Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc The Nativity Story, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Word Entertainment Inc The Nativity Story, DVD

The most magnificent portrayal of the nativity ever! Witness the struggles and joys of the Holy Family---and the Savior's birth at the turning point of history. Epic in scope yet intimate in detail, this major motion picture spared nothing to ensure historical accuracy and cinematic power. A film to be cherished for years to come! Starring Keisha Castle-Hughes (Whale Rider) and Oscar Isaac. Rated PG (some violence). Dove approved. Approx. 101 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Widescreen and Fullscreen Versions
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
  • Closed Captions
  • Trailers
  • DVD-ROM Fetures (InterActual player)
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(385 Reviews) 385
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (385 reviews)
5 stars
321
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
191 out of 19697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Nativity Story, DVD
Review 1 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent movie.

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tabioc
Location:Saginaw, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nativity Story is an excellent portrayal of the events surrounding our Savior's birth. A wonderful movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
dandelion
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best version of the Nativity that we have seen
Everyone should have one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Granbury, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent movie! I will be purchasing more copies for my family and friends. This was a great addition to my dvd collection of "good" movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Poet
Location:San Diego CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this movie in Sunday School. Thought it very realistic and the actors and actresses more real then I have seen in other movies. I really liked it and bought a copy so I can look at it at other times. And show it to my family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always enjoy a good christian movie. One of the old favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
CyndyT
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christmas we watch this movie and several times through out the year. It is a great depiction of the hardships that Mary and Joseph endured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly moving

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:Weilerbach, Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been looking for a genuine Christmas movie that depicts the story of the birth of Christ and this one is close. Although I think some areas were dramatized for the audience, the message was as close and clear to the Bible for most age groups to comprehend. This movie was truly moving to the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Meaningful Tradition in our Household

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this a few years back at my sister's house whose husband is a conservative minister. Very soon after I was quite pleased to find "The Nativity Story" here at a great price. We view this as a Bible Story come to life. My children are quite able to distinguish known Biblical facts and cultural interpretation. A well done movie about Christ which we watch every Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome movie!

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
sheri
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this movie! It is an excellent portrayal of the birth of Jesus. I would recommend this to everyone! Plus, the price was very reasonable. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best retelling of the Nativity

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hartmama
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this version of the Nativity! The attention to detail about Jewish life is amazing. It is not a soft, glorified version of Christ's birth. Instead, it represents the reality of what the key figures would have experienced and felt - Mary would have been shamed and shunned, Joseph would have been looked down upon for still taking her as his wife, the trip to Bethlehem was LONG and hard, etc. These are things that easily get lost in the excitement of Christmas, but to me, knowing these details adds to understanding the depth of love and sacrifice that Christ's birth embodies.
I also appreciate that the actors look like Middle Eastern/Jewish people, and are not Caucasian!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful movie

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie shows very clearly the difficulties that Mary and Joseph had as subjects under Roman domination but also as young parents with the responsibility of carrying and caring for God's son. It is wonderfully done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful movie

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
blaster1942
Location:GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has become my favorite Christmas movie. It's pretty accurate; in a realistic setting and the music is GREAT. I bought the soundtrack because I love the music so much.
I've given this as gifts. Wonderful movie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie and production

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ahuva
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie! It has such an authentic feel about it. The acting is great. The filming is great. The script is great. The entire production is beautifully done. I would highly recommend this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great DVD

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kanoelani
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad to see a movie about Mary the Mother of Jesus. I always wondered what life was like for her being chosen to be the mother of Our Savior Jesus christ
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie!

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Thompson, MB
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this movie! It is a wonderfully made movie from the perspective of Mary and Joseph. Brings the story to life again! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good DVD

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
renpau
Location:Durham, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is an excellent buy for the quality of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mari
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted, expected, remembered. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Nativity Story, DVD

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
cansmacb
Location:PORTLAND,OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ENJOYED THIS VIEWPOINT OF THE NATIVITY STORY WRITTEN BY MIKE RICH (ALSO WROTE 'RADIO' 2003).
THE LEADS PLAYED BY KEISHA CASTLE- HUGHES (MARY) AND OSCAR ISSAC (JOSEPH) ARE WELL CRAFTED.THERE WERE TIMES THE INSIGHTFULNESS OF OSCAR'S ACTING HAD ME 'THERE' WITH HIM -EXCEPTIONAL.
ENJOYED SEEING CIARAN HINDS AS THE PARANOID HEROD.
THE HUMOUR ALSO THROUGHOUT WAS WELCOMED, 'YOU FORGOT THE MAPS'.
A COMMENTARY WITH THE EXTRAS WOULD HAVE HELPED US UNDERSTAND THE WRITER AND DIRECTORS VIEWPOINTS TOO IN HOW A SCENE UNFOLDED.
:)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
5momma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great movie, Biblically based, on Christ's birth..wonderful price...buy every year for gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Nativity Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Poor volume

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ministry
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent story and well told, but the audio was very poor. I had the volume up so high on my tv to hear the movie the speakers were vibrating.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...20Next >>>