Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pearson Learning Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write

Pearson Learning Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write

Part of Sing, Spell, Read & Write's Level 1 curriculum, this 2nd Edition Raceway workbook can be used to extend your curriculum set through multiple children! Storybooks, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and specific writing exercises will help children develop their phonemic awareness, systematic phonics, reading vocabulary, spelling, manuscript writing, comprehension, and grammar; this book is designed to be used with the program. 192 pages, softcover with erasable-marker alphabet "slate" on the backcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Review 1 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very colourful and well laid out.

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Slaman
Location:Brantford, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since using this product before the company has added a lot.
It is very pleasing to look at therefore easy to use. The book covers all the basics, reading, writing, spelling and grammar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Reading Program

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Raceway Book is the second book in the Sing, Spell, Read and Write Level 1 Program. It has fun pages to help children learn things such as rhyming words, plurals, and prefix/suffix. This book uses a fun way to teach children to blend sounds and form words. All of the children I have used this with have enjoyed learning to read, and learned more quickly than their peers. I highly recommend this program. Sing Spell Read and Write has 4 levels Kindergarten, Level 1 (for first graders), Level 2 (for second graders), and Level 3 with the Grammar Plus kit (for 3rd graders). I used Level 1 to teach my children to read in Kindergarten and they had no problems with it. Because they were younger than the recommended grade I did not make them write as many of the words in the lists and gave them only 5 spelling words at a time. They loved this program!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

we love SSRW

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Allison Burr
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SSRW is working really well with both my kindergartener and my 2nd gardener. We love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short easy simple

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moms
Location:Indio/morongo Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sing spell read & write is by far my favorite phonics program. Going through the steps in this book is simple & easy for me & my kids. Two of my kids learned to read on this program in less than 30 minutes a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
octanebeetle
This is our third student we've used Sing, Spell, Read and Write with and we very much enjoy this program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sjana
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third of my children that I am using this curriculum with. We are a homeschooling family with 5 children which makes for a busy home. This curriculum is very well laid out, detailed and most importantly, FUN for the child learning to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, Thorough & Morally Based

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
island mom
Location:Northern Mariana Islands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sing, Spell, Read & Write has been a fun way of learning to read and write for my children, despite their vastly different personalities. One child finished, another is part way through and the next child could hardly wait for theirs to arrive. I love the sequencing. Unlike other systems I have tried or seen, this program does not require the child to know something that they have not been taught yet in order to complete the work or reading. It has also been nice to be able to go through a moral program with only 1 story that was not realistic (about a knight and dragon). There are no religious quotes or doctrines that need to be double checked and explained to a child either. I am very satisfied with this product and glad that someone else recommended it to our family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raceway Book, Level 1 Sing, Spell, Read and Write
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good reading program

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lauri
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the SSRW program with 3 of my children. My first was having difficulty at school in 1st grade so we spent the summer with this. By the end of the summer he was able to put words together, follow with his finger and actually read the books. I didn't go farther as that was what he needed to move on to 2nd grade. I am currently using it with my youngest who just turned 7. (homeschooled, the first is/was not) He was having a terrible time with reading. He knew the sounds, but just couldn't seem to put them together. After a few weeks, (we moved very slowly) he is starting to read and sound out words. The Ferris wheel helped a lot. What I like the best is that instead of learning B is bh, then adding "at" to make bat, this teaches ba as baa and then adds the end sound. This worked much better with both of my struggling readers. I also used it briefly with one of our other kids who is an excellent reader, but it wasn't nearly as effective with him, as it was too repetitious and therefore moved too slowly for him. That said, do not feel obliged to do every little thing the program says. If they don't write well, don't force them to write lists of words, just let them read them and spell them, writing can wait a bit. Move at whatever pace works for your child. We only did about 10 words a day when we started as to not overwhelm him. I think I can safely say that this was the saving of the first son from being held back and now a few years later (we found he is high functioning on the autistic scale) he is reading reasonably well. Oh, and you don't have to say everything that the instructors manual says either. My sons looked at me like I was crazy if I used what it said!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.