Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2

Tyndale House Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2

In the dramatic conclusion to Her Mother's Hope, the Cold War has begun and Carolyn is struggling to navigate her shifting family landscape and the changing times. With her mother, Hildemara, away in a tuberculosis sanatorium, Carolyn develops a special bond with her Oma Marta. But when Hildie returns, tensions between she and Marta escalate, and Carolyn feels she is to blame. College offers the chance to find herself, but a family tragedy shatters her independence. Rather than return home, she cuts all ties and disappears into the heady culture of San Francisco. When she reemerges two years later, more lost than ever, only her family can help rebuild a life for her and her daughter, May Flower Dawn. Just like Carolyn, May Flower Dawn develops a closer bond with her grandmother, Hildie, than with her mother, causing yet another rift between generations. But as Dawn struggles to avoid the mistakes of those who went before her, she vows that somehow, she will be a bridge between her mother and grandmother rather than the wall that separates them forever. Spanning the 1950s to the present day, Her Daughter's Dream is the final chapter of an unforgettable epic family saga about the sacrifices every mother makes for her daughter-and the very nature of unconditional love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Review 1 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Daughter's Dream

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This conclusion to Marta's Legacy does not disappoint. Once again Francine Rivers did another excellent job in weaving this story of family love and hurts. Yes, there is a lot of pain and misunderstanding that at times frustrated me but that did not take away from the beauty of the story. I cried at the end of the story because I wished it had a different conclusion but I understand that life never turns out the way we hope or even like. I learned so much from reading these two books. I will definitely be telling everyone I can to read both books. I without reservation highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a feel good book

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Ohio
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I guess I'm in the minority but I did not like this book or its pre-quel. The characters are very real and Francine Rivers does an excellent job of making you feel their pain and joy. However, it was very frustrating to continually watch every daughter make the same or similar mistakes as her mother did. Except for brief moments of joy, most of the book is about the pain and suffering caused by bad decisions in parenting. It was difficult reading about Carolyn's childhood rape experience- very disturbing. When I picked up these books I expected a more"feel-good" story with a happier ending.
All that being said, the book did make me think about my own personal relationships. But because there were too many painful experiences and an unsatisfying ending, I gave it low ratings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Relationships

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
nanny
Location:Bowie,Tx.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carolyn represents so much of the trials in the world today. Sometimes the love between grandmother and granddaughter can block out a mother. Circumstances as are in this book can cause a number of problems. I have saved the books to read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Rivers

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Gibson
Location:San diego
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both books in this series are great. Everyone can relate to at least one of the women in this book. You finish the book with reflection on your own relationships. I love how much history is also wound into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Margret
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved every Francine Rivers Book that I have ever read. This will be added to my library Collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a difficult read

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
needles
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one which is difficult to read - so true to life. I keep wanting the characters to make the 'right' choices, but they are so real, they don't always do that. I have read several books by this author, and know that she writes very realistic stories - there is a message for all of us in each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
gailly
Location:Oconomowoc, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book. It talks about redemption and healing and how important communication is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her daughter dream

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
laurie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by rivers. so true to real life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspirational reading

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharianne
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the story. Made me think about some of the difficult people I've known over the years, and helped me to be more compassionate and understanding toward them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring saga of family healed through faith

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story reached into my heart and touched my soul. The story of Marta and her legacy to her family is one so many readers can relate to. It is God working in their lives, using the difficult circumstances each one must persevere through to build faith and promote healing from old wounds of the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

embracing grace...

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
berg
continuing the saga of Marta's Legacy, Her Daughter's Dream sequels New York Times best seller, Her Mother's Hope. 5 generations of one family of women, from the 1950s to the present, are developed in depth, detailing life and faith journeys. reader identification runs high with the realistic portrayal of mother/daughter relational conflicts recurring in each generation until the embrace of grace brings healing restoration...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christian Bookworm
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The continuation from Her Mother's Hope includes the next two generations and the main character's interaction with them. It is very interesting to know that this fictional story is representive of Francine Rivers' family heritage. I found it interesting that some of it is located in the region where I have family and during the same time frame. I wondered if they had interacted with each other. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The excellent conclusion of "Marta's Legacy"

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Her Daughter's Dream" is the sequel to "Her Mother's Hope" and the conclusion of "Marta's Legacy." I would definitely recommend reading "Her Mother's Hope" first, as it really sets the foundation for this book. (And if you find this review helpful, you can look up my review for HMH as well.)
The story picks up where HMH leaves off: 1950's America, but this time with Hildemara Rose as the initial protagonist. I won't get into all the dynamics of the story again, as if you've read the first book, you're already familiar, and if you haven't yet, you need to! :)
However, what I will say is that Francine Rivers does an excellent job showing the reality of "the sins of the father shall be visited on the son." Although I'm not saying that literally, you do see how the mistakes of one generation, especially in the area of parenting, cause the next generation to make their own, either by repeating them or by overcompensating and going to the other extreme.
HDD continues to follow the lives of Marta and Hildemara, but Hildie's daughter Carolyn and her daughter, May Flower Dawn, continue this generational story. At some point in this novel, the story is seen through each woman's eyes. The majority of this book is focused on the relationship of Carolyn and her daughter, although of course the previous generations are very integral supporting characters.
As HDD brings the reader to the present day by its conclusion, "Marta's Legacy" covers over a century and 5 generations in its saga. For this reason, you really feel connected to the characters and can truly identify with so much that Ms. Rivers weaves into her tale, whether you are young or old, daughter or grandmother. Again, as I had said this in my previous review, I would recommend this book and its prequel to all women, as the story provides so much insight into that complicated relationship of a mother and daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
JESS
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend these two books to ever woman I know. I read the first one, Her Mother's Hope first and they are just fantastic books. Great book selection for a book club as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Her Daughter's Dream - eBook Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I felt like part of the family

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
mommy4vt
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story has made me realize that generations may come and go, but the trials we face impact us the same way, regardless of the times we live in. I miss the characters that I have read about in this book and want to know more about their future. It also made me reflect on the women in my family. Bottom line, don't judge, empathize with everyone and let God take care of His children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.