Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook

Moody Publishing Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook

Mary Chilton was one of the 102 passengers who stepped on board the Mayflower in the fall of 1620 for their long-awaited journey to the New World. This odd collection of "saints" and "Strangers" sailed bravely together into the unknown.

All Mary can think about is finally finding a home--a place to belong. As she experiences the adventure and hardship of the ocean voyage, the struggle of starting the new Plymouth colony, and the happiness of the first harvest festival she learns that home has a bigger meaning than she thought. Recommended for ages 8 to 12.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Review 1 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to learn about the Pilgrims

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventure. Persecution. Danger. Death. Victory. The true story of the Pilgrims, as fictionalized in Wendy Lawton's Almost Home, was all this and more. Mary Chilton (who was a really Puritan who came over on the Mayflower) takes the long journey to the New World with her parents, leaving behind several of her siblings and friends. She's not pleased to leave Holland, despite the fact that her father is stoned and injured by young Dutch boys. She hates being ripped away from home, yet she follows her parents obediently.
Lawton's novel covers all the important aspects of the Mayflower's crossing, from the leaky Speedwell, to a desperate attempt to keep the Mayflower afloat, to the rife, illness, and death that accompanied the Puritans on their Mayflower voyage. Mary Chilton witnesses all these things, and her parents are among the losses on board the ship.
Mary's journey continues to parallel the familiar Pilgrim tale. She eventually moves off the Mayflower and into a widow's home. She experiences both the cold, hungry winter and the prosperous summer. She witnesses her first Indians: Samoset and Squanto. She recognizes Squanto as an instrument of God - an Indian who experienced slavery only to learn about God in Spain - and learn English in England.
But what makes Almost Home better than a history book is the personal history Lawton imagines for her. Mary learns that home is not a place. Home is resting quietly in the hand of God. Through Mary's trials and triumphs she learns God is the "great weaver" of life, and there is nothing so wonderful as trusting in him.
What I Like: This book is an excellent way to teach children the basics of the Pilgrims, their perilous journey on the Mayflower, and their difficult life in the New World. I also appreciate that Lawton covers some of the newly-controversial topics regarding the Pilgrims. For example, she shows Mary and her friends fearful of the Indians, thinking they must be violent barbarians - but at the same time wondering if the could be "simple and pure." One friend concludes the truth about the Indians must be somewhere in the middle. Later, when a group of exploring Pilgrims take corn seeds from a vacant Indian camp, the author shows how some of the Puritans were troubled by the stealing and how some rationalized the theft as a provision from God. Most of all, I enjoyed Mary's journey from an infant-like Christian to a more mature Christian.
What I Dislike: My only complaint is that throughout the book some words are placed in italics. This makes me want to emphasize them as I read, but really the italics are only an indication the word is in a glossary in the back of the book. The glossary is a great idea, but I find the italics annoying.
Overall Rating: Excellent.
Kristina Seleshanko
Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jean Ann Williams
In "Almost Home: A Story Based On The Life Of The Mayflower's Mary Chilton," thirteen year-old Mary longs for a permanent home. Being a Separatist has been difficult for Mary and her family. They left England because of persecution, then ten years later Mary hears rumors of another uprooting. Mary is unsure of leaving, and wonders, Am I the only one to feel like a dandelion puff about to be blown to the wind?The heartaches begin when Mary Chilton and her parents leave family members behind. Living on the MayFlower is filled with hardships, beyond what she could ever imagine. In time, this helps Mary see that home is more than a place.Wendy Lawton's words sing on the page and carried to another Time and Place. Dialogue is easy and meaningful. The language grounded me in 1620. Unfamiliar words are italicized to look up in the glossary. Mrs. Lawton does an excellent job with documentation and an epilogue supporting the facts of Mary Chilton and her family, the Pilgrims, and the Mayflower voyage."Almost Home" will be a hit among young readers. The story will have them looking at maps to follow Mary Chilton's adventure on the Mayflower, and where she steps foot on land in the New World. The story entertains, satisfies the curiosity about our first American ancestors, and allows us to feel the high cost for freedom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Carrie Wood
Wendy Lawton's Daughters of Faith series gets better with each book.Once again, I met someone I'd not known and learned new information about a place and time in history I thought I knew.Almost Home transports you to the world of Mary Chilton and thrusts you along side her during the journeys from Leyden, Holland to England and onto the New World. You experience everything as Mary does as she encounters triumphs and trials along her journey to freedom--and home.Wendy Lawton's books are a parent or teacher's delight. New words, complete with a glossary, history, geography and more can be taught using these compelling books children will enjoy reading. Lessons taught from these books will be fun and challenging rather than a dreaded chore.A must have for every home, school and church library--and get the others, too, if you don't already have them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sarahmom
Oh, how I wished these books were around when I was a girl! This latest edition to the Daughters of the Faith series had me roaming around Holland and being tossed around in the Mayflower as I journeyed with young Mary Chilton. The rich descriptions and engaging story had me hooked from beginning to end as Mary edured the hardships of that difficult journey. This book is a must read for girls of all ages and would be a wonderful addition to any classroom or homeschool library. Cheers to Ms. Lawton for another wonderful story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2003
Customer Avatar
Terry Whalin
Its a universal truth that everyone longs to have a place to call home. Its the place where we feel most comfortable and can be ourselves. Thirteen-year-old Mary Chilton longs for the same stability in her life. Mary and her family are looking for a place to call home. In this highly readable and engaging book, Wendy Lawton takes the reader on the journey home through Marys viewpoint. One of the 102 passengers who traveled from England to the New World on the Mayflower, Mary experiences hardship and joy as she discovers the true meaning of home and family. The research and vivid details of this book will transport young readers yet teach them something about the early settlers to the New World called America. I recommend this book and encourage you to read it as well then you can recommend it to your friends. Its the perfect recommendation or gift for any libraryschool or church. W. Terry Whalin, author of 55 books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Carmen Leal
Wendy Lawton is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Her ability to weave historical fact and fiction into a book of such richness is a true gift. Wendy's writing is an outstanding example of show don't tell and she does just that phrase by phrase, page by page. I could smell the close quarters and feel the ocean billow. I was on that ship with Mary Chilton thanks to Wendy's incredible writing. As with the previous books in the Daughters of Faith series, Wendy has proven herself a master of dialogue. I also like the way she stretches her readers to learn more with the use of new words with definitions in the back. Now more than ever young readers need to understand that our country was founded on faith and courage. All of us would do well to remember the religious persecution, the dreams, the losses and everything else that went into making America. Like her other books, Wendy's research is evident on every page. I wish every school, every homeschooling parent and every church and public library would invest in the Daughters of Faith series. Thank you, Wendy, for your diligence and for sharing your faith through the story of Mary Chilton.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lee Warren
Lawton has done a fabulous job of bringing a familiar story about the Pilgrims on the Mayflower to life by putting us right there on the boat. We see their struggles, we see their sacrifice, and we see their faith in a God that always provides. Lawton tells the story through the eyes of a girl named Mary Chilton about the Pilgrims long and dangerous journey from Holland to Plymouth Rock. Mary is on a quest, like most of the Pilgrims to find a place to call home. Her family moves from Kent, England to Holland to escape the clutches of the Church of England-which by then had become like a branch of the English government. Officials from England followed the Pilgrims into Holland and consequently, Holland didnt feel like home to the Pilgrims either. They set sail for New England (America) to find a place where they will be free to worship God how they see fit and to have land of their own.As the Pilgrims struggle with homesickness, seasickness, scurvy and eventually pneumonia, they continue to hold out hope that America will be a place that they can call home. Textbooks tell us that over half the Pilgrims died before they were settled in America. Lawton makes it much more personal and real. As we follow Mary Chilton, we watch in sadness as both of her parents die. We see Mary hanging on to the words of her mother about the providence of God, even when they couldnt see him at work.Young women (and hopefully young men) will read this book for enjoyment, but they will come away with a better understanding of who the Pilgrims were and ultimately who we are as Americans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Wendy Lawton has done a wonderful job bringing the Pilgrims' story to life by helping us get to know young Mary Chilton. This charming story is historically acurate, inspiring, and was throughly enjoyed by me and my daughters. I highly recommend it and the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2003
Customer Avatar
Teresa Slack
Reading Wendy Lawton's Almost Home brought to mind everything I'd learned about the Mayflower's trip to the New World along with some interesting tidbits I forgot over the years or never knew in the first place. Like the fact that the Mayflower was forced to return to England twice after setting out for the New World to await repairs to its sister ship, only to be forced to make the trip alone after weeks of delays. Or that without Squanto, their fluent Indian friend and fellow believer in God, their odds of survival would have been greatly reduced.Almost Home is the true account of thirteen-year-old Mary Chilton, an actual passenger on the Mayflower, whose dream was to find a place where she belonged. While it is the third book in Mrs. Lawton's Daughters of the Faith series, it is the only one I've read. Now I look forward to getting my hands on the first two.I highly recommend Almost Home, an excellent and meticulously researched book. I believe it would be most enjoyed if shared aloud by the entire famly, as parents and young people alike will learn and be inspired by Mary's story of the courage and faith on which this country was founded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Almost Home: A Story Based on the Life of the Mayflower's Mary Chilton - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Marie DisBrow
Wendy Lawton brings history alive for young readers. "Almost Home" tells the story of the Mayflower's 1620 journey to the New World through the eyes of a 13-year-old girl. Religious persecution, the pain of leaving friends and relatives, and the excitement of unknown horizons combine to make Mary long for acceptance and a permanent home.Lawton's diligent research and attention to detail give a sense of reality to her settings and make her characters come to life on the page. In the opening chapters, her description of the Dutch town of Leyden was so effective that I mentally experienced the sights, sounds and smells of the place. Details of shipboard life were also colorful and true-to-life.Although written for young adults, I enjoyed this book immensely. After reading "Almost Home," I have a greater appreciation of my religious freedom and of the struggles and hardships our ancestors experienced in obtaining that freedom for us.This book would be an excellent gift or addition to any library. I am already looking forward to Wendy Lawton's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.