Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living on the Edge Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)

Living on the Edge Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)

Raising children is a tough challenge in today's world---especially when they face constant pressure from their peers and culture. Packed with practical advice and Chip Ingram's own experiences, these nine sessions will give you a vision for your children's future, a new understanding of God's principles for child-rearing, and life-changing help for today! Includes study guide. Three DVDs, approx. 5 hours total.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Review 1 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative, action-oriented, structured & 10/10

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
tiger137
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is absolutely a valuable series. I wish I came across it earlier. Since I received the DVD, I have been watching one session every day with my wife. Informative, action-oriented, structured and simple. 10/10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT study for small or large groups!!

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loretta
Location:AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for a small group study for moms. I didn't know what to expect with the price being so reasonable. This was a GREAT study. We ended up using it for a couples bible study. Chip gives excellent "how to" advice and principles to implement for more effective parenting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, wonderful, can't say enough about it.

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yiayia
Location:Madera, CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dvd, Pastor Chip Ingram presents the Word of God with passion and clarity. Purchased several to give to family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Parenting Study

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elaine
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best parenting studies I ever had. The study guide, dvd, and book are very useful. The materials are clear and concise. This study also offers many biblical and practical principles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One word....Effective

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ee139
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study is wonderful, especially for first time parents. Ingram is easy to understand and passionate about the study. He gives excellent principles on parenting all based on scripture. It's powerful, and Ingram urges us to go to God in prayer. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic principles

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Srwells
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for a small group of couples with children in the 5-12 age range. It would be perfect for parents with kids from ages 0-12. The workbook is helpful with blanks for viewers to fill in as they watch and it also provides good discussion questions and exercises for the week ahead. Loved his references to the bible and God's instructions for us as parents. Really puts everything parents face in raising kids today in perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
CheraC
Gender:female
This is an amazing series. I would recommend to anyone! My husband and I have gone through the series in our life group and wanted to be able to review it from home. So now we can reference it anytime we want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom2six
Location:KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price. Would recommend to anyone who is looking to improve their parenting skills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
sherbare
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effective tools to bringing up your kids in Christ in this defective world.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product is easy to use and offers great teachi

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
rabbi
Location:Russellville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this with all parents. Chip is very down to earth and offers a solid biblical base for parenting. Our folks are growinging in becoming effective parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome study

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard Flores
Location:West Jordan, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was w GREAT study. We purchased a copy for ourselves so we can go back and review it when we need to.
Chip Ingram was an Incredible insperation to us.
I would recomend this to not only parents but to new belivers, singles, you could apply it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reviewer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All parents, grandparents, caregivers, and parents-to-be should go through this training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wes Daase
Location:Surrey, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great series especially for those who may have some problem children. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
rachel hughes
This study is wonderful. We started a small group study with this and every couple love it! I have cried, laughed, and my toes have been stepped on (but I deserved it). I love this study. A MUST HAVE!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2009
I have participated in this small group study and it is wonderful! Chip Ingram is very personable and communicates God's plan for parenting in a way that is very understandable. I HIGHLY recommend any of his studies as he has a way of communicating God's messages so clearly. He's very conservative in his beliefs, yet came to be a christian later in life. He's lived what he teaches and knows the scriptures--you can trust his teachings and understand it from his experience and knowledge. He gives many personal testimonies in this series....especially about his son who was rebelling toward God. His son even appears on the dvd. So wonderful...get it if you want to understand God's plan for parenting more fully!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Effective Parenting In A Defective World Personal Study Kit (1 DVD Set & 1 Study Guide)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alva Peters
As a Christian Education director, I have viewed many parenting series and am familiar with most series on the market. This one by Chip Ingram is, in my opinion, the best overall resource for equipping Christian parents to raise healthy, happy, godly children. We have used it in our church as part of our family ministries and it has been greatly appreciated. Chip is a personable, practical, wise presenter who has outlined the key critical components of raising children in the Lord.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.