Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northfield Publishing Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook

Northfield Publishing Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook

What is anger? Where does it come from? And how can we handle it in a healthy, godly way? There is much confusion on the issue - especially for Christians. You'll find the answers to these questions and more in this handy guide. Includes quick takes on topics like responding to an angry person, "good" vs. "bad" anger, forgiving, and other important issues for you and your family. Includes discussion guide. Revised and updated edition of The Other Side of Love, by Dr. Gary Chapman.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Review 1 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Location:NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource for understanding and dealing properly with anger issues. It has been very helpful to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still reading through book...

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
John K
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I may be giving this book 5's all the way around but have not been able to complete it yet. So far it has been very informative and gives a different perspective on a not so understood subject. I will enjoy continuing to read this one!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A True Eye Opener

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristin21
Location:Fairmont, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I read "Anger: Handing a Powerul Emotion in a Healthy Way". It really opened my eyes to understanding anger and corrected a lot of my misconceptions (and the misconceptions of many Christians) about the powerful emotion. I must admit it's been life-changing for me. The points Gary Chapman makes in the book are all scripturally-based. Rather than pulling some verses from here and there to support his ideas, he takes biblical principles on dealing with anger and forgiveness and discusses practical ways to apply them to relationships.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent reading

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
darby
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book gives practical examples of what to do when struggling with "anger issues"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
tori
Location:greenacres, florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really like this book. i need to learn how to get angry in a godly way and appropriately i never was taught
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotions...ugh!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Minja
Location:Chesapeake, VA.
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many emotions and combinations of emotions that we can't bury, hide, or run away from. In my opinion, anger is the worst of them all. God instructed us to be "quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry" (James 1:19) but our human understanding is limited to the knowledge of why we have these emotions and how we can be proficient at submitting to His command conveyed in James 1:19. Therefore, I believe that God instilled these authors the gift to write about such things so that we may gain understanding, comply with His commandments, and thoroughly seek His wisdom to live a Christ-like life! Great book thus far! Would recommend to anyone who seeks to better understanding the gift of emotions...including anger.
Blessings,
Minja
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Tritt
This is such a good book we bought a dozen and are having a small group bible study with it. It has a section in the back for a study if you don't want to write your own and also some good pull out cards for references. We recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Peterson
This book goes into the problem of anger in an understandable way so that you can start working on controlling your anger. I felt it was a very positive book and very helpful to me in many ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anger: Handling a Powerful Emotion in a Healthy Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Dillon
This book gives the best description of anger, forgiveness, rebuking, and repentance that I have ever ran across and I have read lots of material on anger control. I wish every person would have a copy and be required to learn what Mr. Chapman has so excellently taught in the pages of this book. I plan on reading and rereading it many times until I can live it out. This book is a godsend from a godly man.Thank you Mr. Chapman.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.