Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book

Multnomah Books Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book

Doctor Lisa Harper is determined to rescue her mother, Annie, from an abusive husband and end the separation they've endured since Lisa was sixteen. If not for security expert mark Taylor, Lisa's devoted friend who's oved her from afar for years, Lisa wouldn't know if her mother was dead or alive. But her stepfather refuses to let Lisa interfere, so he hires NINA a multinational organized crime group, to assault Annie, to lure Lisa out into the open where she's abducted.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Review 1 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

crossroads

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second in the Crossroads Crisis Center trilogy, and it’s highly recommended to read the first one to gain the backstory. All the characters we got to know in the first book are back, but the emphasis is on the story of Lisa and Mark. We share their up- close- and- personal encounters with pure evil when the menacing NINA returns for more murder and mayhem, including assault and abduction, with threats of worse brutality to come. The plot seems to be more straight -forward than in FORGET ME NOT. Here it isn’t as much the need to identify the players in the crimes as it is to locate and rescue the heroine before it is too late. The suspense is unrelenting.
The good characters are likeable, flawed-but- redeemed people, and the bad guys are despicable and heartless . As the story unfolds, we examine with the characters the questions in Mark’s and Lisa’s minds: How could one human being treat another with so little regard for sanctity of life? What does a Christian do when faced with a question of kill or be killed? How could one survive the unsurvivable without faith to cling to? Can “fumes of faith” be enough to stay strong and trust God for deliverance?
Great story given to me to read by The Book Club NEtwork in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another thrilling suspense story from Vicki Hinze!

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another thrilling suspense story from Vicki Hinze!
This book was an emotional ride through some very dark topics. I was amazed how, despite the difficult topics of murder, abuse, kidnapping, human trafficking, the author kept the story from being impossibly dark and hopeless. Yes, these things were not whitewashed, but hope shone through on every page. Specifically the hope that comes from Jesus, and the inner strength and courage that only He can give.
The characters are not victims paralyzed by fear. They fight back, try to survive and do what is right. They sacrifice personal safety for each other and for strangers. It reminds me of the thought, “if not me, then who will?”
I enjoyed the first book in this series, Forget Me Not, but I liked this one even better. There was something about Lisa and Mark that drew me in and kept me turning those pages to find out what would happen next. Both characters have a sense of responsibility that I admired, sometimes they take on more than they should in the guilt department, but they do their best to protect and help those placed under their care.
Deadly Ties moves around geographically, Florida, Louisiana, Mexico. Not bogging the story down, the author handles the scenery in this book very well. Enhancing the story, the senses are drawn in with the sights, sounds, smells. As a reader I like to read a book that engages not only my emotions but immerses me into the story so that when I put it down I have to 'return to the real world', this book did it very well.
One of the best suspense series' that I have read, it's nice that I already have the final book on my TBR shelf.
(I received this book from the Publisher through Bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was another excellent story, although I didn’t feel sucked in as quickly with this one as I did the first one, Forget Me Not. Our main characters were all introduced in that first book so you were somewhat familiar with them. However, the author takes us to much deeper into their past and events that shaped their current lives. She does a great job of telling you their history that you feel their pain, for me, I was especially touched by Mark’s past. His story was a strong reminder of the influence parents have on their children’s self esteem.
I, personally, struggled with some of the decisions Annie made in her past, but I can’t relate with the circumstances that put her into the place she was. If I were in her position maybe I would make the same decisions.
The story not only dealt with the personal struggles of the main characters but it also touched on the topic of human trafficking, with some interesting twist.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed the first book as well as anyone new to Vicki Hinze’s writing style. You do not have to read book one to enjoy book two. The author does a good job of introducing the characters and chances are if you read book two first, you’ll want to go back and read book one. If you like Kristen Heitzmann books, then I think you’ll like Vicki Hinze’s books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars. Enjoyable read!

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deadly Ties was fast paced and tied nicely in with the first book, though you don't have to read the first book to enjoy it. I do think reading the first book gave me a better perspective because I had that in the back of my mind. I loved the NINA concept and the code words like the cleanup crew and the spiders. That was pretty creative and interesting. I really loved the romance part of the story. At first, I wasn't sure how much I'd like the book because the first chapter didn't do much for me. I thought it was an odd way to start the story, but it quickly grew on me and the next thing I knew I was pulled in and didn't want to stop.
I am not a huge fan of suspense, but the romantic aspects of this novel were a big plus for me. I loved the military scene where the hero lost Jane and then the flashbacks Lisa started to have about what happened to her when she was seven. I found it interesting that she replaced the truth of what happened with a story that fit. Kids do that, so it fit the story well. The tie-in with the Crossroads Crisis Center was minimal in this story compared to the first book, but I still enjoyed it very much.
The subplot regarding human trafficking was interesting. This author didn't soften some of the harsh realities of the crime underworld, and that seems to be her greatest strength. She paints a story with scary, realistic villains, and keeps you worried for them. I wasn't sure how any of them would survive. That's great storytelling because I forgot I was reading fiction for awhile there...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Copperpenny
Location:Bosque Farms, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike Bookwomanjoan I read the book and found it to be very realistic and well written. I had already read Forget Me Not and loved it. I will definitely read the next installment in the Cross Roads Crises Center Series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great one from Vickie Hinze~!

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ppreacherswife
Location:Weaverville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I found Vickie Hinze! Her books pull you in, wrap you up and don't turn you loose until the very last page! Deadly Ties by Vickie Hinze is now officially my favorite book of Vickie Hinze.
Lisa Harper is an amazingly strong woman who has overcome the trauma of witnessing her father's murder, a childhood filled with fear and mental abuse, watching her mother's physical abuse by her step-father, and is now a new Doctor, working at the Crossroads Crisis Center. Lisa's main goal in life is to get her mother away from her controlling abusive husband.
Mark Taylor is a security expert, former Spec Ops officer, and long time friend of Lisa's, who just happens to be in love with her.
Together Mark and Lisa take on her step-father, human traffickers, and a world wide crime ring, all while discovering feelings they have for each other.
Vickie Hinze weaves a suspense filled tale that keeps you so hooked you can't put the book down! I can't wait for the next installment in this series!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrilling Contemporary Suspense

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:Vale, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Domestic Abuse and Human Trafficking. These are crimes that are happening in our country, in some of our own neighborhoods, and Vicki is to be admired and respected for having the courage to write about them with such realism. She does an excellent job delving into the intricacies of each. Bringing me inside the mind of the abuser, which I found quite chilling, and inside the mind of the abused, which I found to be very admirable, made me feel as if I was taking part in the story. There are some disturbing scenes depicted that I could easily visualize but I didn't feel they were gruesome.
Vicki portrays strong leading characters that struggle with doubt and all life has dealt them. The spiritual element isn't overpowering, but blends perfectly with the situations happening in the book. In the end they realize that God had been preparing them, through their trials and life experiences, "for such a time as this". (I can't remember if this exact phrase is used, but that's certainly what I concluded.)
There's a familiar cast of characters from the first book in the series, Forget Me Not, so don't forget to read that one first. It's not absolutely necessary, but you'll love the book!
Overall, I think if you like to read gripping romantic suspense then this book is for you!
*I won this book in a contest.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Ties is a contemporary fiction mystery, CSI type book. I believe this is the fisrt book I have read by Vicki and I really enjoyed it, in fact I had a hard time putting it down!
The book is about Lisa Harper. She had an ideal childhood until she saw her father murdered when she was seven years old. Her mother married an evil man named Dutch who had ties with some pretty bad people. When Lisa was 16, her mother gave her to a friend who worked at the Crossroads Crisis Center. There she learned how to defend herself and make a life for herself with the single goal of rescuing her mother from her stepfather.
Vicki does a great job of of illustrating how even when we think God is not blessing us, He is preparing us for things we are not aware of. God is always in control and does not make any mistakes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

could not put it down!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when you thought you had read all the books that were you absolute favorites, here comes a new one. A book that leaves you yearning for more of the story. I loved the first book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series, but this one just topped it! Vicki Hinze is such an excellent author, and her way with suspense and mystery sets her high on my list of favorite authors.
Centered once again around the Crossroads Crisis Center, this story is more detailed about the people of the center, than the actual center. Lisa Harper, has had a rough life, her dad died of a supposed accident when she was young, her mom married a control freak with an evil streak, and eventually Lisa and her step-dad clashed so much that Annie sent Lisa away for her own protection. She sent her to live at the Towers apartments, with some of her trusted friends from the Center. Now twelve years later, Lisa is celebrating obtaining her license as a medical doctor, and her new job at the hospital. Now, Lisa will get her mother away from the evil Dutch Hauk, and they will live together peacefully. At least that is what she hopes, but Dutch has other plans, even if it means having Lisa's mother killed.
What should have been a happy occasion, is the beginning of a nightmare. An exciting series of events that will have you on the edge of your seat as you follow the horrors that could be. Discovering that her mother has been beaten and left for dead, Lisa rushes to her mom's side at the hospital, only to be abducted. As she realizes the dangers that she and the other two women in the truck with her are in, she begins re-living a nightmare. The only problem is that nightmare was real, it was what happened to her as a young child. All these years of believing her dad died while on a mission trip to Haiti, Lisa is horrified to have flashbacks of him being murdered, and her being abducted. Will she survive this time, or will she live long enough to be beat to death in a fight to the death match? The horrors she faces are real, and she has got to keep her wits about her, it is the only she will survive and be able to help the other women survive too?
Mark Taylor, the security chief for the Center, and for the owner of the center is on the job. He loves Lisa and the only person who doesn't know that is him. But he vows to Lisa's mom that he will find her and he will bring her back safe. How is he going to do this? He has no idea, but knows he has to trust in the Lord to keep her safe and to help him find her.
A face paced book, you can not put down. I laughed and cried through the entire book and it will go into my permanent library. Do not miss this book!! Readers guide included. 323 pages US $13.99 5 stars.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AN AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL ROMANCE/SUSPENSE/THRILLER

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
DEADLY TIES by Vicki Hinze is an exciting inspirational suspense/thriller set in present day Atlanta,Georgia.(Crossroads Crisis Center Series). It is the sequel to "Forget Me Not",but can be read as a stand alone. It is written with depth and details. It has romance,faith,adventure,love,friends,spousal abuse, human trafficking,forgiveness,trust,control,healing and second chances. The characters are believable,engaging and will capture your heart. This is a fast paced,action packed suspense,romantic adventure that will have you captured from the first page to the last. This is a powerful story of the beginning of love and trust entwined with a powerful drama of lost,human trafficking and pure evil. I would highly recommend this book to any one to enjoys suspense,thrillers,and romance. It does have faith entwined into the story but it is not preachy.This book was received for the purpose of review from Multnomah Book Group and details can be found at Doubleday Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.
** I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review**
AN
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vicki Heinz Christian Suspense

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deadly Ties: Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2
Vicki Hinze
4 Stars
Multnomah Books
Deadly Ties is the second book in Vicki Hinze’s newest series. Not having read the first book “Forget Me Not” I had to look up something about it as to know what was going on in this book although the book can be read as a standalone. Since I like to keep a series going I have ordered the first book to read. Like having your desert first then the main meal.
Lisa Harper had always been close to her father and when he is killed it just about devastated Lisa and her mother Annie. When her mother remarries little does she know the horrific situation she has put herself into and that of her daughter Lisa. Dutch Hauk is an abusive man and his hatred for Lisa is soon discovered. Fearing for her life, her mother awards custody of Lisa to a dear friend. Vowing to keep them apart Dutch means to keep that vow no matter what the cost. This then is the lead in to Deadly Ties.
Determined to get her mother away from Dutch Lisa soon earns her Doctors degree and is now self sufficient. Separated since she was 16 years old they now have to make up for the time they have been apart. Only Dutch has other plans and they are deadly. When Mark Taylor of the Shadow Watchers along with his unit is hired to watch over Annie and Lisa, little did they know just how vicious Dutch could be. Involved in drugs, prostitution and hit men, can they take out Dutch before any harm comes to Annie and Lisa.
To me the book was a little slow getting into for the first 50 or so pages. After that it picked up. I feel if for myself I had read the first book first then went into this one it would have not been as slow . Others may pick up right from the beginning and get into it. Even though the book contains violence, suspense and romance it is Christian based. There is a great message to the book that lets one know that God has not forgotten them even though they may think he has without it being overly preachy I really enjoyed it once I got into it.
Disclaimer: I was provided with this free ARC from Waterbrook for my evaluation. A positive review was not required and all opinions expressed here are my own thoughts on the book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BLOCKBUSTER WINNER

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each year, nearly half-a-million women are trafficked around the world for the purpose of sexual slavery. Against this background, Vicki Hinze has fashioned a potpourri of depravity and trials of faith only she could juggle. DEADLY TIES, Book Two of her Crossroads Crisis Center series, is a roller-coaster thriller of violent twists and breakneck turns – from murder and abuse to human trafficking in an international conspiracy. DEADLY TIES is also a cross-over story that dares to examine a heinous crime most Christian fiction chooses to avoid because it is too horrible to think about. Not facing Americans forcing Americans into human bondage for servitude doesn’t make it go away. Only a short time ago, a party of three was arrested in Chicago for human trafficking. Can we continue to pretend it doesn’t happen any longer?
Vicki tackles this question by reeling us in to her novel like a patient fisherman with characters trapped in human dilemmas, thwarted love and quicksand adventure: a perfect formula for a riveting movie that, in the end, reveals the true drama of forgiveness in the pursuit of justice.
I’m not going to summarize the story because I don’t want to spoil the reader’s suspense. You have to read DEADLY TIES to experience its impact, but I think Publisher’s Weekly sums up Vicki’s gift best: She has a talent “for transforming the unlikely into something beautiful.” Truly beautiful, I would say. And worthy of a Christy Award.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gretchen
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly and unforgettable novel! Vicki Hinze has mastered the art of suspense and romance all in one book, Deadly Ties! This novel was a great reminder that even in those times when it seems like God has forgotten us, that is not the case! He has a wonderful plan for us and He can use events in our lives to make us into the person He wants us to be. We can rest in Him, even if we cannot see the big picture. We do not have to be “fumes-of-faith” Christians. He has more than “fumes” for us. We also get His blessings and His strength. Deadly Ties was such a great reminder of that!
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book was hard to follow

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose to review the book “Deadly Ties” by Vicki Hinze from Blogging for Books because I love a good book. From what I read about this book, I thought it would be right up my alley, thriller, suspense, and romance. But I have to say, from the very beginning, I had trouble staying with it. When I get a good book, I usually can’t put it down. This book was hard for me to pick up. I have never read anything by Vicki Hinze and the fact that there was a book before this one may have been part of the problem.
The plot was hard to follow, and again, it may be because I had not read the first one in the series. But it was also very predictable. As much as I love to read a good book, this was not one I enjoyed at all. It was almost a chore to read it. I can’t recommend this book to anyone because I did not enjoy reading it myself.
I was given a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books for my honest opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exceptional story!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of the Crossroads Crisis Center continues with the second book in the series, "Deadly Ties." I liked the first book, "Forget Me Not," but "Deadly Ties" was exceptional! Such a great story. I’m looking forward to reading Book 3.
Though "Deadly Ties" is a sequel, the story is self-contained. You don’t have to read "Forget Me Not" to understand it. Characters from the first book are included in this second story and, in a minor way, their story continues, yet enough detail is given that new readers won’t be lost.
The Crossroads Crisis Center is an agency in Florida created to help people whose lives are in danger, who have immediate, desperate needs. Lisa Harper was a client, became an employee, and has just become a doctor on staff. "Deadly Ties" is her story, past and present. By her side is Mark Taylor, a former Shadow Watcher now head of security for the owner of the Crossroads Crisis Center. He loves Lisa, but feels he must earn her love, rather than just accept it, and fears failing her in any way. When Lisa’s situation becomes desperate, both characters have much to learn about God’s perfect provision and unconditional love.
If you enjoy suspense thrillers with a hint of romance and a deep Christian message, I recommend "Deadly Ties." I thank Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending this fun book for my review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pretty Predictable

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leah Courtney
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lisa Harper has been estranged from her mother for years- all because of her abusive stepfather. She is finally graduating from medical school and is about to be in a position to help her mother get away from the man and his abuse. At the same time, she is looking forward to getting closer to the handsome and strong Mark Taylor who may be a former spy. But when Lisa's mother is beaten and is close to death and Lisa herself is abducted. Mark Taylor and his team of former spies need to find out the link between Lisa and a corrupt anti-government network before it is too late. Can Taylor save Lisa and her mother or will he fail to protect them?
This was the second in a new series by this author. I didn't read the first one, so I had a little trouble catching on at the beginning of the book. From the cover description, the book looked as if it would be right up my alley- suspense, romance, intrigue. Unfortunately, the situations were very contrived and the whole plot was rather unbelievable.
At first, I thought perhaps my dislike of the book came from the fact that I hadn't read the first book, and I was just having a hard time figuring out what was going on and how all the characters were related. But, even as the character relationships became clearer, I just never really enjoyed the book. The love relationship developing between Lisa and Mark seemed very stilted. The plot was very predictable- a big no no for a suspense novel. And the way that everything tied together to relate Lisa's past to what was going on currently was very unbelievable. I know this is fiction, but I expect some sort of reality. This was definitely not one of my favorite reads.
I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books for review purposes. The opinions expressed and strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book That Delivers!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Lisa's mother Annie marries Dutch Hawk, a controlling bully, he succeeds in keeping mother and daughter apart but only temporarily. When they finally reunite Dutch and Karl (an expert marksman) have other plans for the two of them. Dutch and Karl who are involved in a deadly ring upset Lisa's future and it is up to Mark and his team to take action to save Lisa. A race to the death that will keep you on the edge of your chair quickly reading to see the outcome. This is one hard to put down book that really delivers and one that you will not want to miss! Suspense with romance at its best! I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deadly Ties

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Ties by Vicki Hinze was not just good-it was really, really good!!!!. This has to be one of the best ever suspense books I have read. What a storyline that kept you guessing and guessing the outcome.
Lisa Harper has just become a doctor and plans to finally see her mother after 13 years of separation. This separation was not by her choice but a evil stepfather. The story starts with a horrific crime when Lisa was 7 years old and she has hidden many of the specifics of that crime. This also introduces a love interest in Mark Taylor, a Special Operations officer that comes to Lisa and her mother's aid. But can Mark save Lisa and her mother from the evil Dutch Hauk and his evil associates? Dutch wants Lisa dead and will go to all lengths to make sure that happens. This story also deals with the trafficking of women and something new in that area that I had never heard of-and it is so sickening. That, in itself, was very hard to read and know that and more disgusting things are happening around the world to women and children. Makes you glad that God is still in control of all situations and He will win in the end. Was so impressed to see so much scripture throughout the book and you will love the ending.
I will be heading to my library tomorrow to get her first book, Forget Me Not-she is a super writer
Thank you so much to Waterbrook/Multnomah for sending me this copy for free just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful with enjoyable characters

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Deadly Ties" is a Christian romantic suspense novel. It's the second book in the series, and some things in this story won't be entirely clear unless you've first read "Forget Me Not." A subplot in "Deadly Ties" continues the story of the main characters in "Forget Me Not" and thoroughly spoils the events and surprises of "Forget Me Not," so I'd recommend reading these novels in order.
The story was fast-pasted and the suspense (created mainly by physical danger to the various characters) was high throughout. The details about the setting and military/criminal aspects did a good job of bringing the story alive in my imagination (though I did wonder how realistic a few of those details were).
The characters were interesting, and Mark and Lisa were complex, determined, and likable. The romance was handled well with the two characters learning how to love and trust each other while dealing with traumas in their past. I also really enjoyed the joking around that Mark and his buddies did.
Many of the characters were Christians and their faith was a meaningful part of their lives. The main characters struggled with why God seemed to let bad things happen to them while He blessed everyone else. They came to a conclusion which satisfied them, and this did involve some brief Christian-related discussions between them.
There was no sex. There was a very minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this enjoyable, suspenseful novel.
I received a review copy of this book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deadly Ties, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #2 E-Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome page-turning suspense

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vicki Hinze is a new author to me, this being only the second book of hers I have read and reviewed. She has written some secular books, and her first Christian novel was Forget Me Not, which I read and reviewed in April.
This is book two in the Crossroads Crisis Center series. I am always eager to read sequels, wondering if they will be as good, or better than the first in the series. In this case, it is even better. I literally could not put this book down. I was pushing to finish it before I left for work, and succeeded. Totally awesome. My favorite genre' to read is mystery/suspense, and this author nails it.
The book, and the whole series, is set around a Christian run crisis center. I enjoy the characters. The author takes some time for character development, which always helps in a book. The plot is great and covers abuse and human trafficking. It has romance, and of course suspense. I love it when a book is so exciting that you are just pulled into the story and can't wait to find out what happens next, and that is exactly what this book did to me. This is suspense at its best.
Also explored in the book are trusting God, and fully embracing His grace, instead of clinging to past mistakes. Some don't like much of a Christian theme in Christian fiction, which doesn't make sense to me, and though this book is not preachy, there is a definite Christian theme to it, and God's provision and protection are clearly shown.
If Christian fiction was a ball game, Vicki Hinze hit a home run with this. Check her books out. If you enjoy clean suspense, you will love her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>