Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook

Multnomah Books Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Review 1 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Book For Preachers

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Armando
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you really want to do your part in capturing people's attention in preaching, I recommend this book. It's an easy, but powerful, read. This style of preaching is very different than what is traditionally taught by mentors and Christian colleges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As per Mr. Stanley's sermons, this book has one point: one point sermons. It is an easy read and makes a good point. I do find the book light and limited in its usefulness, although it has some good tips for preaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
kruser
Location:Guthrie Center, Ia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wondeful conversation starter and good study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for any leader.

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Columbus, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first thought when reading the book was that it was only for preachers. However, this book is relevant for any leader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A complete revelation on preaching

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chilly Philly
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been preaching for several years now, but I knew I wasn't doing a good job. I was never trained in preaching. It was sink or swim and I've been treading water for years.
I've heard great preachers as well as bad ones (I'm talking the cure for insomnia type preachers). I've always wondered how great preachers do it, but they are always hesitant to share real insight (they give you good for nothing kind of pointers). Thank God, Pastor Andy was willing to share how he does it.
I've also wondered how bad preachers don't have a clue how bad they really are. For them, it's the congregations fault for not "getting it", it's the congregations fault for "spacing out". After all, they are preaching the Word of God and that is enough. I agree with them, but when it's not enough, it's time to try something different.
I can't believe this book has been out so long and I never heard of it until now. I wish I had read it before I preached my first message. These are reasonable, practical keys to communication. I didn't like the expository bashing, because when I want to read and understand the bible I turn to expository (books and preaching). But I must admit that I didn't before I became a preacher. What is perhaps the most important aspect that I learned was how to connect with the audience and not to move into the "message" until I have connected. I think that's been my biggest flaw. I think that's the biggest flaw for "bad preachers". If you are thinking about buying this book, I would recommend it before buying countless other books on preaching (like I have). Give this book the first shot and if you disagree with it, move on to the next.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have bought 4 of these books...

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sista C
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought four of these books to hand out...Great Stuff...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Just finished the book and found it well done, the parable which makes up the first half of the book is incredible. Although I don't agree with the book 100%, Stanley brings up a lot of good points that any communicator or preacher should incorporate. A great tool for the new preacher or those stuck in a rut! Very easy to read and refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pekka Perho
Really interesting and easy to read. The story in the beginning of the book (the first few chapters are almost novel-like) really inspires to read the "teaching-part" of the book.Andy supports a one-point message with life changing applications. The book is not written to completely change your style of preaching. Instead it aims to make your messages more applicable to the people you are speaking to. Recommended for any public speaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Scott
This book is a must read for any preacher, lay-speaker, or Bible teacher. It provides a dynamic look at speaking, the author asks the tough questions necessary to effectively communicate in ways that change lives. Dry communication theory has been applied in ways that make it fresh and easy to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Couch
This is an incredible take on how we should share God's message. It will revolutionize the way you think about speaking in any venue any where. What a challenge!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly Keith Dunn
I feel compelled to warn fellow Christian Communicators. This book may make you angry. It just might inspire you to change the way you communicate the life-change message of hope. I suppose whether you are angered or inspired depends upon what your goal is. Is your goal to teach the Bible to people? Or, is it your goal to see people changed as they apply the life-changing message of the Bible? If you are comfortable with people telling you "Nice message..." as they leave; If you really don't want to disturb those who sit under your preaching/teaching; If you are satisfied with merely reading your three points to your people and expect that they'll "get it" because it is a sermon then you might want to take a pass on this book. However, If you are like me and have a burning desire to see people CHANGED having heard the crucial message you want to give them then you will want to read this book (several times) with a legal pad and pen! I can hear my seminary preaching professor even now in my mind, "This is against all convention!" That would be a correct assessment to be sure. I'll confess the title caught my interest so I picked up the book. Once I started reading this book I literally could NOT put it down. Please know that I have read many books on the art and science of preparing, and delivering sermons. I have had several preaching classes in seminary, but NONE of them challenged me to make ONE point! Andy Stanley did... give him a fair hearing. I know this: I will never communicate Biblical truth the same way ever again! As Stanley correctly states, there is so much that is at stake!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sam ONeal
"Communicating for a Change" was recently named the Book of the Year for preaching skills by PreachingToday.com.Stanley's 7 imperatives are very helpful in streamlining your teaching in order to produce life change in your listeners, whether you are a pastor, small group leader, or Sunday school teacher.The extended parable is also a very helpful, and very unique, way to present this information.Readers who enjoy this book should check out "The Return of a Mighty Church," by Jack Eggar. This is a fictional story of an everyman pastor's attempts to turn around a dying church. Within the story, Eggar weaves in 5 principles that can help any church experiencing stagnant or declining growth. It's a great read, and very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Communicating for a Change: Seven Keys to Irresistible Communication - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nathan Hyde
This is by far the best book I've ever read about preaching! Once again the team from North Point has given us a resource that is so practical that it seems like we should already know the seven imperatives it teaches, because they make so much sense. Reading this book made me excited about preparing for my next message, so I can exercise the things I learned. No preacher or teacher or any other communicator should go without this book! It will revolutionize your speaking and multiply your effectiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.