Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook

Moody Publishing Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook

Develop an attitude of gratitude and experience the joy of the Lord! Encouraging you to choose to live a life of humble thankfulness, DeMoss shows how embracing intentional gratefulness can free you from bitterness so you can serve Christ and others. Includes 30-day program of journaling, prayer, and activities. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Review 1 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book goes deep.

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew I wanted to read this book when I saw it recommended on a blog I love. The reason I knew I needed to read it was because the woman who runs this blog lives these truths out- she lives and breathes gratitude. She has challenging days. She has known trials. Yet when she speaks of a trial, it is always to praise God for another mercy in the middle of it. She finds God's Gracious hand in the middle of pain, she finds a beautiful sunset at the end of a long day. Her archives are filled with posts that are a breath of fresh air- and it is the lovely scent of gratitude that perfumes them. Reading her posts made me want to have what she has.
So, one day, when I had (very minor) dental surgery planned, and was inwardly complaining about it, I decided to try looking for the mercies. They were there.
1. My dentist has very gentle hands.
2. My dentist talks to you while he works.
3. I had a family member who got the whole day off from work to take me, and would be waiting in the waiting room the whole time.
4.The rest of the family got to stay home...that is a blessing!
5.The weather was excellent for a drive into town.
6. I would be missed while I was gone and told so many times when I got home.
7. I had a new book at home to read when I got back. :-) That is a special blessing!
And there is was...Gratitude welling up in me for things I never would have seen. And I knew I needed this book. And now I think we all need this book.
"Gratitude is a lifestyle. A hard fought, Grace infused Biblical lifestyle. And though there is a sense in which anyone can be thankful- for God has extended His common Grace to all- the true glory and the transforming power of gratitude are reserved for those who know and acknowledge the Giver of every good gift and who are recipients of His redeeming Grace. This book is about discovering what makes gratitude truly Christian. And how it makes life, even with all its bumps and bruises, a joy to behold."
God commands us to give thanks, to Glorify His name with Thanksgiving, to Praise Him. Our gratitude also blesses those who hear it and see it, because it points them to the One we are Thanking. Gratitude blesses us too...keeping us from sin. Nancy Leigh quotes D. James Kennedy, who says that an ungrateful person is one step away from meeting their needs in an illegitimate way. I agree. We want what we don't have and we don't have what we want. We envy those who get "it" first. And yet what are we missing that we need? We live in a fascinating world of blessings...and yet we miss the daily blessings showered upon us. Like Nancy says, we think our soap and tea come from the grocery instead of our Gracious God.
This book goes deep... this book talks about being grateful in affliction and terrible loss, like the death of Nancy Leigh's brother as a college student. He planned to be a missionary.
His family gathered to praise God after he died...not because it was easy and they felt like it, but because God was worthy. There is a reason it is called a sacrifice of praise, Nancy says. "Our hearts were breaking even as we tried expressing them. But what we were really saying was 'Lord, you've not given us the privilege of understanding why You would take this young life that was so devoted to You, and we may never understand your reasons this side of heaven. But LORD we trust you. We know you don't make mistakes. And what we really want even as we grieve the loss of son, brother and friend--more than anything else--we want you to be glorified.' And he has been."
That is awesome, the way a heart can praise God in the midst of pain like that.
This book is so full of truth, and the writing is beautiful.
Choosing Gratitude will be on my top books of the year list. I intend to do the thirty day devotional included over the next month, as part of transforming my mind to think in grateful terms. I was blessed to receive this book from Moody Publishing to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book goes deep.

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew I wanted to read this book when I saw it recommended on a blog I love. The reason I knew I needed to read it was because the woman who runs this blog lives these truths out- she lives and breathes gratitude. She has challenging days. She has known trials. Yet when she speaks of a trial, it is always to praise God for another mercy in the middle of it. She finds God's Gracious hand in the middle of pain, she finds a beautiful sunset at the end of a long day. Her archives are filled with posts that are a breath of fresh air- and it is the lovely scent of gratitude that perfumes them. Reading her posts made me want to have what she has.
So, one day, when I had (very minor) dental surgery planned, and was inwardly complaining about it, I decided to try looking for the mercies. They were there.
1. My dentist has very gentle hands.
2. My dentist talks to you while he works.
3. I had a family member who got the whole day off from work to take me, and would be waiting in the waiting room the whole time.
4.The rest of the family got to stay home...that is a blessing!
5.The weather was excellent for a drive into town.
6. I would be missed while I was gone and told so many times when I got home.
7. I had a new book at home to read when I got back. :-) That is a special blessing!
And there is was...Gratitude welling up in me for things I never would have seen. And I knew I needed this book. And now I think we all need this book.
"Gratitude is a lifestyle. A hard fought, Grace infused Biblical lifestyle. And though there is a sense in which anyone can be thankful- for God has extended His common Grace to all- the true glory and the transforming power of gratitude are reserved for those who know and acknowledge the Giver of every good gift and who are recipients of His redeeming Grace. This book is about discovering what makes gratitude truly Christian. And how it makes life, even with all its bumps and bruises, a joy to behold."
God commands us to give thanks, to Glorify His name with Thanksgiving, to Praise Him. Our gratitude also blesses those who hear it and see it, because it points them to the One we are Thanking. Gratitude blesses us too...keeping us from sin. Nancy Leigh quotes D. James Kennedy, who says that an ungrateful person is one step away from meeting their needs in an illegitimate way. I agree. We want what we don't have and we don't have what we want. We envy those who get "it" first. And yet what are we missing that we need? We live in a fascinating world of blessings...and yet we miss the daily blessings showered upon us. Like Nancy says, we think our soap and tea come from the grocery instead of our Gracious God.
This book goes deep... this book talks about being grateful in affliction and terrible loss, like the death of Nancy Leigh's brother as a college student. He planned to be a missionary.
His family gathered to praise God after he died...not because it was easy and they felt like it, but because God was worthy. There is a reason it is called a sacrifice of praise, Nancy says. "Our hearts were breaking even as we tried expressing them. But what we were really saying was 'Lord, you've not given us the privilege of understanding why You would take this young life that was so devoted to You, and we may never understand your reasons this side of heaven. But LORD we trust you. We know you don't make mistakes. And what we really want even as we grieve the loss of son, brother and friend--more than anything else--we want you to be glorified.' And he has been."
That is awesome, the way a heart can praise God in the midst of pain like that.
This book is so full of truth, and the writing is beautiful.
Choosing Gratitude will be on my top books of the year list. I intend to do the thirty day devotional included over the next month, as part of transforming my mind to think in grateful terms. I was blessed to receive this book from Moody Publishing to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing book

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Bath, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is truely a life changer. I cannot recommend it strongly enough! Please, please, please, buy this book. Truely embracing thankfulness and making it a lifestyle will draw you closer to God. It will change the way you see others, yourself, and life itself! The author provides sound teaching on the harm caused by ingratitude and the benefits of being thankful to God. She also provides much practical material for beginning the journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I choose gratitude!

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I won’t say that I've got this method of being thankful in all things down…BUT I will say I now understand the IMPORTANCE of being thankful in all things. I am striving every single day to be thankful and to be truly thankful. Being truly thankful means giving up the complaining, grumbling, mumbling, and all around negativeness AND seeing the beauty and the reasons to be grateful everyday. Nancy Leigh DeMoss encourages us to develop an attitude of gratitude. She reminds us that being thankful in ALL things (not just the good but the bad as well) is a part of God's Will for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A TOUGH BUT LIFE CHANGING READ!

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Leigh DeMoss
Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Leigh DeMoss is a heart changing read! Don’t be afraid to dive in with both feet as it will help point you to scripture on how to choose gratitude and lose the unthankful attitude.
Don’t believe for one moment that Nancy doesn’t struggle just like the rest of us. I appreciated her open and honest reflection on her own life struggle with ingratitude. But, God is greater than our heart! It says in 1 John 3:20-21 “For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things. Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God.” You can have confidence in knowing that even as we struggle in the area of being thankful in all circumstances; God knows everything and He is still in control.
Gratitude is a choice. We can either choose a heart full of ingratitude and become angry, bitter and cynical, or we can choose to be thankful, more loving, more caring and more thoughtful.
God Bless Your Day Today!
Kelly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I believe this book is a timely reminder to the Christian culture. The walk away message is that we are to be thankful, because God commands it. It is not just a nicety to add on to our lives.
Here are some snippets of the wisdom it contains.
"The most affluent, materially blessed people in the history of the world, we h ave become angry, bitter, proud and ungrateful. We have gotten this false sense of entitlement and the entirely unbiblical idea that God owes us ease and luxury."
"I have seen lack of gratitude manifest itself in fretting, complaining, and resenting- whether within the confines of my own thoughts or, worse yet, through venting those thoughts to others."
"Even in the most turbulent waters, choosing gratitude rescues me from myself and my runaway emotions. It buoys me to on the grace of God and keeps me from drowning in what otherwise would be my natural bent toward doubt, negativity, discouragement and anxiety. "
"Cultivating a thankful heart is a safeguard against becoming bitter, prickly and sour. A grateful child of God cant help but be a joyful, peaceful, radiant person. if you find discouragement, depression, fear or anxiety among your frequent companions, you may attribute them to difficult or painful circumstances that surround you. But I want to suggest that as challenging as your situation maybe, your frame of mind has less to do with your distressing circumstances than with your need to develop a thankful heart."
"{When I} continue to see evidence of God's work in my life and the lives of those around me, I am simply overwhelmed with thankfulness to Him."
" I have learned in every circumstance that comes my way, I can whine, or worship".
"Ungrateful people tend to hold tightly to their rights. And when others fail to perform the way they want or expect the to, they feel justified in making demands and retaliating emotionally."
" I have learned along the way that, anything that makes me need God is (ultimately in the truest sense) a blessing. Be it disappointment. Be it physical suffering. Be it mental or relational anguish."
I have to admit this was a slow read for me. I like the subject matter but I think Mrs. DeMoss's writing style just didn't mesh well with my reading style. Or maybe I have been blessed to have come across similar material already in other books that were able to really penetrate into my heart more. That said, I know many women will be blessed by this book!
I received this book from Moody Publishers in return for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
SarahH
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a lot of practical ways of to remember God's goodness and our gratitude in response to His Good News and grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thankyou!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
smwgpw
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent book by Nancy. I have been deeply challenged to show more gratitude!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent.

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Floyd Jones, Jr.
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book. It will be a book that I re-read and give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much needed book on Graditude and Thanks

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is the gratitude that flows out of your life as abundant as the grace that flows into your life? This question is on the back of this book, and it so rightfully sums up this book. Nancy DeMoss looks at what it means to be a grateful person and why it matters much deeper than we usually think about gratefulness.
Choosing Gratitude takes being grateful and thankful to a whole new level. As with all of Nancy Demoss’s books, this one gets right to the heart of the subject in the very beginning. There is so much chunked in this book I needed to read it slow, and go over the pages more than once to get the impact of what Nancy was teaching. One of the many precious topics to me was reading when and where we can be thankful. And as she points out it is anytime, morning and evening, three times a day, in the middle of the night and continually. And at the end of the section she writes: “So gratitude should be an every moment, every hour, every day, lifetime commitment. Will we ever run out of things to be thankful for? Not a chance……………. Wow, that gives me something to think about.
And as a bonus with this book, you get a 30 day devotion in the back of the book that you can read anytime during the year.
I love Nancy Leigh Demoss’s books and teachings. And this book was just as awesome as her others that I have read. To me, she can say more in one chapter than many can say in an entire book. Her love for the Lord and commitment to following Him is very evident in her writings and teachings. I have been blessed to hear her teach in person, and her live teachings are covered in the love of God and His Word just as her books are.
This is a book that I recommend for all ladies for personal reading and studying or Bible Study groups. Just remember to have your notebooks and pens ready to take notes as you read and study, and enjoying what Nancy has to teach you!
I want to thank Moody Publishers for providing this book for me to read and review. The opinions in this review are mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I did not like using my pc to read it

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Hampstead, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to try it on my pc and I did not like it. The screen was not condusive to restful reading. I ended up ordering a regular book. I have since ordered an e-reader which is supposed to be easier on the eyes. I have not tried it yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good study of true Biblical gratitude

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a great 9 week study course for women highlighting what true Biblcal gratitude is all about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Geri26
Location:La Mirada, CA
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book took me totally by surprise! I never expected to learn gratitude in such a deep way. We tend to think of being grateful when good things happen or when we receive gifts. But Christian gratitude is so much more because God is so much more. True thankfulness really is a guide to joy, if you can learn to be thankful for the good in your life and boy is there a lot, and be thankful for the trials as well, then there is no where else to go except upward. This book goes a step forward and 30 day challenge is included to put what you learned to the test... this book is not just a good read, it is a new lease on your life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Craw
We have a ladies' study of about 18 women reading this book. We are two weeks into it and are having great discussion as well as being challenged by the way DeMoss presents the material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Borsman
This is a must read for everyone. I never thought I needed to focus on gratitude but as Miss DeMoss explains, it is a key to the other things we struggle with most. She uses Scripture to back up what she is saying and does not pull any punches. If you want a book to change your life or you feel like you are always struggling with something, or you feel your life is stagnant you must read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Tennes
This is about one of the best books I have ever read. I don't recommend too many books but this one I believe is a must read for all Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Bartsch
I am reading through this book with two other women friends. We are praying for one another that we will indeed become women of gratitude. I rated this book 5 star because I feel the author has done an exceptional job of thoroughly discussing the issue of gratitude from what the Bible says. I also like the 30 day devotional guide which helps me put into practice what I am learning. This is not a quick fix type book, rather it is a discipline that is often overlooked or thought as unimportant to developing Christian maturity. After reading the book, I was convinced that gratitude is NOT optional. No matter how difficult it is, truly it is the journey to lasting joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Wiggins
Are you more prone to whine or to worship? Do you allow pain to drive you closer to the Father or does it make you want to withdraw from His grace and fellowship? Those are a couple of questions NLD wants to consider in this book. She elevates gratitude to the status of spiritual discipline. She is convinced that Christians ought to be the most expressive people when it comes to gratitude. Or, as she calls it, "going gratitudinal." Following a concise explanation of God's gospel, she writes, "Undeniable guilt, plus undeserved grace, should equal unbridled gratitude." But this unbridled gratitude must be chosen, cultivated and practiced. DeMoss explains how she goes to God's word to renew her mind, set her heart, and train her tongue. DeMoss' compassion really comes through as she writes to the woman in pain, to the woman whose expression of gratitude will be sacrificial. DeMoss takes us to God's word to provide the language we need to express gratitude, whether it's gratitude for pleasure or pain.DeMoss does not want this to be another good book that we forget about as soon as we're done reading it. She provides a 30-Day Devotional Guide to help us begin practicing gratitude. Each reading includes a scripture passage, a meditation that further discusses the content of the book, and practical exercises to help us become more thankful people. One aspect of Choosing Gratitude that I appreciate most is DeMoss' transparency. Choosing gratitude has not always been an easy choice for DeMoss; she shares her struggle with obedience in this area, how she sought accountability, and the things she does to help her maintain an attitude of gratitude to God in all circumstances. Spending time with a woman with that kind of spiritual fortitude is always inspiring to me. I highly recommend this book for its insight and spiritual challenge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Bishop
Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy goes so far beyond what we expect from the title. We open it looking for just another book about being grateful, but it's so much more.The book doesn't teach us to be thankful for the blessings of life, but to give thanks in all things... the hard-to-handle tragedies that all of us face at times. And it's not about saying "I'm thankful that you're teaching me through this, Lord," but "I'm thankful for this..." That's a big difference!The author shows us how tightly woven the theme of gratitude and giving thanks in all things is with the gospel, and how deeply that is tied to our joy. And who doesn't want the Lord's joy?I've always considered myself a grateful person, but this book has shown me how badly I've missed the mark. I can only pray I'll do better. And hope others find the help they need from its pages as I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Montgomery
This is a great book that helps you to realize everything you should be grateful for. The 30 day Devotional Guide really helps you to make gratefulness a lifestyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>