhill. I know they're out there by God's Grace
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
johnny dixon
This book will move you toward repentance and greater intimacy with God each time you read it. I have read it several time and the anointing in the message of this book continues to stir me to righteousness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Phillip Chan
Reading this book is like having an alter call every couple of chapters. Ravenhill's words are as A.W. Tozer said in the preface- sent from heaven at an impeccable time in a sleeping church. Read it- highly, highly, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jacob
This book is truly a wonderful revolution from God! Leonard Ravenhill was and is considered the greatest authority on revival of our time. Why Revival Tarries will truly challenge you to examine your relationship with God. It is a must read for any genuine Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Why Revival Tarries - eBook
This review is fromWhy Revival Tarries.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Doug
I have read this book several times over the years and it is great, unless you do not like getting your toes stomped on. In all honesty a great book that will challenge even the most surrendered Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.