Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook

Moody Publishing Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook

Everyone is a theologian of sorts. Theology simply means thinking about God and expressing those thoughts in some way. But sloppy theology is a problem. As Christians, our thoughts about God need to coincide with what He's said about Himself in the Bible.

Over the years Charles Ryrie's name has become synonymous with dispensational theology. With his clear understanding of the Scriptures and unpretentious writing style, Ryrie has written Basic Theology for every student of God's Word, from the devotional student to the seminary student. Featuring charts, definitions, and Scripture and subject indices, Basic Theology will give you a clear and comprehensive picture of Ryrie's approach to systematic theology. Its 94 chapters are arranged in outline style for easy reference. Considerable emphasis is given to explaining the dispensational view of the end times.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Review 1 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful study of God's Word.
For those who are ready go in-depth, to begin to study God's Word with a scholarly approach, this is a perfect book.
Most importantly, it reveres the Word of God - it does not lightly brush aside pages of the Bible as symbolic or as untrustworthy "because we know better now". Instead, it is faithful to every word of the Bible.
Highly recommend this book to every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Creg Gentry
Location:Kingwood,Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm still in the process of reading and studying this book but what I read so far has been good and I'm glad I purchased this book. I'm sure it will help as well as I study God's wors
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful book of basic theological issues

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken Hall
Location:Van Buren, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book begins with:
"Who Should Read Theology? Theology is for everyone. Indeed, everyone needs to be a theologian. In reality, everyone is a theologian - of one sort or another."
In the book Charles C. Ryrie does an excellent job presenting basic theological issues within the church that help firm knowledge and hopefully the faith of each reader.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great starter book

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tom D
Location:DeKalb County, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether you are just starting or more advanced this book will be useful for you. Does not use difficult words and includes a glossary. Would recommend for anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is so thorough yet very accessible to an average person!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must need for the wanta be.

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
No decalf Please
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains a wealth of information in a readable format. It can help people work out the basics of theology.
It is good for the amature or the well seasoned theolog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid! Thorough, Yet Concise and Enjoyable!

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andy Anderson
Location:Lynden, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been an education, reading through my Basic Theology by Dr. Ryrie. I have been a Christian for many years, and have read and studied quite a bit of Christian Literature, and have an extensive library. It would not be complete without this volume. Dr. Ryrie is sound in his teaching, and covers the topics thoroughly, yet not too wordy, and at the same time enjoyable. I created a reading plan, so that I read a portion every weekday, and that worked great alongside my daily bible reading. I have learned tremendously, and am better equipped to have an answer for others. I have purchased several copies and have given them away to new Christians and Christians that have been in the faith for some time. This book is in my fav 5 in equipping others. The other four are the Ryrie Study Bible NASB or ESV, Balancing the Christian Life by Ryrie, Nelson's Illustrated Bible Commentary, Unger's Bible Dictionary, all available through Christian Book. Invest in your Christian life by purchasing these wonderful resources, and devouring them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimmie Glenn
I loved it and ordered three more to give away to people I care about who are searching for a greater faith. Doctrine is essential for increasing faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Forrest Oney
Dr Ryrie presents in a clear, concise manner the basic truths of Biblical Christianity. It is very valuable to every believer desiring to know the basics of our faith. I would recommend the book to anyone as a basis for understanding in order to present our faith to others. Most importantly it is one of the best resources I have found to answer questions and objections regarding Biblical Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
For most Christians this book is adequate for the study of theology. It is important for every Christian to know what they believe and this book provides simple explanations the student or lay person needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael
I found Dr. Ryrie's book on Basic Theology to be a real goldmine of Scriptural Knowledge. I highly recommend this book for those who might shy away from Theology because of fearing it might be much to complicated to understand. I found the book to be a great tool in understanding Biblical Truths, while it touches on deep theological issues with uncomplicated easy to understand language. I definitely give it five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
Great book. This book is very easy to follow and well supported with scripture. Although I do not agree 100% with everything, this book greatly helped to better define what I already do, and don't believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr Thaddeus Irvine
An excellent textbook for the theologian, seminarian and the 'layman'. Clear, concise, precise and very detailed - but no too much so. An excellent gift the the Bible student or your pastor. Worth its weight in gold!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Lawrence
I cannot put this book down. It answers so many questions and fills in the gaps in my understanding of theology. Some of my friends are already purchasing this book after I've shown them my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Chisom
This is a great read with a writers style that has really under took the position of giving his readers insight of God. I like the arrangement of the chapters.It gives me basic understanding, then takes me higher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darrell Bendorf
This is one of the finest books in its class. Dr. Ryrie explains difficult doctinal concepts in clear, accurate language. The scope of the book is broad: every major area of theology is presented. This one of Dr. Ryrie's most significant contributions to the Church of Jesus Christ.Darrell Bendorf
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Timothy Sander
I'm often asked if I could recommend just one book for a Christian to purchase. This book is always my first recommendation for anyone who doesn't already have some background in Theological studies. It's that good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joanna
Very good and well written book! I'd recommend it to anyone who's wanting to delve deeper into spiritual truth and reach a better understanding of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2004
Customer Avatar
R.Greene
Ryrie has delivered a work that is absolutely astounding. I recently took a class in Systematic Theology and this was our textbook. I found a new interest in Theology due in part to the depth of information that is neither dry nor overly technical. False teaching is exposed and "rock solid" doctrine explored in a way to make anyone a more excited scholar of Systematic Theology. When this book is used with the Ryrie Study Bible you will become a sound theological force to be reckoned with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Basic Theology: A Popular Systematic Guide to Understanding Biblical Truth - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2003
Customer Avatar
Bob McCloud
A friend of mine told me not to read this book: it was too dry. THEY WERE WRONG! I guess I would be a "layperson", but I found reading this book really set me on the road to understand sound doctrine. Ryrie's writing doesn't confuse or leave the uninformed behind, and by the time your done reading this, you have a solid footing with which you can study Scripture from. Ryrie gives enough information, enough background on the topics to allow the reader to see the history of Christian Theology, and yet have a surer understanding of what it is you believe. All Christians are called to understand sound doctrine, and this is a good place to start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>