Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2

Revell Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Review 1 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definite Page Turner!

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mysterychick
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
This book is a great sequel to the first story! The book seems to focus more on Jamie than Sam but it is just as enticing. There are only a couple of new main characters but still have Conner, Sam, Jamie, Dakota and others. There are a few BIG secrets revealed that will make you surprised and want to read the book even more. There are some parts that may make you feel happy, afraid, upset or even mad. This makes a great book to read also because it changes perspectives constantly to give you what the good and the bad people are feeling during the story. I read this book in 2 days and I can't wait to read the final book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When we were first introduced to Jamie in the first book, I was really excited to read her story.
The good: I loved the character of Jamie. She was well written and realistic. She was strong and vulnerable at the same time. The book was solidly written and definitely a page-turner.
The bad: I figured out who the bad guy was fairly early on,
but when a book is this well written it doesn't pose a problem for me.
Suspense, mystery, romance this book has it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good train read.

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Handydeb
Location:Foxboro, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have read the others in the series you will start to figure it out pretty quickly. But it is suspenseful, fast paced and enjoyable. I will read other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't put it down!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
kisarn
Location:Macon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book keeps you reading, can hardly put it down!!! Very suspenseful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Likeable but predictable.

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the first book in this series for only the reason that the main characters name was the same as mine. But I got hooked! I like detective stuff and mystery. The only thing that I didn't quite like in this book was that the characters seemed to be not so bright. I literally figured out who the bad guy was in the third of fourth chapter (I won't tell you, I'd spoil it), but they didn't figure it out until the second chapter before the end! I was banging my head against the wall everytime they talked to this guy, because I knew he was the one. Anyways, it had a good message about learning to move on and trust God even when traumatic stuff happens to you. I just like this series!! (:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific book - very exciting - highly recommend.

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
kmac
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book - I did not put it down until I finished it.
It was exciting but with strong emphasis on knowing God.
I have read book # 1 and have pre-ordered book # 3, which will be out in the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't Look Back

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
cervinlibrarian
Location:Dallas, Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! At least until the author added a twist to the story that I didn't buy. I did like the overall story however. I'm anxious to see what the author does in the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good suspense

Date:November 1, 2010
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was fast-paced and I didn’t want to put it down. It definitely kept my attention as far as the plot and action went. As far as the romance department it wasn’t great, but romance isn’t the primary category/direction for this series, so I wasn’t expecting it to be really romantic.
However, there were some things that bothered me. Such as the fact that I was able to figure out who the “bad guy” was almost as soon as they introduced the person into the story. (But, in the very end there was a twist that surprised me, and I liked that.) I don’t know if most people will be able to figure it out, or if it was just obvious to me.
There were also times when I was a little confused about small things. It seemed like some more information might have been introduced to make things clearer. But, these were small, scene related issues, not big things like the over all plot.
Sometimes, it was a little far-fetched when the characters would do something that seemed obviously stupid to me, and I’m not even a cop. SPOILERS>> Like when they said that the stalker was probably someone that Jamie worked with, but they never looked into that idea. Or when they thought that he was in the building and they left Jamie alone with only one agent to protect her! (If they thought that he was in the building, why would they go outside to look at his car rather than sending someone to check for them?) Little things like that made it less realistic to me. <<
I liked Jamie and how determined she was to move on from her past. She was a good heroine. I also liked the little twist about why her parents were acting strange. Wasn’t expecting that and how it played into the plot in the end.
In all, I didn’t dislike the book, but I didn’t love it. I think it will go over pretty well with fans of the Christian suspense genre, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good addition to a great series!

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Lynette Eason has a gift for suspense/thrillers with depth. I liked the first book in this series with Samantha in the driver's seat and then to see that she was bringing Samantha's sister, Jamie, back to star in this book - I was excited. I wasn't disappointed either! Jamie makes a great leading lady with her past history coming back to haunt her, literally. The man who tried to kill her 12 years ago is back to finish off the job when he finds out that she is the one that got away. I figured out early on who the killer was (I was pretty sure anyway) but even that was okay because Lynette pulls off a twist at the end that left me very satisfied. I believe the leading lady for book #3 was also introduced so I'm happy to say that I don't think this is the end of the series and I anxiously await the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Each Installment is Better!!!

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you ever read a book by an absolutely wonderful author and it feel utterly, fantastically real? I have....first with Lynette Eason's Too Close To Home and now with Don't Look Back. I love crime drama/romantic suspense, and the fact that Lynette Eason's are Christian ones, makes this (and book 1!) book that much better. Ms. Eason's words are gripping and her characters are loveable, and her action is instant, keeping me hooked until the end.
Don't Look Back picks up right where Too Close To Home left off. And like book 1, the adrenaline rush starts immediately! Jamie and Dakota's story is fast paced, full of page turning, edge of your seat suspense, that is absolutely amazing. I could literally feel Jamie's fear and hope as if it was my own. That blood pumping rush really kept me going in this book. Jamie's past was terribly horrific, but can she really over come it?
And sweet, sweet Dakota-bless his heart- who wouldn't fall in love with this FBI cowboy? I did.....way back in Too Close To Home, when we first met him. His past isn't so good either, but can he trust in Jamie enough to over come his? Can he turn to God and FULLY accept Him? Lynette Eason really made Dakota UHmazing! He totally gripped my heart and didn't leave until the end (and not really even then as I can still feel him and Jamie right there!)
This is better than book 1 by a thousand miles. Blood pumping, heart racing, page turning suspense and romance, filled with a message from God about not looking back into your past and letting go to move forward, this book will be forever on my book shelf. Definitely worth the 5 stars that I gave book 1, only I want to give it so many more! The only downfall to this novel....I have to wait for the next installment in the Women of Justice series! EEEKKK! I can't wait for that one! But, in the mean time, I will be recommending Ms. Eason's FANTABULOUS books to EVERYONE. They are so worth the read.
*This book was provided for review by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get your seatbelt on and get ready for a ride!!

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! WOW! WOW! I was blessed to read book 1, "Too Close To Home" and thought it was amazing! We never expect book 2 to be as good, but wow my friends, Lynette has hit one out of the park with book 2 "Don't Look Back!" This story takes off from the first book with Jamie Cash. Jamie is a forensic anthropologist. She has a deep passion for solving crimes and treats those before her with a depth of compassion that can only come from a heart that has been painfully hurt also. Her life has been horrific. She has been through things unimaginable at the hands of her, "Hero" or so he likes to be called. This sicko is still out there haunting and taunting her with murders of other girls he has in his sights. Thriller/suspense/romance this book has it all and more, yes more! It has faith! I could not put this book down once I picked it up. I let everything else go to finish this book. Once you pick it up it is impossible not to keep turning pages. So, get ready for a ride my friends! Again we see Samantha, Jamie's protective sister. We have Connor, who is Samantha's husband and Dakota, who has a heart for Jamie. They are all on the case to find this killer when just too many coincidences are happening around one murdered girl. There are connections and they are determined to end this case. To them it is more than a case, but bringing peace and comfort to life again. Jamie is learning to trust again and Dakota is learning to let others into his past that also carries much hurt. This is one to pass on to your friends. I cannot wait for the next book of Lynette Eason. She is in that ball park with Dee Henderson and is quickly becoming a favorite for me!!
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don’t buy this book thinking you’re going to read it over a few weeks’ time. It’s not that kind of book. This is one that you start and don’t put down. The book that you eat lunch with, the one you stir the spaghetti sauce with one hand while reading and you don’t take a shower until you’ve finished the last page.
This is book two of the Women of Justice series. Eason does a good job of weaving a sprinkle of information that you need without boring you with what happened in the previous book.
Book provided by Revell for review-as always the choice is up to me to give it a good review or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book!!

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Two of the Women of Justice Series, finds us once again in the story of Jamie Cash. Jamie has started living life again outside of her home, where she hid out for years after being brutalized and left for dead by a psychotic serial killer.
This story opens with two graves being found, Jamie is called in to examine as an anthropologist. She is horrified to find signs that these women were killed by the same man who tortured her. Is he back? Has "Hero" returned to finish what he started with her twelve years earlier? As the violence escalates against her, her friends and her family, Jamie questions whether she will make it through this time with her life.
Dakota, the detective working the case, and a friend, has fallen hard for Jamie and is determined that nothing will happen to her. But he cannot be with her twenty four hours a day and work the case too. Will he figure out who is doing this before she is harmed?
A fast paced, fast moving book. I loved this book, as much as I loved the first book in this series. Many of the same characters are in this story also, and you will feel as if you know these characters and will laugh, cry and hurt with them. Jamie's faith in God is amazing and she reaches out to others even in her time of crises and this truly makes the story awesome. 324 pages $14.99 US 5 stars.
I wanted to add, as a fan of forensic style shows this book did not bother me, but is not for the faint hearted or weak stomached. It does have some descriptions of scenes that might be found hard to read for some.
Available October 2010 from your favorite seller of Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
While I liked the first book in this series, Don't Look Back is a brilliant suspense. The heroine is someone you can't help but cheering for and understanding. What she has overcome is mind-boggling. And what she is headed into is terrifying. But through it all she has an inner strength and faith that resonated. And I loved her career path -- who wouldn't find a forensic anthropologist fascinating?!?! And the hero is richly drawn, at a different point in his faith journey, but completely a hero with no hopes of the heroine reciprocating his love...yet he's there anyway. Made me think of Christ as I read.And the suspense plot is great! I have to admit that I figured out who the killer was a little over halfway in, but the twist at the end was unanticipated. And even though I know who had done it, the pages flew as I tried to see if I was right. This book is rich with layers and a great read for those who like intense romantic suspense with a strong faith element.I received the book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Talk about a wild ride! Breathless does not even begin to describe this book!I wasnt really sure what to expect when I started DONT LOOK BACK, I certainly did not expect to be up late and awake early, hungry for the next turn and high stakes drama. This has to be hands down the fastest paced, nerve wracking and cant-put-it-down suspense book I think I have ever read. Jamie Cash is being stalked. What ensues is not a story for the faint of heart. I must admit I was a bit surprised at the physical description of some of the crime scenes, but I wouldnt go so far as to say it was gory, just very gripping! Chilling is definitely a word I would use to describe this book. What a villain! I felt every single emotion Jamie went through. My blood ran cold and my heart beat stilled. The anguish, the high stakes that constantly got higher, I admit there were times I wanted it all to slow down! I literally could not put this book down. It is a masterful romantic suspense. A satisfying story from beginning to end, I HIGHLY recommend it. THIS is what romantic suspense is all about. A must read! This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.Available October 2010 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Don't Look Back: A Novel - eBook Women of Justice Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Lonsdale
I just finished the 2nd in Lynette Easton's series, first book being Too Close to Home. Don't Look Back was even better which is a major compliment as first book was fantastic. I enjoy it so much that I finished the book in four days. Lynette is a great Christian writer, such inspirational stories. In fact after reading three of her books looking to get the rest she has written. Also I have corresponded with her via email and she is a very, very nice lady, friendly and helpful. Lynette you wrote a book that just keep my attention all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.