Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook

WaterBrook Press Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written with a post-apocalyptic edge, the story line moves at a great pace, with all kinds of twists and turns. However, with that being said, some of the turns left me wondering where the person or event fit into the total picture. I wasn't satisfied with the ending, it left me wondering "why" with the main character. Had that been satisfied, I would have given it a more positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sigmund Brouwer is one of the best and most diverse authors I have ever read. I would recommend any of his books to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pete
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I loved the story I could not put the book down,I want to read the next book (Fight of Shadows)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dystopian story is filled with top notch writing

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broken Angel by Sigmund Brouwer is the first of two books featuring Caitlyn Brown in a dystopian world where she has something that many people are willing to kill her for. Caitlyn was raised in the religious community of Appalachia by her father Jordan. The community is run by Bar Elohim and kept under tight control, where everyone's actions and constantly recorded on vidphone and no one is allowed to read, especially the Bible. She is long used to uncomfortable stares and being called a freak by others for the hunch on her back and her unusually long fingers. Now her body seems to be going through some new changes, which makes Jordan decide to act. The government has sent agent Carson Pierce into Appalachia to find Caitlyn and Jordan and return them for mysterious reasons. Pierce hires Mason, well-feared within Appalachia, as a bounty hunter to track the girl down, and when she slips through his fingers again and again, Mason begins to take it personally. But Jordan has had a plan in place since Caitlyn was born that someday, that he would someday need to get her to the outside world, where she would be safe, but the secrets that he has kept from his daughter, just may separate them permanently. Brouwer has written a book that is almost impossible to classify. It's filled with adventure, action, thrilling suspense, faith, coming of age, dystopia, and plenty of mystery. Mason is a terrifying villain with a tendency of brutal violence, and the closer he comes to Caitlyn, the faster the pages turn. The writing is excellent and will keep readers guessing as characters flip from villain to hero and back again and Brouwer's vision of the future has some frightening basis in reality. Yet, despite the darkness and the violence, Brouwer is careful to keep hope alive, something for the characters to fight and die for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

strange plot

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
DebW
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book had a strange plot. Read it all the way through hoping it would get better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Blackwell
I have always enjoyed a good against evil escape story. Caitlyn was raised on the fringes of the hills of Appalachia which has been separated from the rest of the US as a nation of its own. The nation is dotted with closed off and controlled communities. Rules and horror stories keep people in line and a combination of technology and simplistic life style keep the people tightly controlled. Because Caitlyn is different, she has been protected by her father and kept at a safe distance from the communities. Because Caitlyn is different, she is not safe in Appalachia.As the story opens, you know Caitlyn is being hunted, but you aren't exactly sure why. The reason why became apparent to me very quickly, but I think that may be because of the type of novels I have read in the past. The story doesn't center around the why as much as the chase. The reader is introduced to several characters who by circumstances will join Caitlyn on her journey. We are also introduced to some characters who are out to get Caitlyn and anyone who gets in the way.What I liked was the very story idea. I do wish that the book went a little deeper into the nation of Appalachia and its leader as I found it very interesting. I also really enjoyed the characters that helped Caitlyn. I would love to go into detail, but I don't want to spoil a thing! The story moved quickly. It was definitely a book I didn't want to put down. I began it before bed and finished it the following afternoon. It obviously left you with some unanswered question which is to be expected as it is the first in a series.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
dawnette
I just finished this book and I can't wait until the sequel is released in May. I couldn't put this book down. This book really made me stop and think about how much goverment could take from us and how we need to think for ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
kaylyn r
sooooo good with great charactors...kept me reading which is hard to do with my attendtion span
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2008
Sigmund Brouwers Broken Angel is the story of Caitlyn, a very different young woman, who must escape the clutches of those who pursue her and make it to the Outside in order to survive. This story of extremely close knit culture was like a roller coaster ride.Its mixture of futuristic and primitive images a la Planet of the Apes keeps the reader off-balance and constantly guessing where the next line of the book will lead. The sinister tone of the story makes you attentive, watching for any little detail that may give away the ending. I enjoyed the techniques employed by the author to keep the reader interested in the story. This included very short chapters and weaving back and forth between plot points in each chapter. With surprising and unpredictable characters, this novel does not disappoint. The song at the end of the book was also a nice touch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tina Ann Forkner, Author
Broken Angel is a truly original book that ought to make a huge splash in the Christian book industry. Set in the future after the true meaning of Christianity has turned into a political movement, the interesting characters of this book are trapped in more than an extremist cult. They are trapped in a pseudo-country within the U.S. that imposes outrageous religious rules, including the revival of stoning, on its less than citizens. This book will keep readers turning the page to see how it ends. With a strong message that seems to say what is meant for evil can still be turned to God's glory, Broken Angel will scare you, but also leave you pondering the future and trusting in God's power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Greer
I think this was a good book. Wanted to read it all the time. However, I found it very similar to a James Patterson book I had just read. I have always enjoyed Sigmund Brouwer's book though. And this one was a good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Before I offer my review, here are a few things you need to know about me: I'm a big fan of sci-fi, futuristic stuff, and action/suspense. It's important to keep this in mind when I say how much I enjoyed Broken Angel. Brouwer has created a vision of the not-so-distant future that while at first might seem a little far out, leaves you thinking.... hmmm... what if... The story begins with Caitlyn and her father fleeing bounty hunters. At this point, we don't know exactly why they're being hunted. In fact, the further on you read, the more questions pop up. Brower writes as though we know what's going on and don't need to have it explained. The result is a slow revelation that makes this book compulsively readable. If you are squeamish, be warned: there are some fairly graphic torture scenes of Jack Bauer intensity. But there are some lovely moments, too. The scenes between Caitlyn, Theo and Billy are touching. And the implication of the church as a political force, devoid of grace, is particularly powerful and timely. My one beef is that the end of the book seemed to come too quickly and I was left with at least two unanswered questions. Maybe I just missed something, or maybe the author wanted to leave the reader with something to ponder. Or perhaps, and I hope this is the case, we can expect a sequel. At any rate, I greatly enjoyed this unique book. If you enjoy futuristic action and don't faint at the sight of blood, you'll want to pick up this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Broken Angel was... interesting. The author is... imaginative. Okay, it was a strange book. Really strange. But it had a good message despite the weirdness and occasionally sick-o scenes. What I gleaned from Broken Angel is that if you take your eyes off Christ and get so wrapped up in the culture that you forget grace, then you can be led away to the point where you've forgotten what it really means to be a Christian. Oh, and when legalism abounds we are not far from the Nazis and the control they had over their society. Extremist? Perhaps. But I see no harm in Brouwer creating a story to bring those points out if we want to avoid repeating history. And the ending was...interesting. I almost get the impression there could be a sequel to this bizarre tale. And honestly, the book was compulsively readable and though several times Broken Angel was graphic and descriptive enough to make me shudder, I'd read the next book in the series if there is one. Why? Because good does eventually overcome evil, and because God is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Broken Angel: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromBroken Angel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
This book was rare and unique and boy does it make you think... from page 1 to the last page I kept turning frantically while my brain was trying to translate what was happening into terms that my little brain could grasp. Sigmund does a phenomenal job of making Caitlyn someone that you wanted to help (all the while showing us over and over that she didn't need my help!) and the cast of characters that were brought in around her, both to help and hinder her, were so real and intriguing. There is a point in the book that you are not sure who the good guys and the bad guys really are and then Sigmund has a way with pulling the mystery out and not really letting us know ALL the details til we are breathless at the end and flipping through the last few pages hoping that it turns out the way we want it to... Sigmund does not disappoint - though I am glad to hear that there is supposed to be a sequel because I would really like to see where Caitlyn goes from here.I would highly recommend this book to someone that is looking for a break from the traditional romance or mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.