Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook

Moody Publishers When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook

The erosion of the family, the silencing of the church, the disintegration of morality indicate that America is suffering a cultural crisis, but it is not new. These trends also shaped Nazi Germany. Challenging you to focus on Jesus, Lutzer calls you to stand for truth, justice, and righteousness to stop our country's slide from civility into barbarity. Paperback. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Review 1 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS BOOK

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
IAmANobody
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book. It's a very informative read. It tells you a lot about where this country is heading if it continues to go in the direction it is going right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't say, "It can't happen here!"

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A couple of years ago, while reading Eric Metaxas' biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, I recall thinking that the conditions which foreshadowed Adolf Hitler's rise to power in Nazi-Germany could very easily be repeating themselves in modern-day America. I am not a "prophet of doom"--in fact, I rarely have patience with those who are--but neither am I blind to the vulnerability of a people willing to cast off long held, divinely-instilled biblical beliefs during challenging societal times. Erwin Lutzer's book has reaffirmed my perceptions. Germany was ripe for the pseudo-promises of a self-proclaimed messiah because, among other things, its churches and their pastors were weak. The world ended up paying an exorbitant price! This small volume, written by the long time pastor of Moody Church in Chicago, serves as a powerful reminder and wake-up call to the church in our day to stand fast in the grace that has set us free. The author parallels the decline of Germany in the days just prior to World War II with the drift we are seeing today away from the authority of God's Word. One cannot help but be struck with the posturing of today's self-interest, humanistic groups as they push their personal agendas--with government assistance!--and compare it with the passivity among a German citizenry that eventually brought about their succumbing to the damnable dogma of a mad man. Lutzer extends to the church a call for vigilance, and he issues a challenge for today's church to seize this wonderful opportunity to make Christ known. Most of us are familiar with the quote, "He who does not learn from the past is destined to repeat it." I am reminded of another, spoken by Sir Edmund Burke: "All that it takes for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing." May the church of the Lord Jesus Christ arise in our day and seize this present moment to boldly and clearly declare the life-giving Gospel for His eternal glory! A few hours invested with this book may just plant some seeds of how we may best do that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must read

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
brenda
every christian should read this and then pass along to their unsaved friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT AND VERY ALARMING

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
To His glory
Location:Fontana, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I FOUND A SERIOUS WARNING IN THIS BOOK BECAUSE SOME OF THE THINGS I SEE HAPPENING HERE AND NOW IN OUR COUNTRY DID HAPPEN IN GERMANY BACK THEN. I WOULD ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO READ IT, IT WOULD OPEN YOUR EYES. P.C.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When A Nation Forgets God

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Graham
Location:North Bay, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a book to educate people on how our society in the U.S> and more so in Canada is going down the road Germany went down. I can see how a worldwide dictator could easily come to power. To do that he would have to limit the freedoms we have come to take for granted. Hitler was in someways a pioneer in taking a Christian country down the paths to Hell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very necessary read for any Christian today.

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
canyer
Location:CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had no idea what this book really entailed but it was wondeful and strengthened my faith a lot and gave me so much hope. The history is worth the read alone. The future is uncertain but with God our lives are so blessed.
Erwin Lutzer is a wonderful authror.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
CHIM
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a timely, easy read with tremendous implications. Thank you Mr. Luzter for the time, thought and prayer you put into this...excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saram
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very relevant for our times! It talks about the seven stages the Nazi's used and how we must push back against them in our own country, starting with Hitler appearing to come out of a church but ending with telling churches they'll be fine if they support Hitler's views, number one (not God!) Intersperses individual historical detail with political, historical theory over time and compares it to our times. Slim book, quick read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product does have great features.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine D Carr
Location:Beaufort, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product includes information very valuable to our nation today. We would do well to consider seriously what is revealed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patriot
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Lutzer is an expert on the Nazi regime. He shows the similarities of the Nazis and what is going on in our country and elsewhere in the world today. This is more important than many people realize.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you want to know about our country, Must Read!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fred B
Location:Ridgecrest, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
As Christians we need to know why these things are happening, but also, to see how our country began to head in this direction. Follw this up wuth Curtis Bower's AGENDA video.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Message for Today!

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a message that should be preached from every pulpit in America.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
BILL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A MUST READ FOR EVERY AMERICAN, EVERY ALIEN, EVERY COLLEGE STUDENT, EVERY SENIOR HIGH STUDENT AND ESPECIALLY EVERY MEMBER OF THE WHITE HOUSE, THE SENATE, THE CONGRESS, THE JUDICIARY.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Lucas
I have reordered this book to provide copies to my Adut Bible class, and have encouraged them to give copies to friends outside the church. I have had nothing but excelent comments on it. A very good book, from a respected author and should be required reading for all Christians and church members as we face an uncertain future.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regine Mackenzie
I have never seen it put so succinctly and clearly. I'm still not quite sure though how to act in the political process (other than voting). Every Christian has to have this book to rethink their desire to hop on the bandwagon of social justice while forgetting the gospel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Kloha-Ricer
This is a book that I highly recommend. So much of what Dr Lutzer describes and how we should be alert and stand up for. It is what I would encourage all believers to definently read and take to heart as we are living in the days before the return of Jesus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Baumgartel
This book is timely and very well written. Erwin Lutzer presents a well documented history that is a real dose of perspective for America and the church. Someone has said, "If we do not learn from our history, we are doomed to repeat it." That is made clear in this book.This is the first Erwin Lutzer book I have read, and am enthusiastic for the next.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty J Weese
This is a great book. It is very informative and interesting. I bought several to give away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn L Reilly
Succint and well wrtten. Well worth both time and money. We all need to develop a strong backbone , stand for truth and focus on Jesus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When a Nation Forgets God: 7 Lessons We Must Learn From Nazi Germany - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Fletcher
Having just received the book I havn't gotten very far,but it seems that this is a book every Christian shouldread and discuss thoroughly with their family, Pastor,and those who don't know Jesus as their Savior.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>