Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook

WaterBrook Press Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook

Guys aren't the only ones fighting for purity in today's sex-saturated society! Girls who just want to fit in and look attractive can be swept up in destructive relationships and behaviors - paying a terrible cost. Ethridge and Arterburn offer interviews, research, and godly advice to help young women avoid these pitfalls and achieve sexual integrity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Review 1 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reps
Location:UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really worried about my two girls entering the world of sexual availability. It seems that today free sex is everywhere and that does not feel good at all. I saw this book and thought I would give it a go. I am so glad that I did. Written in an easy format that is difficult to put down once started. I could not believe how direct, appropriate and honest this book is. It gets to the bones of what is causing us problems in today's society. One of the best purchases I have done and feel that a lot of pressure and worry and been eliminated from me. I can now help the girls to be, and maintain being, authentic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worth a read!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
kristina
Location:singapore
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previously, i was wondering whether i should get this, like you, i was deliberating, is this book worth it?
This book deals with issues such as relationships (boyfriend), sexual issues that deal with temptations and God, issues of what we wear, media, issues that we face on a daily basis. I'm in my mid 20s and i find this book very thought provoking and useful in being a woman who walks to walk with God and being equipped with the necessary knowledge against these issues.
I feel that this book is worth buying. I will certainly preserve it if it lasts or buy a new copy if im blessed with a daughter in the future.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing!! 5 stars and no less!

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While reading this book, I began reflecting on how amazing it was that one simply book can have a spectacular, live-changing impact, in a reader's life.
I pray that in one way or another God will draw more readers to this book, because trust me on this one, if you are young girl or if you are trying to reach out to one -- whether this person has lost this battle OR not (believe me, you are never too Christian to get good advice), you'll want to read this book. When you're able to get a Christ-based, realistic, funny and smart book, you don't want to miss out because it will REALLY get you thinking about your life, your priorities and how beautiful God is (I learned amazing things from the Word of God, that left me speechless and praising God.) I'm even getting ready to reserve a copy of every Young Man's battle for my brother. Honestly, God bless these authors and may The Lord continue to use them to reach out to the fallen and to encourage the righteous.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great conversational tool

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
juris123
Location:Washington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has really started to open up the discussion with my teen-to-be. It is a great value to have the workbook included. I would definitely recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product was a laughable waste of time.

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
debbie
Location:ma
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this book as a confirmation present and I looked upon it skeptically. As I read it my expectations were met by the impossibly rediculous ideas presented in this book. First, the idea of not kissing before marriage is so far fetched that I would challenge anyone to find a person that would hold such a belief. Secondly, the side hugging rule is not even followed in my church by my priests with whom I am quite close as well as my youth minister and countless others... a hug is a hug. Thirdly, I have many gay friends who have been through such hard times with coming to terms with there sexuality so to say that councelling can "cure" them is naive and ignorant, if one could choose their sexuality then I don't know anyone who would want to go through the things that these friends have. Fourth, the fact that u don't notice an attractive man as u age can be dispelled by my mother, a devout catholic who pointed out my now long term boyfriend as "cute" to me. I have many more issues with this book but the final one that I will state is the section on teen soap operas... I have watched every one of the ones stated and am neither pregnant or addicted to drug or dressing like a skank. If someone is that easily influenced or manipulated by television then they should not be watching anything because they are probably too much of an invalid to function in society. In conclusion although parts of the book made valid points the general over the top approach taken by the authors leaves girls with no other options than becoming a nun or marrying jesus.
-46points
7of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MGrah
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my teen daughter and she loved it so much we bought it for some other girls.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
I am a 22 year old male. I have read Every Man's Battle and was deeply encouraged and strengthen to stand for purity. I was deeply moved by how much our sisters struggle with staying sexually pure as well. Although an incredible book for growing young women in this struggle, it really teaches a man something as well. I thought it was truly a male problem, but females struggle even more emotionally. I greatly appreciate this book and feel it does a great service helping those women that have regretfully taken a few steps too far, desiring to come back. Everything is brought back to life through our Savior Jesus Christ.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie
I enjoy this book because it was relevent to me! It had answer a lot of questions that I had in the past. It teach me about sexual integrity. I recommend this book for all the girls around the world who needs to know about the truth of purity. Go Shannon Ethridge!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Young Woman's Battle: Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica
This is an excellent book for young women. I'm a college student and although this book is geared mainly towards high school students it is very helpful in aiding young ladies into the right path God has. This book is a Must-Read by all young women who are high school or college aged level.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.