Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RiverRain Productions Gone, DVD

RiverRain Productions Gone, DVD

Two tenacious lawyers travel to Manila to defend a multinational corporation. Instead, they meet their fate---and God---during Earth's final days. An edge-of-your-seat thriller with a twist ending! 80 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
2.578 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
19
7 out of 1258%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gone, DVD
Review 1 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a bad find for the price

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Girl Friday
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I saw this movie last night for the first time. I agree with other posters in that it was a bit confusing to follow (esp. at the start - perhaps it was edited too much?). The very end of the movie, while I admit it was a little jarring (cleverly done, though), had dialogue leading up to it that didn't make sense considering the who character was and the worldly life he supposedly led.
There were a few instances where you could tell the re-recording of some of the lines or adding lines in sound bites (you'd get that flat studio sound and then the ambient sounds would come back in and their lips would move again) - that and a few continuity errors were a little distracting.
The rapture scene was pretty decent in special effects but it isn't high tech for today's standards - but it was 10 years ago when it was released. However, I thought the mark of the beast was a gang tattoo because it wasn't clearly readable, looked like graffitti, and it was in the wrong place.
Kudos on their noble effort, though. I would have liked to have seen the Antichrist come in front and center and take over the world but then again, this film was not a line by line telling of the biblical account. And sometimes it's good to see that every now and then.
As to the acting, I didn't think it was bad. Actors create their characters and bring them to life (that was very well done). I thought the worldliness / excess lifestyle was wonderfully portrayed and it was refreshing to hear convincing displays of arrogance, pride, and just flat out rudeness (which are sometimes soft-treaded or eliminated in most Christian films). The actors spoke what they were given by the writers (could be better in places) so don't be too hard on them. As to a soundtrack - can a Christian movie actually has a decent soundtrack? I thought this one did. Nice job on that.
All in all, not a bad find for the price, and I would recommend it to friends (in fact, I'm gifting a copy) if anything to help give this prod. company a bigger budget for their next project.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intelligent film

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with the reviewers here who caught the intelligence in this film. As one of the characters stated in the film there are a few people ruling the entire continent of dumbed down people. That is a profound statement full of hidden messages for which if the makers of the film had elaborated on that alone then the film would not have been allowed to be produced at all.
This film made many good points. If you want to follow Jesus then you have to stop making God your social activity, money your god, and get the heck out of these apostate churches. Start reading the KJV and get saved. Going to church will no more make a person a Christian than sitting in a garage will make you a car. Churches are very dangerous places to be today. As if the false doctrines were not enough of a problem, the occult activities and other abominable goings on should make a true follower of Christ RUN RUN RUN!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A fair movie at best!

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
EMAN
Location:Cleveland, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Story line weak and over dramatic. Background noise was constant throughout the film and served as an annoying distraction to the plot and theme. Would recommend this movie unless you want to learn what NOT to do when making a movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

first DVD I have ever thrown in trash

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
marpar
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad plot, bad acting, and in the Philippines? This was so bad I immediately threw it in the trash after watching it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exelent movie

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ilovejesus
Location:Palmdale, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good movie, the message and events that take place are very accurate to the bible and what god tells us will happen in the future
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intelligent film

Date:December 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margaret Kelso
Location:Chicago, IL
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film goes above a lot of people's head which I understand. It's really for people who understand the Rapture. I loved this film - it's like the others say: Super mysterious, but Christ-redeeming. It's a must-see for any Believer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Interesting but poor acting

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terryh
Location:Midland, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We found it interesting but certainly didn't leave us on the edge of our seat. The acting was mediocore. I would not recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was not what I expected

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Medaris
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was not the most professionally made movie but content was very relevant to what is happening today and could be happening soon. I enjoyed this movie and it definitely ended differently than I thought it would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting Movie

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
lcross11
Location:Three Rivers, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very intrigued by end times/rapture movies and books and this was one that I will add to my library. It was pretty interesting, not what I expected, and definitely a bit different than the others I have seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor acting, story blah

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
acting poor, the story was poorly written. that day is really going to be unbelievable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fred
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS IS THE WORST MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF MOVIES!!!!!!!! Poor script, poor acting, poor plot, POOR EVERYTHING.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I found the movie very good.

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
momma bear
Location:Kentucy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the movie to be very good and follow the book of Revelation. Although it is hard to condense the 7 year tribulation peiod into an 80 min movie, I thought it was done very well. There did seem to be some discrepancies in the story line, i.e. when the antichrist was revealed and the number 666 was tattooed on the shoulder. The Bible plainly states there will be either a tattoo on the forehead or a chip implanted in the right hand. Other than this, I thought it to be well scripted and presented.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Fay
A bit boring. This could have been a lot more effective had it followed biblical references. Flat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roy Neilson
I wish I would have listened to the majority of the reviews. Even after paying only 5 bucks I felt like I wasted my money. This is probably the WORST Christian movie I have ever seen. It was as if it was totally devoid of the Spirit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Burgess
This movie is so right now. It has kept me at the end of my seat. This is a great movie to help us to prepare for the "Return of Jesus Christ"...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roberta Gasiorowski
Basic story seems curiously shallow; portrayal of inner thought processes of the key characters is essentially lacking; the body locations of the 'mark of the beast' caused a tugging distraction of disappointment that the Scriptures were inaccurately referenced which seemed to sully the story. Enjoyed the very good portrayal of witnessing the 'rapture' event.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie Castellaw
If I practiced a skit with our church youth group I would insist in more convincing acting than this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Fireproof, Flywheel, Facing the Giants, Faith Like Potatoes: These are all great Christian films! Gone is not. Too much is added to the Word or twisted in a poor attempt to engage the audience in End Times drama. For End Times drama, I recommend the Left Behind series - while it "creates" some scenarios to add depth, it does not take away from the value of choosing Christ and receiving Grace by Faith alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
This film had a good message and all, but it is VERY low budget with below average actors. It was an ok buy for only $5, but not worth much more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gone, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Fry
This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I am glad that I only purchased it for 4.99. I will be selling it at my next garage sale!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.