Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life

Thomas Nelson Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life

From the author of the bestselling devotional Jesus Calling comes a new devotional to focus your heart during quiet times. Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life offers 120 readings fashioned as a dialogue between you and Jesus. Each reading begins with a quotation from Jesus Calling, next a prayer written from Sarah Young's heart reflecting questions, praise, and struggles we can all relate to, and ends with a response based on Scripture from the heart of Jesus to you. Come confidently into His presence and find out what He has to say about your intimate longings and struggles, and discover God's heart of love and purpose for you.

This volume also features a padded hardcover binding, a topical index, a ribbon bookmark, and a presentation page for gift-giving.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Review 1 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

....if you want to sense His Presence, you will!

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katt
Location:MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started reading Jesus Calling last fall. Now I own and read everything that Sarah Young has written and published. It also has become one of my favorite Bibles! I'm ordering for my family and friends now. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Fulton, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Sarah Young's devotionals are what I use daily for meeting with God. Her writtings express my feelings in a way I can not always express myself. She is truly blessed to have such insights into God's Heart and mine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Gift For Anyone

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buddy
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two copies of this book for some ladies friends of mine at church. When I gave it to them they loved it immensly. I later recieved a thank you note telling me how much they are enjoying this read and how it helps them seek more of God in their life. It was a gift worth the give.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Speaks to me every day

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beachnan
Location:Shelby, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading this book daily for the last 2 years. It has helped me so much that I bought copies for the ladies that live in our local transitional home.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great inspiration every day

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mischief
Location:Schenectady, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I not only would recommend it, I have given many copies as gifts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BJINWI
Location:WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given many copies of Sarah's "Jesus Calling" away to people in all stages of their walk with the Lord. But what I like about "Dear Jesus", is the scriptures are written out which is great for new Christians that may not be real familiar with their Bible yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Sarah Young and this is her most powerful boo. It speaks to who I am and my needs and provides insightful, reassuring responses. Wonderful insights and perspectives! I like the layout and it is easy to find the topic/passage that I am seeking. I got two for friends. This is the best devotional I have ever gotten. I wish that everyone had a copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
deedlebuggin
Location:Colgate, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another inspiring book by Sarah Young!! Looking forward to reading more of her work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Crenwelge
This is truly a wonderful book. I have given this book to my mother-in-law and my sister-in-in law for encouragment as they have lost a dear daughter and sister. We all love it and I would recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Polly Ottens
This is an awesome book and appropriate for everyone everyday, no matter what your situation is. Thanks Sarah Young!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
DeeDee Jones
This book does not replace the Bible, but does show the character of God and how He loves us and understands our character. It is one of the best short daily devotionals I've seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Miriam Mills
Excellent book. You can not go wrong with any book by Sarah Young. You know that she is truly praying and listening to the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Allen
After reading her other book Jesus calling, I had to have this one also. Enjoyed both of them so much I bought each book for a friend. I'm a new fan of Sarah Young.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Rydell
A beautiful companion to "Jesus Calling" with a topical index so you can find just the words you need to get you through anything that life throws at you. I love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula Schroeder
This little gem of a book has revolutionized my devotional life. I have already purchased more copies as gifts. Sarah Young proves that she not only has the gift of putting her thoughts into words but she also has a tender spirit and a listening heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leslie S
This is a wonderful book. I love it! I like reading it just before I go to work and sometimes during my lunch hour. I plan to go out a buy a few copies to give to my friends and family. Makes a great Graduation gift too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dear Jesus: Seeking His Light in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Greg Williamson
Looking past the cushioned hardcover binding, ribbon page marker, and pastel pages, what caught my attention was the fact that each entry includes a first-person statement from God/Jesus to the reader which reflects what God "said" to Ms. Young. As she puts it in her introduction: "I wrote Dear Jesus in the same listening-to-God mode that I used with Jesus Calling. I've continued to write with the help of Christ's Spirit, who guides my thinking while I listen in His Presence. I believe the Bible is the only infallible Word of God. My writings are based on that absolute standard, and I try to ensure they are consistent with Scripture" (page 7). While what Ms. Young writes may or may not be in line with biblical truth, it seems to me she has taken the very dangerous step of putting words in God's mouth. Add to that her claim that she wrote with the guidance ("help") of "Christ's Spirit," and it could easily be construed that she is putting her writing on a level very near that of Holy Spirit-inspired Scripture (Ms. Young's "infallible disclaimer" notwithstanding). While I rejoice in the fact that the Holy Spirit is alive and well and active in the life of every true believer who earnestly seeks God's will, it seems to me Ms. Young has made the same mistake as many of our brethren on the charismatic side of the aisle: the claim to have received direct, extra-biblical revelation from God. Ms. Young confesses that "the Bible is the only infallible Word of God." Considering the fact that ours is a world in which increasing numbers of people profess a strong desire for things "spiritual" while simultaneously rejecting anything that even hints at orthodox Christian truth, it seems to me we would be much better off with lots more of the infallible and lots less of the fallible.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.