Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD

Word Entertainment Inc Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD

Your favorite Veggie friends teach a lesson on perseverance based on Hebrews 10:36 in this zany tale! Larry the Cucumber stars as the "Italian Scallion," a joking pro wrestler who has a knack of not actually finishing what he starts. But Larry finds that it's no laughing matter when he lands in the ring with Apollo Gourd. Can he stick with it long enough to finish the match? Will he learn that when you finish what you start, you always come out a winner? How does a cucumber look in wrestling gear, anyway?

Don't miss the animated VeggieTales short "Going Up." It follows the slapstick adventures of the Three Veggie Stooges as they try to deliver a very grand piano to a mansion on the top of a very big hill! Also, Larry sings "School House Polka," a funatically phonetical silly song with Larry! Running time: Approximately 50 minutes.

Bonus Features:

  • Behind the scenes video
  • Trivia Game
  • Persistence Maze with random setbacks
  • Director's Cut of Going Up!
  • Audio commentary by Mike Nawrocki (Larry) and David Pitts, producer
  • Concept Art Gallery
  • Veggie Karaoke (Schoolhouse Polka)
  • How to Draw Potato
  • How to Draw Maewyn
  • Family Fun Activity
  • How to make a sock puppet video
  • Interactive Storybook
  • Progression Reel
  • Easter Eggs
  • DVD-ROM fun (coloring pages, script, links to Big Idea websites)

Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Review 1 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was an odd-sounding title for a movie lol. Sumos and the opera don't really sound like something which go together that well, it reminds me of a funny card combo for Apples To Apples, lol; although they might have them in Japanese operas for all I know. Nevertheless I usually like what VeggieTales has to offer and wanted to watch this as I was donating some plasma. If the idea of sumos singing sounds strange to you, don't worry that isn't the entire film I assure you :P. This VeggieTales DVD consisted of three featurettes.
In Sumo of the Opera, there were three featurettes. The first was a somewhat silent movie about three workers who are trying to get a piano up a hill. The second is the story of Saint Patrick and why Saint Patrick's Day was originally founded; by the way it has nothing to do with alcohol! The main and final, story is about a sumo wrestler called The Italian Scallion who has to fight the champion Apollo for a shot at the title and a bicycle.
I thought it was kind of cute the three workers in the first featurette resembled the Three Stooges. I also thought the silly polka song they had before the story of Saint Patrick was pretty funny. The Saint Patrick story was quite educational, I didn't know much about him and thought that was actually the best part of this DVD. Even though I liked the Saint Patrick tale best, I did like the Sumo tale too :). The scriptural passage they had featured for this presentation was great, although most of the translations I read used the word "endurance" instead of the word Perseverance; appropriate still since you can't persevere without having endurance right? Overall not a bad film, although the Rocky puns were a bit cheesy, the message and entertainment were still top notch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DVD Review

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jason Trenchard
Location:Phila
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't go wrong with a Veggie Tells DVD. I like opera but not sumo wrestling; however, I enjoyed this DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Daughter Loves It!

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Travis
Location:Milton, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 21 month old, because she LOVES Veggies. She watches this over and over again. She thinks "Larry Cumber" is "Funny". Great series, would recommend any movies in the Veggie Tales series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
My 3 year old grand-daughter enjoyed this DVD very much. She watched it twice when she stayed overnight recently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley Irving
Great quality, as all the Veggie Tales are. Not my favorite one of the series, but entertaining and full pf great values!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Scheck
This is a must for VeggieTales fans and their libraries of movies. Lots in here from Legends of the Sock drawer, so if you liked that one you'll love this one. Lots of shorts and music, a favorite with out 2 yr old. Husband loves the 'rocky remake' on the Sumo skit. Highly recommended, only wish it were a tad longer :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heidi Petry
Wonderfully funny with a good message! Both parents and kids alike will enjoy this movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Willieann Taylor
purchased this DVD for my two and half old grandson. He love the veggie tales movies and after this one end, he shouts play it again grandmom. It will be a great tool for teaching and encourageing all age children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon Cook
My 3 1/3 year old daughter can't get enough of Veggie Tales, and this is her current favorite. My husband and I really appreciated the realism in the story, in that, although Larry the Cucumber perseveres, he doesn't win the match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
sunnie c
Thoroughly enjoyed this Veggie Tales and would recommend it to anyone. It is the funniest of the Veggie espisodes or movies I have seen. Further, the price made this a deal too good to pass up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Nungaray
I use this DVD for the St. Patrick portion at the beginning. It is a great simple way for the children to get out of the leprechaun mode and into sharing God's work like St. Patrick did. It doesn't hurt that it is funny in true Veggi style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Em
Overall, this was a pretty amusing installment of VeggieTales, but it juggled so many references that it sometimes detracted from the real message. If you aren't familiar with the references, like the music from Mikado, some of it just comes off as a little odd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Traci
This is really disappointing. The silent story is funny to me, but failed to hold my son's attention, and the St. Patrick story lost both of us. The Sumo story was not nearly up to the standard of the other Veggie Tales movies. I agree with the reviewer that said to get "A Snoodle's Tale" instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Melissa
I was sorely disappointed by this episode. I was so excited to get the episode that was a parody of my husband's favorite movie, Rocky. The first short is a silent parody of the Three Stooges and the second short is a human stick figure story of Saint Patrick. My 14 month old son is usually mesmerized by Veggie Tales (and nothing else), but won't even watch this episode. Even the Sumo story is pretty lame and uninteresting, with weird musical numbers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Maddi
It was OK...I guess. I did not like the ANY of the stories!! I LOVED the Schoolhouse Polka though!! The games on the dvd were pretty good too. But, overall, it was pretty bad. The old VeggieTales were a LOT better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Sarah
My whole family loves Veggie Tales, since my kids were younger until now that my son is 17, he still love to sing silly songs. The Sumo of the Opera is kind of different from the usual Veggie Tales especially the silent movie (that was a lot of fun, the piano must go up!), that was really hilarious and the story of St. Patrick, the cartooning is not 3-D but it was made so interesting. We love the games, karaoke for silly songs, etc. God bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sumo of the Opera, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2004
Customer Avatar
HEATHER
This was very disappointing. The first story was really good, but the silly song & last two stories (including the sumo)was pretty dumb. Our toddler, who requests to watch Veggie Tales daily, wasn't even interested in watching the last half of the video. Buy the Snoodles Tale instead of this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.