Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Divine Romance

Tyndale House The Divine Romance

Rarely has a piece of Christian literature combined the simplicity of storytelling art with the profound depths of the Christian faith. In this sweeping saga, spanning from eternity to eternity, you will discover some of the deepest riches afforded the believer. Like some mighty symphony, here is a majestic rendition of the love of God. Behold the story of the Crucifixion and the Resurrection as it has never before been presented...from the view of angels! Be there when, rising from the dead, the Lord brings forth his beautiful bride. The story concludes at the consummation of the ages, when a victorious Lord takes his bride to himself. Truly the greatest love story ever told.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Divine Romance
Review 1 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

AWFUL - NOT BIBLICAL SOUND AT ALL!

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debi S
Location:Boise, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so sad so many people are reading this book & stating it is the best book since the Bible.
I feel it is not biblical. In only the 2nd sentence in chapter 1 it reads "The Lord had grown quite weary..." He was weary? I do not think so! He is all powerful. He does not sleep. He DOES NOT become weary!
Then no farther into the book, in the first paragraph of page 4 it reads "He was searching for something..." I got the impression the author was indicating God wasn't sure what he wanted. He was "searching?" I don't think so. I do not find anywhere in the Bible in which it says God created us to make him complete or didn't know what to do; therefore, he created us! Are you kidding? He is complete in himself.
I was very, very disappointed this is even being sold as truth at CBD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lifechanging Experience

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erin
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There aren't enough words to express how much this book has changed my life. I grew up in the Word and have been a Christian since the age of 9. Yet, Gene describes our creation and other areas of the Word in such a way that it all just makes even more sense. Talk about true 'light bulb' moments!! You can't go wrong with this book. Just be ready to give yourself some time to read it. It requires some time to digest all you read. Enjoy :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robby Hall Jr.
Amazing. I read this for a premarriage weekend that my youth group went on, and I loved it. Everyone else did too. It's a beautiful story of God's love for us. 10 out of five stars. Two thumbs up, along with big toes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy
I found this book neither poetic nor theologically sound. Its premise is that God needed to create man in order to fill a void in His life. God did not create man out of necessity but out of love. I'm disappointed that so many people have been encouraged by a book whose basis is not on the Bible's portrayal of Who God is but on a man's imagination of what I assume he wishes God would be.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rose Houseman
This is my favorite book ever. I buy it all the time for gifts for people. I think I bought 10 copies so far. It's poetic and really helps you understand the heart of God.He is awesome and Gene Edwards adequetly show us why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Stanley
It is an absolutely wonderful book! It reveals the great love relationship that God desires with us. I just fell in love with God afresh and new. He is so awesome and had everything planned before time began and I was in the plan. Gene Edwards style of writing makes it come alive with revelation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
fred voight
i have never had any writing other than the bible that has so opened me up to the glory of God if you want to know what is happening in the spirit realm read this book. i have never cried as hard and feel the love of GOD. get this book and give it away to anyone that will read it. praise God for a man who listens and sees.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jim Cmolik
This book validated something that has been churning in my spirit for a long time; namely that a relational condition exists, between God and His creation, that transcends gender and our ability to fully grasp it. Gene Edwards writing may be entertaining to many, but it will life-changing to those who are deeply serious about knowing WHO they are in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice
This a most beautifully put together book about our Creator from the eyes of His angels. A must read for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Holbrook
The Divine Romance is such a beautiful book. I am ordering five at a time to give to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2004
Customer Avatar
Vicky Larsen
This book is for the believer to come back to their first love. This book can share the gospel in a personal way as well as give the basic history of the world. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2001
Customer Avatar
LuAnn
I totally agree with Casey. This book has had such an impact on my life. The way God's love is explained is awesome, amazing and truly freeing. It made you look at the Father God in such a different way. I think it is like reading between the lines of the bible. I can't stop talking about it. I get so full of God when I think about it sometimes it's hard to speak.You gotta read this one. And then pass it on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Divine Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2001
Customer Avatar
Casie F.
Next to the Bible, this is the best book I have EVER read. I think everybody ought to read it, in fact. I finished it for the third time just today, and once again, I cried my eyes out. "The Divine Romance" really makes you so much more aware of how deeplyGod does love you, and it breaks your heart and comforts you all at the same time. Gene Edwards is either a genius, or inspired by God Himself- quite possibly both. This is truly the most beautifullove story ever told, and it's been told rather beautifully in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.