Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4

WaterBrook Press Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4

From popular author Rene Gutteridge comes Boo, Humbug! A holiday season revisit to tiny Skary, Indiana, has the town buzzing over a production of Dickens A Christmas Carol. But, with abundant mishaps and eccentric characters, Christmastime might never be the same!
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
Review 1 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Funny!

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boo Humbug is such a cute, funny story! It is the fourth book in the "Boo Series" by Rene Gutteridge. I have not read the other books, but I was still able to follow along easily. The title might turn off some people (Boo), but the book is not what you would expect. The story is about a crazy old lady who decides to put on a Christmas Carol Play as a horror story. Everybody tries to tell her how crazy that is, but she won't listen. The story is about a man who can't figure out why he is so unhappy and what he needs to do to be happy. We all know the only way to find true happiness is through our Lord, Jesus Christ. The ending is totally unexpected and will make you smile. I would definitely recommend reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane Williams
This short little book has all the fun of the longer books with the real message of Christmas coming through by the end of the story. By now I wanted to live in Skary and visit with all the people who make up this fun and caring town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
"A Christmas Carol" comes to Skary, Indiana. This fourth charming and quirky novel in Gutteridge's "Boo" series finds the residents of Skary at Lois' mercy as she attempts an adaptation of the Dickens classic for the community theater. Misunderstandings abound, as usual, in the midst of Skary's citizens in this Christmas Tale - Skary style. Filled with witty scenarios and some laugh out loud moments, this book, like the other "Boo" novels, is a surprising and welcome addition to my Christmas reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donita K. Paul
I've read every book in the series. Although it's after the season, I still enjoyed the Christmas tale. Boo is still may favorite of the series, but I will encourage my reading buddies to read this right after Thanksgiving next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Lee Thomas
I loved the quirky town of Skary and the people are so wierd they're cool.I eagerly await each book in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Solstad
Great fun to read, but I found the first 3 books of the series more entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
I love going back to Skary for the holidays. It's always gives a good laugh and the characters are insane but lovable. Lois drives me nuts again. Her intentions are good but man, would I go crazy if I had to be in her play. It was funny thought reading about her insistence on having things try to go her way even though her warped mind can't see how wrong it would be. I found it hilarious that Lois told Dustin to follow poor Ainsley around because she is the picture of optimism. Poor Ainsley because right then she is anything but optimistic thanks to Wolf shirking fatherly duties. Surprisingly, Melb didn't annoy me like she had in the other books. She was being a tad overprotective with her son but then what new mother isn't? So I was pleasantly surprised to find myself not wanting to skip over her appearances. Both her and Ainsley reactions to being mothers are refreshing and it's also fun to read about Oliver and Wolfe's new experiences to fatherhood. The comment about changing diapers from two different perspectives was a hoot. Alfred's scenes were wonderful especially the scene at the end which was very moving and heartwarming. While this book is short, it's great fun to read. It's never preachy but the true meaning of Christmas is obvious. It will definately get you in the mood for the holidays. And if you happen to be a Scrooge, look out: you will get a smile on your face after reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boo Humbug - eBook Boo Series #4
This review is fromBoo Humbug, Boo Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Lamb
Another great addition to the Boos series! I finished it in a flash, and was left wanting more. Applause to Rene Gutteridge for creating very real characters we can laugh with, cry with, and grow to love. I can't wait for the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.