Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1

Moody Publishing Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1

In one harrowing day, Viking raiders capture Bree and her brother Devon and take them from their home in Ireland. After the young Viking prince Mikkel sets Devon free on the Irish coast far from home, Bree and Devin embark on separate journeys to courage. Readers will be captivated by the unfolding drama as Bree sails to Norway on the Viking ship and Devin travels the dangerous road home. They both must trust their all-powerful God in the midst of difficult situations. Recommended for ages 10 to 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Review 1 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Ravenna, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read aloud the whole series to my son and daughter (11 & 9) and they couldn't get enough! This is a wonderful series for boys or girls, adult and young. I enjoyed it as much as they did. It was not only exciting and suspenseful, but a great example on how to depend on the Lord and to find joy in all things! This is a must read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Raiders From the Sea, is the first in a series of three books, known as the Viking Quest series, written by Lois Walfrid Johnson. In this opening volume, thirteen-year-old Briana and her fourteen-year-old brother Devin, are captured by Viking raiders who land in Ireland. The Vikings are led by a boy, a lad of about 15 years, named Mikkel, the son of a great Viking chieftain. Before she is captured, Briana saves Mikkel from drowning, not knowing who he is. She and her brother later find themselves captive on a ship headed for Norway, with Mikkel in charge. In gratitude for saving his life, Mikkel releases Devin before they get to Norway, but he refuses to let Briana go. Instead, she is forced to sail with the raiders and their load of captives all the way from Ireland to Norway. Briana comes from a God-loving family. Before she is captured, her father tells her, Whatever you face, if you ask God to help you, He will. When a treacherous storm threatens to destroy their ship, the Vikings pray to Thor for aid. Not getting any results, they threaten to start throwing captives overboard to appease their god. Briana prays to the Almighty God for help. After the storm subsides, the Vikings show Briana a grudging respect for saving their lives, even though she doesnt take credit for the miracle.Near the end of the book, after the ship has landed in Norway, Briana searches for a chance to escape, but will she make it? Follow her exciting tale of adventure in the next book, The Mystery of the Silver Coins.Even though this is a chapter book, there are black-and-white pencil sketches at the beginnings of each chapter depicting a scene from that particular part of the book. Sometimes its difficult to get kids interested in history. Historical fiction novels such as this one are a great way to introduce children to historical topics without them feeling like they might be learning something. Christian Children's Book Review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elissa Kroeger
My 10 year old took these books out from the library and fell in love with the series. I was truly surprised at how much he knew about Viking history after reading them. He asked if he could own them because he wants to read them again and again...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
GR
This book along with the entire series is AWESOME! Lois Walfrid Johnson is a gifted writer and I would recommend any and all of her books. I have read them numerous times and you don't grow too old for them! These are a "must have" in any home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle
It sucked me right in don't bother buying one book buy them all!!!!! Trust me you will want the second, third, forth, and the fifth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura Jordan
This is the first book of the series that will take the reader on an exciting journey back to the Vikings. If you enjoyed the Kingdom Quest Series or the Door Within Series, you will absolutely love this series...my 12 year old son and husband loved them too!!!A must read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christy Freed
This is an excellent series on the Viking period of history. There are almost no books on this period written from a Christian perspective. Our family of six greatly enjoyed this series and highly recommends it to others. This is a great supplement to any curriculum on the Middle Ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mikayla
It was so awesome! Briana O'toole thinks she saved her good friend, but instead it brings disaster. Will she make it? You have to read this adventurous book to find out. The book tells you what its like to be a Christian slave to the vikings back then. Just don't forget to read the next book. I'm nine years old and I love this book, and you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tawni
We bought books #1-#5 of this series. My 11 year old started reading them a week and half ago and is already on book #4 as of this morning. He loves them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sally
We are a home school family and read books together often. The Viking Quest series has our family rating of "two thumbs way, way up". The stories are so well written as to keep us all hungering for more and the cliffhangers were so perfectly timed as to keep us in delicious suspense! We highly recommend it for boys, girls and entire families. Excellent weaving of Christian faith throughout the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy
This book was AMAZING!!! It takes a lot of unexpected turns, and always keeps you wanting to turn the page! Briana O'Tool saves a boy from drowning, but little does she know who she is saving! Who is the strange boy who she mistook for her friend?? Read the book and find out!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Hannah
This book was so exciting i couldn't put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Coleman
This series is the best Christian historical fiction I've ever read! The plot-line is gripping, the setting realistic, and the wonderful characters both believeable and inspiring. Most importantly, these books help kids and teens like me to strive to have courage from God--courage to win. I know that reading them has changed the way I look at frightening situations. I recommend this series to teens and kids above ten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
ME
GREAT BOOK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Raiders from the Sea - eBook Viking Quest Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Raiders from the Sea is wonderful for everyone of any age, boys and girls alike! It's exciting, fun, touching, and has that on-the-edge-of-your-seat suspense that captures your attention. Bree, Mikkel, and Devin are wonderful, heartfelt characters that are just like any other kid, but with an unusual and exciting adventure attached to them. After Bree and Devin are captured by ruthless Vikings, they face a test that only God can work them through. This brother and sister touch the hearts of many people along their journey and learn important lessons about themselves that they'll never forget.Vikings' Quest is truly a quest that you and your family would want to go on together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.