Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook

Moody Publishers Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook

We are like Eve. We have all experienced defeats and failures, trouble and turmoil. We have all experienced a selfish heart, a shrewish spirit, anger, envy and bitterness. And we ache to do things over, to have lives of harmony and peace. In Lies Women Believe, Nancy Leigh DeMoss exposes those areas of deception most commonly believed by Christian women:
  • Lies about themselves: I should not have to live with unfulfilled longings.
  • Lies about sin: I cannot walk in consistent victory over sin.
  • Lies about their marriage: If I submit to my husband, I will be miserable.
  • Lies about their emotions: I can't control my emotions.
  • Lies about their circumstances: I just can't take any more.
She sheds light on how we can be delivered from bondage and set free to walk in God's grace, forgiveness, and abundant life. Lies Women Believe offers the most effective weapon to counter and overcome Satan's deceptions---God's truth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Review 1 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Both The book & compansion guide are excellent.

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jayne
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this material for a ladies Sunday School Class and it is awesome. The information contained in the book is true and revelent to the culture that we live in today. We as women are pulled in every direction and we need to have the TRUTH in front of us at all times. God's Word is Truth and this book points us in that direction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical prospective

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
nannabear
Location:Richmond, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this book as a study in our church ladies group. It is very practical in daily walk with God. Biblically sound perspective allows me to relate to scripture lessons. I am planning to order her book, Lies Girls Believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruehl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good book with biblical truth that women need to hear
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than expected

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an eye opener to the beliefs we have from childhood that are lies from the enemy. I will definitely be re-reading the book AND studying it in depth. It's a life changer! A must read for all women!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

sort of hit the spot

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karol
Location:Colimbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good read if you are struggling with life. I lost interest when the author started talking about married life. I am single and gay. But for the most part the first two chapters got me.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Of all the many Bible studies that I have done, this was most disappointing. Ms. DeMoss, who has never married or had children, "counsels" women through this study. She states that couples who choose birth-control may be playing into the Enemy's hand . . . . . . The study wasn't really a Bible study - more a list of do's and dont's [according to Ms. DeMoss]. It was very disappointing.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TJegelhoff
Location:Richland, WA.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my wife for our wedding anniversary. She said she is enjoying it very much.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Liberal, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe it will be beneficial to the woman in my life.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Krisy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This is a really good book. This is a must-read for any women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Garry L. Ostrander
Location:Manchester, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant and very thought provoking study....our church women's group is doing this study together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sammy2006
Location:Salix, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book this summer looking for a study for my women's group this fall. I feel this is something that will spark some interest and discussion around the table.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Blessing!

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherbelle
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book last year and it was sooo good! I bought this book for a friend who is going through many trials in her life and is away from the Lord. She was excited when she received it and I trust it will be a blessing to her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nemo
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Truthful and full of insights for the christian woman. Have recommended to friends and family members!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Regretfully, I would not recommend.

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Petra
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DeMoss's book contains many truths, in fact, I would endorse almost all of it. Unfortunately, her unbiblical views on determining the size of a family, women working outside the home, and her shocking lack of biblical knowledge around the issues of submission and divorce far outweigh the good that she writes. For these reasons, not only would I not recommend it, I would feel compelled to dissuade an undiscerning believer from reading it.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caam
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not yet finished reading this book but so far have found it to be just what I needed. Today's society only tries to confirm these lies that women have been told for years. It is time we break free from those lies and become the women that God intended for us to be. I recommend every woman to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Has great ways to make you think

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy V
Location:Desert Hot Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went through the book and have found some wonderful insights, I am passiing on to my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an intruiging study

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ms V
Location:Cayman Islands
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book for individual or group study. To those for whom some of these lies are new or raises questions, search the scriptures; make it a habit not to accept any authority other than the Word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenge!

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of 4
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book stirs with the hidden beliefs of all women as well as bugs their moral conscience and challenges you to get in God's Word to see if you believe the authors ideals of scripture. Awesome group study for an intimate group of women!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacquie
Location:Greensburg, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure how I was going to get through the entire book about all the lies. I was pleasantly surprised how each section touched my heart and helped me renew my committment to the Lord in so many areas! Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every woman single and married should read.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
versetel
Location:queens, ny
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my women's group, this book was perfect. It touched every subject needed and crossed in a women's mind. You feel like you were there when Eve wrote. You get a good sense of what happened. A must have!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.