Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing When the Nile Runs Red - eBook

Moody Publishing When the Nile Runs Red - eBook

Paul Farid was once a member of the royal family who openly persecuted any Sudanese who failed to practice Islam. Now he is a Christian who puts his life on the line to aid the persecuted Sudanese. His wife, Larson, is a doctor committed to giving her life for peace. Colonel Ben Alier has fought for twenty-one years against the government's mandates to control the oil, religion, slavery, and politics of Sudan. He neither trusts nor rests any hope in the newly formed government. Ben's health deteriorates while Larson finds out she is going to have a baby. Their worlds collide, and as the relational tensions escalate so does the physical danger.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
Review 1 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Candy Pearsol
This book has everything good. Awesome story, romance, great cause, great characters, great Christian examples etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Great spell binding drama. I could not put the book down. Would like to read it again, so I can enjoy it. I did not want the story to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Haynes Robertson
As always, DiAnn Mills has written an amazing story, but more than just a 'story.' This is also what is happening in the real world. What's happening in this area of Africa is one that we would wish is just media hype, but in reality, the hype is less than the reality. DiAnn has captured the pain, the violence and the hope for a future for this country. Such a wonderful weaving together of story and reality! You will love this story and you will never look at this area of Africa in the same way again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
This was a riveting novel with a lot of current political background. A well told story picturing the danger our missionaries are living with every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2009
I won this book from the Author and she wrote in front to expect an adventure. She was right. It is a book you cannot put down. You learn about the war in Sudan in 2005. You learn about the people of Sudan and how little they have and the disease and unclean conditions in the country. Paul Farid is Arab and married Dr. Larson who works with the people. Paul Farid flies supplies and food in for FTW group in states. Both of their lives become in danger.Ben Alier is the leader of the government soldiers. He is in love but Larson but she marries Paul. There is war, fear, danger, and faith. There is lots of faith to be found in this book. I have been battling my battles but in my mind due to so much illness. Yet through this book I found myself encouraged and uplifted and ready to fight on. My battle was different that war in a country and yet we all have battles within we fight. We find Paul questioning his faith and wondering why God does not give him answers. If we would all be honest, we have questioned our faith too. Like Paul we come to a point where we finally submit and continue our fight of faith.Paul changed his name just like Paul in the Bible when he became a Christian. As he was from a powerful family and once persecuted the Sudanese people and then got saved, his life is a lot like Paul's in the Bible. He is in danger by the hands of his own family.Ben gets injured and then finds he has another battle to fight that is not of war but physical and it is harder to handle. The ending left me gasping when I read about who betrayed Paul to his brother and what ensues from there. But when the book is done, you want more. I feel more powerful and ready to fight in my own faith since reading this book and I've been saved 51 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Serena
Best book I've read in a long time!! I'd recommend it to anyone!! Very interesting how this takes place in another country and how peace treaties arent always followed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon A. Lavy
I'm impressed by the character of Larson. Her grit and the way she cares for others. She is a worthy heroine. Paul, who had to give up his family to embrace the love of Christ, also won my heart. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
Paul Farid's family considers him a traitor and has put a price on his head. Can he ever shake loose from his Muslim heritage? His desire to keep his family safe only intensifies when he discovers Larsen is pregnant and they adopt an orphan newborn. The fragile peace treaty seems almost a farce. Death tolls from in-fighting continue to rise. Now Paul has been contacted by his brother. Does he really have an interest in Christianity or has he set a trap for Paul? Paul struggles with the reality he is not strong enough to guarantee their safety. Can he learn to surrender this protection to God? Larson wants to be a good wife. Their plans not to have a child are disrupted when she discovers she is pregnant. Then she adopts a motherless child. Now that she is a mother and expecting another child, is she wrong to bring up children in this unstable situation? She sees the strain Pauls worries cause him. Should she give up her commitment to practice medicine in this hostile and primitive region? What does God require of them? Ben Alier struggles with Larsons rejection and marriage to his friend, Paul Farid. When he learns of his life-threatening illness, Ben confronts his past. He has an out of wedlock son. He wonders if he should marry the boys mother and set his life in order before he dies. He becomes entwined with Paul and Larsen yet again as he helps Paul work through the on-going threats against his family and Paul helps Ben comes to terms with his physical condition. In this compelling sequel to When the Lion Roars, Diann Mills has captivated us once again in the lives of these three strong-willed individuals. This is more than a treatment of mans inhumanity to man in a land that is still suffering from the aftermath of a long and brutal civil war. This is a story of newly wed couple as they struggle to define their place in the land. It is a story of healing as well as a story of a faith that holds in the face of danger and trial.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Crystal Inman
I love DiAnn Mills' books! This book does not disappoint! Even if you read this before "When the Lion Roars", she refers to what already happened! Very stirring and realistic!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When the Nile Runs Red - eBook
This review is fromWhen the Nile Runs Red.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
When DiAnn Mills writes a novel, you can truly expect an adventure. When the Nile Runs Red is no exception. From the first few paragraphs to the very end, the reader will again be caught up in the lives of Larson and Paul Farid and Ben Alier. Their struggles to help the Sudanese people in the midst of danger increase as tensions rise between the warring factions of the north and south. Add to that the hatred of Pauls family against Larson, and you have the plot of a riveting story that will keep you reading to the end to see how they bridge the gaps that seem to grow wider with every page. Another great novel from a master storyteller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.