Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1

WaterBrook Press A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Review 1 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kat77
Location:Cleveland, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great story! I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I can't wait to read the next in the series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
E. Nelson
A very pleasant story of nice people and how their lives are interconnected in a small Minnesota town and the small ways that God leads us in our lives. A nice book for accompaniment to iced tea on the porch in the summertime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
A reader
In a time when it's trendy to be cynical, A Can of Peas offers a welcome--and perhaps more truth-based--idea of what it means to experience heartache and joy, loss and life, in the imperfect but comforting arms of community. Optimistic without being inauthentic, Peter and Mae's hope-filled story inspires us to preserve that part of American life that has not (as word on the street may have it) entirely disappeared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sharon Madison
A Can Of Peas by Traci DePree combines humor, encouragement, tears and wisdom all expressed through the lives of realistic, well-developed characters. For the first time in my life I found myself understanding (and even longing for) a farm country lifestyle. I hope we see many more books from this gifted author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Diane Noble
Traci DePree has created a charming story that held me captive from page one and didn't let me go until the last page was turned! I fell in love with the characters and the town of Lake Emily. I can't wait to read more of Traci's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Robin Lee Hatcher
A Can of Peas is a charming, gentle story that blossoms in the reader's heart, like the land bringing forth crops for harvest. I fell in love with all the people of Lake Emily. If you have enjoyed any of Jan Karon's Mitford series, then you will definitely want to visit Lake Emily. Traci DePree is a new author to watch!--Robin Lee Hatcher, author of Firstborn & Ribbon of Years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jane Kirkpatrick
Traci DePree has created a fine work here. The people are real with flaws and quirks to make us laugh out loud as well as hopes and dreams and losses that remind us that we are all a part of a family, even those we disagree with. Everything doesn't always turn out well in life (or in this book which is what makes it true), but we do discover in life that miracles exist if we just take a chance, regroup when we fall, hold each other when we hurt and...eat our veggies. This is a super book for cynics who won't be when they're finished reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Can of Peas - eBook Lake Emily Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Deborah Raney
A wonderful first novel! I can't believe what a slice of my life growing up on the farm A Can of Peas is. Exchange peas and corn for wheat and milo, and Traci's descriptions of the farming community of Lake Emily are where I grew up, right down to the extension meetings. As I read, I felt as though I were reliving my childhood growing up on the farm. Lovely!~ Deborah Raney, author of Beneath a Southern Sky and After the Rains
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.