Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cloud 9 Games JAMband

Cloud 9 Games JAMband

Create your own Christian rock band!Supports popular USB guitars, bass, and drum controllers (two at a time) plus up to four microphones * Top 40 Christian songs from artists including David Crowder Band, Avalon, tobyMac, ZOEgirl, and Steven Curtis Chapman * Customize onscreen characters with cool clothing and instruments * Unlock venues and content with each successful performance * 1GB RAM * Windows XP/Vista * From Cloud 9
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for JAMband
Review 1 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not As Good As Guitar Praise

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rose Waldron
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Christian version of Guitar Hero called Guitar Praise a while back. I was very impressed with the ease of setting it up and how much fun it was to play and it included some awesome songs. I saw this game and liked that I could use my Guitar Praise guitar with it. In my opinion this game had a lot of potential but was not well thought out. I liked the 3D graphics and the different playing venues. My biggest gripe was the song selection. It only comes with 40 songs and no expansion packs. I expected songs by famous radio singers such as Casting Crowns, Jeremy Camp, Third Day etc but not one in sight. Of the 40 songs about 6 of them were by Sanctus Real and only one was one I have heard on the radio. It did include two tobymac songs but they were both slow songs and definately not ones to jam by. There are a lot of slow songs which on a game called JAMband you expect a little more rock. I am a big listener of Christian music and didn't recognize a lot of the artists. Overall just not as fun as Guitar Praise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun for family!

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
PH in OH
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this last year for Christmas. We did have a few tech problems, but Cloud 9 support was fabulous! The whole family has had a great time playing. We have a guitar and mic, and have used the keyboard for drums. When my son's friends come over (around 13 years old), it is usually one of the first things they want to do. The disc came in a really broken case, but was undamaged. I wish there were more expansion packs available, but it is a really great alternative to the non-Christian games out there.
We have had a couple of tech issues throughout the year, but persevere- it is worth it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

flexible product with a lot of configurations

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
freeznskeeters
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a "plug n play" application unless components are all perfect. I am still working with poor instrument signals and wireless interferences. Kids like it but are frustrated with setup. I also bought Guitar Praise to get the guitars and let them play other songs on that system but it just does guitars. I'm looking to add drums and microphones. It should be a lot of fun when it is all tuned up and working.
I hope there are more songs available for download as add-ons and software updates if necessary. It would be great to get 2 guitars, drums, and mic(s) but current version of software will only do 2 instruments + mics. These features would make it far more worth the time/configuration and more valuable. Great potential!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lonetta Daugherty
It has awesome music and I was looking forward to singing while my son played the guitar. I was very disappointed that this doesn't work with Wii.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sam
Guitar Praise vs Jamband ...I own both so I thought I would give a quick review. Guitar Praise comes with a guitar but costs much more than Jamband which does not come with a guitar. Jamband lets you use your existing guitars and drumsets from the xbox, playstation or Wii!! So you can bargain shop or use your favorite controllers from your consoles. The Guitar Praise controller is ok, not great quality but it works. Both games come with Christian music but I would have to give the definate advantage to Jamband since all of it's songs are from well-known artists and are the original recordings. There are some good songs in Guitar Praise but many seem to be "filler" songs by local bands? The sounds played when the guitar is played is much better with Jamband. You actually feel like you are playing with the band since the guitar sounds are superb while the Guitar Praise sounds are definately not the original music and can sound out of place at times. The gameplay is obviously very important and again, Jamband is the clear winner here. There is so much more you can do like sing, play guitar bass or drums while Guitar Praise is really just a guitar game. Jamband has the edge in cutting edge technology since it supports up to 4 microphones meaning that 4 singers can play at the same time each one with their own real time pitch meter and score. The bass and drum sounds in Jamband are very well done as well. Graphics, again go to Jamband since it actually has some! Guitar Praise has simple background images while Jamband has 3D characters that you can dress up before perfomances as well as really nice 3D sets like churches, auditoriums and even tropical paradise complete with jumping fish and waterfalls! Jamband lets you unlock more clothing options, instruments and places to sing as you progress through the game. Guitar Praise also has unlockables but is much more limited since there are no 3D graphics. Guitar Praise 2 stars. Jamband 5 stars.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Mann
My 9 year old loves this game and its far better than her playing Guitar Heroes and learning some of the not so great songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Obrien
Customer support is great! Like any software program, you may have problems. If you encounter any problems, try contacting Cloud 9 games support first. They are awesome! My problem turned out that I had an old version of DirectX. Once I downloaded a newer version based on their suggestion the game ran smoothly and fine. I never knew singing and playing instruments could be so much fun, I think I'm ready to go professional ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee
JAMband is a lot of fun. It includes some really great Christian songs and it's easy to select them since they are categorized. You can even play the guitar, bass or drums to any of the songs by using your computer keyboard if you don't have any controllers. I was able to plug in my guitar and drums, then set them up using the manual calibration screen. If you happen to have people who like to sing rather than play the instruments, the game will support up to 4 singers at one time. It's neat to create your own onscreen characters too. The graphics are pretty decent, the guitar and bass are a lot of fun to play. I couldn't play the drums that well as it's pretty challenging. I really liked the songs as it's pretty much the ones you hear on the radio all the time. Overall, it's a really fun game.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JAMband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ken Ratica
This game is awesome! 4 voices and 2 instruments equal a lot of fun. This has been a great hit with my kids and our Church Youth Group. Now your kids have a Christian music alternative to the other band games that won't leave your kids learning the lyrics to songs like "Shout to the devil".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.