Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1

Multnomah Books Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1

Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Review 1 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rottier Sharon
this is definitely action-packed and a nail-biter but very sensitive to the realities of terrorism and how we can respond to this as a Christian. I really enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
For awhile now my sister has hounded me to read this series, said I would love it. Turns out I did! I only have read the first book but I loved it SO much. Anyone who asks I'll say this is a must read book. I can't wait to read the 2nd and 3rd books. "Allah's Fire" kept me on the edge of my couch the whole time. And as the book went on the more interesting it was, there was more action, more humor, and just more John and Liz! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was almost like a movie for me. The writers displayed the planning, the bombings, the terrorists, the army guys so well. Keep them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
If you're looking for action packed military books this is about as good as it gets. It is an exciting story filled with action and humorous and likeable main characters. Of course, there is a dark side to the story. It shows a little into the muslim mind and the shameful way they treat their women. Liz Fairchild is in Beruit to write a story on these women when her sister is kidnapped during a hotel bombing. this powerful new fire bomb is what brings Task Force Valor in from the states where they have been mourning a fallen friend. Liz is determined to find her sister, John Cooper, the distributors of the hily volatile new bomb. The two's missions collide and they must work together to accomplish their missions and get out of the country safely before they are captured. Great read. Buckle your seat belt. It's quite a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Robbins
Very truthful in its depiction of what that area is like in Lebanon.Keeps a person's interest up and helps to understand the mind-set of Islamic radicals. Find it more non-fiction than fiction.Jan Robbins
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Peale
Great read. This book sat in my book stash for months and I didn't pick it up. When I did start reading it, I couldn't put it down. I like suspense, military drama and light romance. I disagree that it was mushy. I am hoping the two authors develop the characters of the rest of the team. I also truly makes you appreciate our military. This book is NOT far-fetched. I looking forward to reading more in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth Arthur
Excellent new series. Would recommend to anyone that likes military suspense. Can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
J.C.
I just finished reading this book.It's a great book! I really liked the special forces bomb team. The suspense is great about the secret(almost nuclear it seems)weapon that can't be detected. But there was a little too much mushy, kissing romance in the end between the two main characters. But other than that it was a pretty good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anne Linne
This is my favorite of all of Gayle Roper's works, which is saying something because all her books are excellent. Shortly after finishing this book, news reports exposed real plots frighteningly similar to what had been written. It is an exciting book and one that would appeal to both Christian readers and non-Christians alike. I recommended it to my husband, which says it all, since in 25 years of marriage we've only agreed on a handful of books. I would highly recommend Allah's Fire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Hollie
This book is definitely my all time favorite of any of the books I've ever read. (which believe me is a lot) I loved it!!! The story plot was awesome, the facts were very well researched, and the characters were wonderful! I fell in love with John!!! And Liz was great.....very feminine.....but tough and couragous as well! Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2006
Liz and her sister Julie are two Americans that live in Lebanon. When the building that Julie was attending a party at is destroyed by a bomb, Liz goes on a mission to find her after finding evidence that she may still be alive. Meanwhile John is a member of a special ops team sent to Beruit to find Palestinian extremists who have discovered a new way to threaten terror in the region. John and Liz's lives intertwine as they try to find Julie and prevent the terrorists from instigating more fear into the lives of the people there. The story is non stop action throughout, an edge of your seat reality read.While reading this book, I felt like I was watching the evening news. Everything seemed so real and action packed. The situations the characters got themselves in could be ripped right out of the headlines. At first John's story felt a little boring to me with all the military talk and I wanted to get back to Liz's and Julie's story. However as I got more into the book, I enjoyed reading from both angles. I thought it was very interesting learning more about the Arab and Muslim culture. Many Americans don't really understand the religion and get only a one sided view on it. By explaining customs and rituals, the reader is able to have a better understanding of that side of the world. I also liked how the explanation of the way women are viewed in that world. As westerners, it's hard to understand why women would allow men to treat them the way they do in Arab countries. I appreciated that while Liz is an American, her character is used to the customs of the country because she grew up there. She does not act like a fish out of water or have scenes displaying ignorance. This book is recommended for those who like action stories, stories that could have happened, or interested in what life is like in the Middle East.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jill Nelson
My life right now doesn't leave much room for recreational reading (even though I love to read), but I started this book and couldn't let it alone until I finished. Excellently portrayed military action intersperses with compassionate portrayal of tough issues pervasive to the Middle East. The relationships between the characters are realistic and thoroughly enjoyable. And the insight into the terrorist mindset is quite chilling. Great start to a new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle C.
I am another one who started reading this during the Israeli-Lebanese conflict. I found it to be a very timely book. I'm definitely looking forward to the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2006
Awesome book! I started reading it as the fighting is going on between Isreal and Lebanon, which made it all the more interesting. The authors have done a tremendous job on this. It may appeal to guys more than women, though it is a good read for either. I am looking forward to more in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathi Macias
Allahs Fire by Chuck Holton and Gayle Roper is a real thriller from start to finish. With romance and intrigue, terror and terrorism, this well written first novel of the Task Force Valor series has it all, taking the reader on a wild ride that spans continents and lifestyles. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Betty Southard
Great story, believable characters. From the moment I picked it up I had trouble putting it down. Loved the insights into military operations, the human aspect of life in a refuge camp, and the interaction between the civilians and the military. Good writing. I look forward to more in the Task Force Valor series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
C. Parvin
I took Allah's Fire on vacation and nearly missed the vacation since I didn't want to put the book down! The characters come alive with real emotions and struggles--even the actions they take that an observer would think insane are understandable given the extreme circumstances in which Liz and John find themselves. If you've ever wondered, "How could God allow--?" you'll be able to relate to the main characters' spiritual battles and perhaps gain some insights from the peace they find. This is a book worth reading. Looking forward to more of this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nancy Meyer
I've always enjoyed Gayle Roper's writing, and her newest book--with Chuck Holton--is the best ever! Allah's Fire took me frighteningly close to the inner workings of terrorism. It helped me crawl into the mind of a suicide bomber--scary! But the story line also explained how the greatness and goodness of God's sovereignty fits with the horrors and injustice of evil as we seldom witness it in America. The book is fat, but not slow! It will push you to finish it quickly because every chapter ends with a page turner. For one who usually reads light, fluffy, inspirational romance, I must say I thoroughly enjoyed and gained new perspectives from this stimulating, adventure read! Thanks, Gayle and Chuck--I can't wait until Task Force Valor, Book TWO comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
The authors have done a great job on this one. I hated to put it down, and couldn't wait to pick it back up again. I can hardly wait for the next book in the series. (I certainly hope they're planning one).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Allah's Fire - eBook Task Force Valor Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tammy Mantooth
I really enjoyed this book. It is action-packed and full of intrique. I found myself carrying the book everywhere so I could read it whenever there was a quick moment. I look forward to reading more from this writing duo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.