Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook

Moody Publishing Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Review 1 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Indepth and Scholarly

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:Louisville, Ky
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I really got acquainted with Dr. MacArthur I stopped in a bookstore and found the commentaries on Hebrews and 1 Corinthians. As a result I ended up reading the Hebrews volume as a personal supplementary material to a college class. While i began to read I fell in love with how John pulled out Greek words and showed how they added so much color to the text. This is one of the best thing about John's commentaries especially Hebrews, He brings it to life through the original language and makes it all applicable for the common reader. As a preacher, even though I disagree with his Calvinistic slant, he offers alot of key insights into the scriptures! Great material! I own the whole set, i'm only 26, He is solid, other than his calvinism!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Commentary is excellent

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
DanJ
Location:Corona
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Commentary is excellent, but in the ebook the Greek is garbled, with individual words spread over 2-3 lines . For this one I wish I had bought the traditional book. Hope you can clean up the ebooks soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dan Nolan- Sr.
Still collecting John MacArthurs commentaries one volume at a time. Much like he preaches, one verse at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gary
John MacArthur does an excellent job in helping our Jewish friends and Christians alike understand the connection between the old & new testament, old & new covenant, old & new priesthood and how the old covenant could only cover-up sin but the new washes it away completely. MacArthur explains hard to understand verses and unlocks the richness of God's Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cordell Hines
This was the first commentary on Hebrews I ever bought. Nevertheless, I can not rate it to high. John MacArthur puts his dogma and doctrine ahead of Scripture with a ridiculous veiw that the writer of Hebrews is writing to 3 differnt audiences. If you are Calvinistic choose Pink. I like Bruce, Lane, Ellingworth and Attridge.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Curt Sweeney
This is a great commentary! I learned a lot from reading it. I love how John Macarthur doesn't try to impress his readers by using really big fancy words. He puts it simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
John
I am very grateful to MacArthur for a lot of the insights he has given me into the Bible and Christianity in general. However, this commentary is one of the more egregious examples of forcing theology into a text by making assumptions about the historical situation that are not at all verifiable. To try and keep the doctrine of eternal security by supposing that there are three different audiences addressed by the writer seems to me, very irresponsible Bible scholarship. I am not trying to argue the falsity of the eternal security doctrine, but to try and force that doctrine into Hebrews by making unwarranted assumptions about the audience makes bad sense of the text.I do give this two stars however because it was helpful to get his take on the book while I was teaching Hebrews. It is always good to have a wide variety of views on any given subject.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2005
THE BEST. Excellent. I highly recommend.As with all of Dr. John Macarthurs works, this is packed with life changing Biblical TRUTHS, wisdom and sound doctrine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2004
Dr. MacArthur, president of The Master's Seminary provides us with a great commentary that seeks to bring the meaning of the original text to our understanding. Dr. MacArthur doesn't give us a theological, homiletical, or expositional commentary but he seeks to combine all these into these NT commentaries. I would highly recommend these commentaries to all series students of the Bible (John 8:31-32). You will find them full of nuggets of gold (Psalm 19:7-11).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hebrews: The MacArthur New Testament Commentary - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
brian lambright
A great commentary. Very easy to read and understand. John really makes these verses come to life with clear revelation of the true meaning of each verse. A must read for sound foundational doctrine for new bible students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.