Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook

Moody Publishing Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook

How would you describe your personal Bible study? Mundane or motivational? Lackluster or lively? Redundant or reviving? Howard and Bill Hendricks offer a practical 3-step process that will help you master simple yet effective inductive methods of observation, interpretation, and application that will make all the difference in your time with God's Word!
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Review 1 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

study guide for the bible

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancy E
Location:Chula Vista
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was recommended to me by my senior and youth pastors at my church to help me be able to study the bible in a way that is easy to understand but help me grow as well. and it's in a format that is easy to read and do in a decent amount of time, especially when your free time is limited.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Study tool

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marc K
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was required reading in my class at Christian college. Learned a lot, well written. Good study tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
SavedbyGrace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent help for those just beginning or those well in their journey with The Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
abntexasaggie
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. I cannot remember being so challenged, instructed and motivated by a book in perhaps decades. It really challenged me to engage in a more systematic study of the Bible and gave me a methodology to do it with. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to learn God's Word and get fed from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible Study Method Ever!

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Babette Stevens
Location:Woodstock, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
My Ladies Bible study group are almost to the end of the 20 part series, the rich teaching in a serious yet humorous way, has challenged us to be not only better students of the Bible, but has challenged us to be changed by God's Word to do what it is suppose to do.... conform us to the image of His precious Son! Howard Hendricks... Well done God's good and faithful servant!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very infomative, easy reading.

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
adventurer
Location:Richmond Hts. Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Again, the book was very informative and easy to read. It will help with with my Bible studies for a long tome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
matt
Location:mountain home, ar
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the bibiblically illiterate society we live in today this book is a must for any, and in my opinion, every Christian. You may think you know how to study the Word of God and you may already have an excellent grasp on it, however this book helps you break every thing down and show you how to get the most out every piece of God's Living Word! It brings the Word into a whole new light and helps it com to life with the simplest tools that i would've never thought of using. Even better is the fact that is extremely easy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful book on Scripture

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Introduction
Many books on how to read and interpret the Bible are written every year, but not many of them stand the test of time. Most of the books of this genre succeed in helping the reader to read the Bible, or to interpret Scripture, but not both. Living By The Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible, by Howard G. Hendricks and William D. Hendricks, has stood the test of time by combining how to read the Bible with how to interpret and apply the Word of God.
Summary
In three hundred and seventy-eight pages, Dr. Howard Hendricks and his son William walk their readers through how to read, interpret, and apply the Word of God. In step one, the authors teach the reader how to observe, read, and look for important things in Scripture. Step two guides the readers into understanding the value of interpretation and the five keys to interpretation: 1) Content, 2) context, 3) comparison, 4) culture, and 5) consultation. The final section of the book is on application. Here the Hendricks’ explain the process of applying the sermon through four steps of application: 1) know the text and yourself, 2) relate it to your experience, 3) mediate on the truth of Scripture and 4) practice the truth of Scripture.
Critique
Living By The Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible is one of the most helpful books I’ve read in this genre. While no book on reading, interpreting and applying the Bible can cover every single topic; the authors have accomplished their goal of helping the reader to observe, interpret, and apply the Word of God.
The one (very minor) weakness that this book has is that there is not enough space to work out the ideas the authors taught on. While the authors do provide space at the end of nearly chapter titled “You Try It”, these sections could be strengthened if they provided questions for the reader to work through. Even with this very minor weakness the “You Try It” sections are still helpful and cause the reader to think through what they have learned in the chapter.
Conclusion
Books on how to read, interpret and apply the Scripture are written every year, but not many of those books stand the test of time. Living By The Book is written by a seasoned Professor and Bible teacher, Dr. Howard Hendricks and his son William, it will help its readers to think through what the Bible is, and why they should read and study it.
While reading this book, I felt that I was being shepherded to better read, interpret, and apply the Truth of Scripture for myself. Living By The Book is a very helpful introductory book that will help its readers to journey through the Scriptures and engage God’s Word like never before.
Title: Living By the Book Workbook: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible
Authors: Dr. Howard and William Hendricks
Publisher: Moody (2007)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great features in this book

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Primetime
Location:west Hempstead, ny
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great features especially for people who are beginning to learn the bible. But this book is for everyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Textbook

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ryck
Location:Alaska
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in the process of reading this book for class. I attend the Alaska Bible College, and this is the textbook. It is amazing. Hendricks really knows what he is talking about and really lays out how to study the bible so anyone can do it! I would recommend this book to anyone who want's to hear what God wants us to hear!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
krbabble
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent learning tool for our young couples class or anyone looking for a better understanding of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
bake
Location:brockville
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Following the recommendations in this book has dramatically improved the quality of the time that I spend studying the bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Songstress
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool to use to understand and relate the Bible to your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The conviction of not studying the word is strong!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Elgin,Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book! A lot of people need to read this book. I think it will really help them start studying the Word more or start them to begin to study. All kids need it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a great book.

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie
Location:Tampa, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend had loaned me her book previously, and I thought it was so good,, I wanted my own copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Augie
Location:Neoga, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book is wonderful to learn how to learn how to start studying the Word of God. Using it as a basis to teach others to begin to start studying.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall excellent

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Squito
Location:Pearland, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to agree with all the comments about this book-it is more than excellent in helping me with my Bible study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobKat
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good book for new Christians to get started reading and studying God's Word
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product ought to be in every library.

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Creedmoor Road Baptist Church
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Hendricks has broken down the barriers to the study of the Word of God so everyone can without excuse literally study the Word of God and hear from God the revealed Word. I am using this as a study for my Sunday School class and we are learning to study God's Word on our own.
Even though I am the Pastor, our class is responding enthusiastically to this work and God's Word. It would be great for any study at anytime.
Pastor Don Cashwell
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Absolutely one of the best books ever written on how to study the Bible. Howard Hendricks has more that 5 decades of teaching people how to study the Bible. I own a copy and use the principles every time I am in the Word, have given a copy as a gift and will be teaching the principles of this book in Sunday school. The things taught are challenging at times, but not difficult for any level of Bible student.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>