Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook

Moody Publishers A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook

Daily time with the Lord is essential for an authentic, abiding relationship with Him. But so often the details of our busy lives swallow this precious time. A Place of Quiet Rest teaches women how to have a rich, intimate daily devotional life. Featuring personal reflections from Elisabeth Elliot, Barbara Rainey, Kay Arthur, Joni Eareckson Tada, and others, you'll be encouraged to transform your quiet time from daily drudgery to immeasurable delight.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Review 1 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grandma Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A life changing book for me. Taught me the components of a real quiet time with God and the importance of having such a time on a daily basis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Clearwater, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Nancy knows her scripture. She has a gift for encouraging women to walk with Christ. I would recommend this to all women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very instructive, but cheaply made

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
MichelleTherese
Location:Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very throught-provoking book, even if some scare tactics are used within. I'm finding this book to be very helpful with encouraging me to find much more time for God in my day.
The information is fantastic but the writing style is a bit weak so I sometimes find myself struggling to stay focused. One thing that frustrates me about women authors of christian books is that they write too much about themselves.
It's not that I don't care about other people's experiences, it's just that this angle has been much over done and the "my personal story" has become very predictable: I sinned, I was living a life that wasn't focused on God, then God pulled me out of the darkness and into the light... and so forth. While this is enthralling during a time spent sharing personal testamonies, it tends to slow a book down and make it drag.
The physical makeup of the book: It seems that a lot of christian study books are made from very cheap materials which is a disapointment. This book has the same flimsy covers, the same rough, cheap paper. I'm not looking for gilt edges and leather binding but a wee bump up with regards to quality and durability wouldn't go amiss. Especially in a book written to encourage and motivate women. There's just something extra motivating and encouraging about a nice book in your hands.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew Fernandez
I agree with what the other reviewers have posted, I want to add that this book is not only for women, but for all who are hungry for a deeper walk with Christ. I am not familiar with Nancy Leigh DeMoss but it is easy to discern that much of what is in this book is from the Spirit who pours to the Spirit who longs. Praise God she wrote it down and didn't keep it for herself!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ana
If you want a book on how to 'do' devotions then this is NOT the book for you. However, if you want keen insight on how to develop your love relationship with the Lord in a practical but deep way, then this book is your ultimate. The first book on my bookshelf that I would recommend to anyone, whether you have been in the Lord for a few months, or many years (life myself). Choose to be blessed and get this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara
I have found this book to be a great help in helping to deepen my relationship with the Lord. It shows you not only how important this relationship is, but gives help in establishing this relationship. I recommend this book to anyone seeking a deeper relationship with our Creator.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Bebelheimer
This book has definitely opened my eyes to being consistent in my devotions. Great book I would highly recommend anybody to read it. It will encourage and uplift you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Place of Quiet Rest: Finding Intimacy with God Through a Daily Devotional Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diann
This is a great book to get you started in doing daily devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.