Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook

Moody Publishing Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook

Pastor DeYoung and sports columnist Kluck thoroughly probe the emerging church from a theological and on-the-street perspective. Resourcing interviews, articles, books, blogs, and experiences, they carefully examine the movement's views on Scripture; the wrath of God; the place of Jesus; spiritual journey vs. pilgrimage; and more. A systematic, thought-provoking, and accessible "dialogue." 224 Pages.

Kevin Deyoung is the senior pastor at University Reformed Church in East Lansing, Michigan, across the street from Michigan State University.

Ted Kluck is the author of three books and has written for ESPN the Magazine, Sports Spectrum Magazine, ESPN.com, and several small literay journals.

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Review 1 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Davis
Well formed and knowledgeable response to the dangers of the emergent movement. Anyone wanting to know more about the true nature of the emergent church and its ramifications on the church biblically would do well to give this text a read through.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joshua Taylor
Excellent book on the emergent church. I got my first exposure to the emergent church through this book. The different styles of the book made it rather entertaining. Definitely a good book for those who wanting to try to understand the emergent church.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Bowler
The emergent church in general gets both Christian theology and history wrong, making up their own personal "God narratives" as they go.This book answers the questions posed by the emergent/emerging movement with sound scriptural reasoning.If your church High School or College group shows Rob Bell videos, turn them off and study this book instead. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sally
I heard the authors interviewed on the radio and decided to buy their book. I am glad I did. They provided thought-provoking analysis from Biblical, church history and logical standpoints but in a very readable, accessible manner. Some of the footnotes are even humorous.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Murphy
This is a very good book explaining and addressing the issues of the Emerging/Emergent movement. If you are a layman and not up and up on deep theology, I suggest this book totally. It tackles the issues in a way that anyone can understand who has a basic knowledge of the faith. I'd also say that those who identy themselves as 'Emergent' should read this is it is by two guys are very charitable yet fair in their reading of the movement. Excellent book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tom Anderst
The authors strike a nice balance between theological argument and cultural observation. Their book is free from over the top rhetoric and accusation. I do appreciation them shining the spotlight on their own church traditions throughout. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to learn about the Emergent church movement and gain some valuable insight to respectfully engage in discussion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
greg mckelvey
Want to get the 411 on the"emergent church" then this book is for you! Every pastor should read the book to get a better understand of the good and the bad in the "emergent church". I heard the guys speak at Moody and they are the real deal! They really do a good job of pointing out what they liked and what was hard for them to understand! Very insightful read!! Get it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael Carter
This is a very enlightening book, especially for those who are not really quite sure what the "emergent" church is! The authors are quite transparent and do a terrific job of being objective, but not compromising. Must read!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lee
This is an outstanding introduction to the dangers inherent in the emergent church movement. While books of this nature aren't usually described as "page turners", this one is. Both authors possess a gift for engaging and informative writing. I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a fair assessment of this movement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Philip G. Meyer
I received this book when I was at a recent Pastors Conference. I found the book to be well balanced and very well researched. I had been looking for a book that could inform me of what the emergent church was thinking and teaching. I had time to read this gem on my flight home and found that it answered most of the questions I had concerning the movement(and stimulated other questions). DeYoung and Kluck have done their homework and for that I am very grateful. A very thorough and even handed treatise of the Emergent church movement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
A wonderfully readable book on a movement most folks will find out about when it has morphed and moved on. If you only have time to read one good book on the E-movement read this one. They said everything the rest of us wanted to say if we had the time and energy to spare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ken Langley
As astute as D.A. Carson's book but more hip. Only four and a half stars because it needs an index - and shame, shame, shame on Moody Press for not givng us a few blank pages in the back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Why We're Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat
After trying to read 7 other books that were either about the emergent "movement" or by emergent authors, I have finally found a book that I don't want to put down, one that I will finish.I was frustrated in reading books by emergent authors, because of their double talk, inclusive statements and their choice of images that do not accurately portray reality.D. A. Carson's book is excellent, but one can only absorb so much at a time. The same is true of the book by Gibbs and Bolger. And there is a heaviness of spirit that comes over me while trying to sort it all out; it is vague and disturbing.But, I want to thank DeYoung and Kluck for their clear and fair writing. It is most helpful. The idea that defining the emergent church is like "nailing Jello to the wall" rang so true for me.I want to love Jesus and follow Him with my whole heart, but I need to KNOW ABOUT Him as well.This is a good book to finish out your search for the meaning of the emergent church. The process of reading at least the first half of all the other books (as well as pro and con blogs) made this book even more valuable to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.