Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook

Moody Publishing Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook

Scientific research shows how sexual activity releases brain chemicals that trigger emotional bonding and a powerful desire to repeat the activity. Today's young adults have discovered that "hooking up" is easy and addictive. Offering a Christian "philosophy of sexuality," Drs. McIlhaney and Bush help parents and singles understand why "safe sex" isn't safe at all. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Review 1 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

essential to understanding the sexual promiscuity

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bren
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I volunteer in a Pro-Life crisis pregnancy center and try to read any material that might help me understand the current views on sexual promiscuity and why it is so rampant. This book gives me greater insight.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Allegan, MI
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book should be on the must read list of every church youth leader!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terrie
Location:windsor, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish someone told me this information when I was a young adult, it would have saved me from many heartbreaks growing up. Had no clue the effect of multiple casual partners would have on you years later. The fact and the information these doctors find should be taught to our children in the classroom and of course in the home. I will be reading this book with my kids when they are of age.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

essential for our children and us

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
DrMom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book with essential information for parents, teens, educators, and medical professionals. People I mention it to are concerned or even hungry for the information and I have given 6 of these books away. This information must get out.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Hayes
I work with young girls, most already have children. When I read this book and how sex can destroy those young brains, I was on fire with passion to reach out to them. If you work with youth, you need to read this book. We need to help our young children learn to stop destroying what God meant to be beautiful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Toks
all parents (especially of teenagers) should read this book. and then give it to their teenagers to read! very informative without being aggressive. loved it and i'm recommending it for our church book table. really great book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Klabunde
I am impressed with the informative, yet 'easy-to-read' content of this important research. I had several "aha" moments as I digested the meaning of the latest brain research. I plan to share this book with my children at the appropriate time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Lee
Seems like it's what the majority of people are doing - all ages! But this book clearly shows how and why such bonding occurs when a couple has sex. It's a good thing to hold a couple together, and by the way we were designed to have one mate. But when we have multiple relationships, it damages us for very clear and surprising reasons!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Allen
This is a must read for parents and singles. God made sex a wonderful gift to strengthen marriage but the Devil has used it to destroy lives. Find out how it is supposed to strengthen bonds and how it can effect the minds of those who abuse it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.