Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook

Moody Publishing Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook

Bible prophecy continues to fascinate, never more than in troubled times of war and natural disasters. But why study Bible prophecy? What does it mean if a person is premillennial or amillennial, believes in the Rapture, or knows who or what the Beast of Revelation is? Benware's framework for understanding Bible prophecy is based on the four biblical covenants: Abrahamic, Palestinian, Davidic, and New. This book is a reference for seminary and college students, and those curious about the various views of end times prophetic events and biblical proof behind them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Review 1 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't teach a sensible reading of scripture

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steven Hernandez
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Unfortunately the book is based on a common presupposition that the Bible does not actually mean what it says. When Jesus is speaking to His disciples or others we need to consider how those hearing those words would have understood them. Re-reading the Bible while respecting the normal rules of reason and audience relevance (what would the words have meant to their original recipients, 2000 years ago in that culture) one comes quickly to a different conclusion than the author. When we read the Bible we still means we and you still means you and soon still means soon.
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book abou the end of times

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jtmovies91
Location:Barnwell
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bible prophecy continues to fascinate, never more than in troubled times of war and natural disasters. But why study Bible prophecy? What does it mean if a person is premillennial or amillennial, believes in the Rapture, or knows who or what the Beast of Revelation is? Benware's framework for understanding Bible prophecy is based on the four biblical covenants: Abrahamic, Palestinian, Davidic, and New. This book is a reference for seminary and college students, and those curious about the various views of end times prophetic events and biblical proof behind them.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronald
Location:Rosedale, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to get a handle on understanding biblical prophecy then you must have this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very comprehensive

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dean
Location:Denver
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only half-way through the book, very interesting. The author does a great job of comparing the opinions of various theologians and making it easier to understand.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Zac Williams
It's pathetic that the disagreeing parties did not even state why there was a problem with the literal approach to interpreting Eschatology. If you want a literal interpretation where God speaks plainly and normally as if communicating directly to mankind, then this book is for you. If you're a crazy allegorist, that wants to change the Scripture to fit what you want it to, you should read this book so that Jesus can use the content to show you your error at the "Bema Seat" (lol, only a premillennialist would get the irony). This book would make a great addition to any library that desires theology on its shelves.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peter Pappas
I thought the book was very good in helping me understand the chronology and symbolism of the end times. It is very easy to read with lots of biblical references. I would recommend this book to all who are struggling to understand the Book of Revelations.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Todd
While most Christian books I've read lately are very disappointing, this one was an exceptional surprise.Yes, the book makes the strongest cases for the author's favored positions. What book doesn't? But what sets this book apart is it's systematic treatment of prophecy. The author contends that to understand the prophecies, you need to understand their context and he goes so far as to include a very good treatment of the Abrahamic and other covenants as his foundation.Benware does not, as a previous reviewer with a theological axe to grind states, interpret the bible based on current events. Current events may be mentioned in the foreward or the book cover, but they are absent from the content.One of the great strengths of this book is that it not only mentions, but explores alternative views in a fair and non-dismissive manner. In sum, I appreciated this book for its complete treatment of the subject in a way that is both scholarly and readable.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephen
From the product description: "Bible prophecy continues to fascinate, never more than in troubled times of war and natural disasters" one understands immediately the presuppositional base of the book, namely, a (typical?) premillennial superimposed theology over the text of the Scripture. Dr. Benware presents the premillennial view in his book, (which has consumed the Evangelical church since the days of Scofield's 1907 Study Bible) as he did when I was a student at MBI long ago in a past dispensation. Since my Moody days, my view of eschatology dramatically changed when I allowed the Bible to speak for itself in historical context. While at Moody, the premillennial theory was presented as abject fact, and all other views were summarized on post cards with felt pens. Benware's text is more detailed, but does not really allow other scholars to speak in context, yet the reader will decide. However, the notion that we look at the headlines and then study prophecy in the Bible is wrongheaded. We should study the Bible for all of God's counsel on all subjects that relate to "hear and now," and yes, the future, as well. We should use the Bible to interpret the Bible, and leave the Chicago Sun Times on the coffee table. I give this book a 2.0 as it is "same-o-same-o" and brings little new to the debate.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Understanding End Times Prophecy: A Comprehensive Approach - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kirke H
I really liked this book. It is presented in a very understandable style, and is well documented. It covers all the major theories of eschatology, but favors premillennial dispensationalism. I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in "End Times Prophecy".
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.